We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible!!”

White Shark Projects
Book In Advance
More Info
US$141.48*
and up
Half-Day White Shark Cage Diving from Gansbaai
Ranked #3 of 22 Tours in Gansbaai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: White Shark Projects welcomes local and international tourists, divers and non-divers … anyone who wishes to encounter, dive with, or view white sharks in a safe and professional environment. White Shark Projects was established in 1989 and is a world-leading organisation that focuses on the conservation of great white sharks through responsible tourism and research. Expect excellent customer service, good value and operational efficiency.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Incredible!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We were booked in for our shark cage dive on Monday which was the first day of our trip in South Africa, (we wanted to get it done first so we could stop fretting about it and relax on the rest of the trip!). It's something my partner and I have both always dreamed of doing but had never thought that we would be able to do. My biggest fear has always been of sharks (thanks to jaws) and I cannot tell you how apprehensive we were about the trip! Due to bad weather the trip was cancelled on the Monday and moved to the Tuesday which was no problem for us.

We self drove from Somerset west which took about 1hr 50 mins and the place was easy to find. We had some breakfast before we left with the crew and other passengers and off we went! It was needless to say what felt like a long boat ride to me where I sat there wondering why I had ever thought that this was a good idea, (really it was about 15 mins).

We arrived at Dyer island which is the home of thousands of seals. The guides started chumming and we waited for the sharks to arrive. After 10 minutes we hadn't seen any sharks but a few inquisitive seals came towards the boat to have a look. The guide said "ah there are no sharks around yet, look how chilled out those seals are", just in time for a shark to hit. We saw it attack the seals, catch, kill and eat one poor unlucky one. It was amazing and as bad as I felt for the seal I knew we were seeing something amazing. And we caught it on film.

Very soon after the first shark came to the boat. Weirdly as soon as I saw it my fear evaporated and was replaced by adrenaline and I couldn't get into the cage quick enough. It was amazing. We saw 8 different sharks in total and there was constantly at least one or two around the cage over the space of 2.5 hours (maybe a little longer).

Everyone got to go in the cage for about half an hour each and we were even given a second opportunity to do it again if we wanted to. To be honest though they came so close to the boat and the surface it was an experience seeing them from there too so really the whole thing was amazing. In the cage, the sharks came so close you could have reached out and touched them, and some were huge! One smaller shark stuck its head in the cage for a brief second right where my partner and I were which was an amazing moment. Having the opportunity to come that close to an amazing predator like that was really a once in a life time opportunity and one I will treasure forever.

Crew were great and we bought the DVD which was well worth it, (it caught the part where one stuck its head into the cage). Great experience, cannot recommend it enough.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juanitawsp, Guest Relations Manager at White Shark Projects, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Jennifer
We thank you for a lovely review. We are thrilled that you had such an amazing experience and that your fear and anxiety disappeared when you first laid eyes on these magnificent animals. What an amazing sighting it must have been, when you saw the shark hunt in its natural environment – you were very lucky to have been at the right place and time to have experienced that moment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    572
    190
    40
    12
    21
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Valdosta, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lots of Sharks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Went here in early July, 2014. The crew of the boat were very professional and only about a 20 minute ride out to the sharks. They supplied everything you need and the great whites were there as soon as we were. Always felt safe. Tons of fun. Six people to the cage (not too crowded) and we were in it for about 30 minutes.Breakfast and lunch supplied by the company back in Gansbaai. If you don't want to go into the cage you get excellent views of the shark from sitting on the top deck of the boat.You must do this if you are in this part of S. Africa.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juanitawsp, Guest Relations Manager at White Shark Projects, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Robert, thank you for taking the time to write this review. Our aim is to educate clients about the sharks in a safe controlled environment. We are so happy that you had a fun filled day. Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“A great day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

The trip was excellent value, things were well organised and informative. It was such fun too, as long as the weather goes your way. And Gansbaai is such a beautiful part of the world. The staff were friendly and helpful and a good laugh too. All up an incredible experience

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juanitawsp, Guest Relations Manager at White Shark Projects, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hi Scott – I agree 100%. The Overberg area is indeed an absolute beautiful part of our country. We are very lucky to work here. We are thrilled that you had an incredible experience and you received a lot of information about these extraordinary creatures. I will pass on your comments to the staff. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sharks!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

This is very good activities! But the captain was so faster and I had the many problem with this (it was first time in my life, although I was at dive safari many times and never had such problems).

Visited July 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank tanya1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juanitawsp, Guest Relations Manager at White Shark Projects, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Tanya. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are happy to read that you did enjoy your tour meeting the Great White Shark. We value your support and comments as we strive to make this an unforgettable experience for all. Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“you cannot miss this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

the time with the sharks in their natural habitat is awesome.we got so close that we could almost touch them!!!!!
with the sharks there was a school of fish inside the cage who can be seen touching your feet.the sharks are huge and they are bigger than the cage!!!!!
if someone misses their opportunity to do this then they are missing something that cannot be done again in a lifetime.
these sharks are endangered and so we must save them as well as see them

thank you great white sharks project.it was an awesome encounter with the sharks

Visited May 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Vaibhav A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juanitawsp, General Manager at White Shark Projects, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
A once in a lifetime experience indeed. We are so happy to read that you had a great time encountering these magnificent predators. It is one of our main objective is to make everyone aware that they must be protected. They play such a big part in our Eco-System. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Take care - Juanita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White Shark Projects also viewed

Gansbaai, Overberg District
 
Gansbaai, Overberg District
Kleinbaai, Gansbaai
 

Been to White Shark Projects? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing