We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st class hospitality in a gorgeous home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
De Kelders Private Villa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2011

This house is like something out of an interiors magazine - absolutely stunning and I just wanted to move in! The welcome you get from David the host was so friendly. Lots of nice touches, from a little bunch of flowers on arrival to home made rusks with coffee.

The best part of De Kelders was the whales. Less than a 2 minute walk from the B&B you are at the shore and we'd spotted our first whale within a minute. The best bit though is you get the whales to yourself (well almost!), so you can enjoy them without the crowds in Hermanus.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
38  Thank JG-Edin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2012

thank you so much for your review. we wish you wonderful days until you return to the warmth of the de kelders bay

best wishes

neil+david

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2011

Do not waste one second by not joining the warm hospitality and friendship of Neil, David and their team. Every detail is planned, designed and at its right place. It is nothing just to stay, to sleep or to eat. It is something what is precious like the whole surrounding. It is not a gallery or a museum it is real to stay in.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
44  Thank CWC2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2012

thank you so much for your very special words - we send you loads of sunny wishes from de kelders

david+neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

After the disappointment of our previous villa, Neil and David (and of course James!) "opened" their house to us at very short notice. We had a wonderful stay - everything was purfect. We all highly recommend this wonderful "home from home" (except that the decore, service etc is much more swish than in our home)

p.s. We also second EmHarris's review

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
44  Thank Cyberhose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2012

thank you so much Mark, looking forward to seeing you back in de kelders for your third visit

warm wishes

david+neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

My husband and I stayed in De Kelders for 3-nights while celebrating our 1-year anniversary in the Western Cape. The house itself is like living in a design magazine - if you love modern design that highlights natural beauty, you’ll find the rooms and common spaces a joy. The location is fantastic - every morning and evening we walked to Walker’s Bay to check in on “our” whales and to explore the beaches and cliffs. When the weather’s right, there are stunning sunsets - heading down to the cliffs with a bottle of wine is a lovely way to start the evening. After one night eating at De Kelders, we decided to do dinners there for the rest of our stay (and we like to eat - a lot - it takes something pretty special to get us to eat in the same place more than once, much less three times in a row). My only suggestion to future guests is to consider staying longer. We wish we’d had a full day for De Hoop Nature Preserve (and you could probably enjoy a week there), two days for wine tasting in Hemel-en-Aarde and Napier (don’t miss Creation for lunch and the most relaxed, indulgent tasting) and another day for Cape Aguilas. Days at De Kelders are so wonderfully luxurious - day trips need to be bite-sized so that you can fit them in between the multi-course breakfast, post-breakfast whale walk and evening return for sunset. While we wish we had longer, we’re also happy to have so many wonderful reasons to return. A final word on Neil and David, De Kelder’s hosts - it’s hard to get the balance of a B&B right; you want to be homey yet allow for guests to have their space, and to encourage guests’ mingling while also allowing for private time. Neil and David are pitch perfect - they offer fantastic advice and are always there when you need help, but also know when to give guests’ their space and one-on-one time. We loved evenings relaxing before dinner with them - David is like a human Pandora and is fabulous to chat with about music; he’s also a fantastic DJ, so its’ like your vacation got the play list you always knew it deserved. Neil is an accomplished designer with a decor book/magazine collection to match - you can curl up in any of the many conversation areas he’s created in the common area and lose hours in decor bliss. If you like to cook, ask to see the cook books - there’s an amazing collection, and perusing recipes is a great way to spend an evening. Playing with the cats is another great past time - they’re gorgeous and engaging like everything else at De Kelders, but add a bit of a mischievous spirit. A final, final thank you to the De Kelders staff - the rooms and common areas were always spotless, tea and coffee was always on offer, and I was greeted with fresh flowers upon arrival - such absolutely amazing, gracious service.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
48  Thank EmHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2012

thank you so much for your wonderful review and all your kind words.

we wish you wonderful spring full of cherry blossoms

warm wishes

neil&david

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

This was one of our most impressing stops on our tour through South Africa.
If you stop here you arrive at a friends home. Niel and David ( we unfortunately not meet ) have build a great and warme home to rest in. With only 3 gest rooms the whole atmosphere is very private and you have the great chance to come in touch with the very interesting other guest.
The rooms are big and equipped as at home. In this bed we sleeped nearly better than at home. The bath room was top modern and perfectly designed as the rest of the house.
Niel welcomes you as if you where a friend. He cooks for you every evening a "simple meal" (his simple meals dosn't work under 5 pots ;-) )
When you chil in the living room after dinner you will fell as if you where on your couch at home. Even their cats see you as friends and will join you.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
41  Thank LarsYvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

thank you so much for your special review - it means so much to us

we do hope to see you back in de kelders, soon

warm wishes

neil+staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

you'll find a lot of space to get your privacy like you have it at home, you'll find a house where you feel comfortable like as home. The food is delicious, the service perfect, the design of the living room and the house unique and the hosts friendly and in every case caring of you. ifyou're looking for a guesthouse with personal and unique touch, here is the place to be.
thanks for the unforgetable time during my visit.
Roman

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
37  Thank Roman K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We experienced a very warm welcome from Sivu and David and went on to enjoy a fabulous evening in this uniquely designed comfortable home. Neil and David are generous hosts and we loved being on the receiving end.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank leila16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
12.0 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.3 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#10 of 29 in Gansbaai
292 reviews
0.3 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#5 of 29 in Gansbaai
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Saxon Lodge
Saxon Lodge
#4 of 29 in Gansbaai
420 reviews
1.1 mi away
On The Rocks B&B
On The Rocks B&B
#14 of 29 in Gansbaai
56 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Kelders Private Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Kelders Private Villa

Address: 35 Main Road | DE Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Gansbaai
Price Range: £135 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — De Kelders Private Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2014/2015/2016 TRIPADVISOR NO 1 in the Gansbaai and Overberg for speciality accommodation. The house is neither a B&B or a guest house. It is a villa and a haven for the discerning traveller, who understands quality, stillness and privacy. Acclaimed by ELLE Decoration, House&Leisure, Conde Nast House&Garden and Gourmet, the villa offers the luxury of privacy. Three large bedrooms only, a 150m lounge with library of magazines, books, music and films. Large fireplace for the winter nights. Large garden with secluded, private, heated salt water pool. The 80m open terrace with beautiful views of the village and Walker Bay is secluded and offers the perfect hideaway for reading. The ocean is 200 steps away. Our breakfasts are special and our pre-booked home cooked regional dinners are legendary. The owner is an author of cook books. The house in not branded, hence the name private house and can be rented for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your De Kelders Private Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Kelders Private Villa South Africa/Gansbaai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing