We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay at the Walker Bay...”
Review of The Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bay Lodge
Ranked #17 of 30 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 January 2013

A 5 nights stay at this very charming guest house will long last in our memories! Villieria - our charming host - made us really feeling every day "at home"! We got so many interesting news about the area, and what to enjoy there. Nothing was missing at the breakfast table - more than ever was expected. Breathtaking view from our cozy room and from the large balcony to the walker bay and the deep blue ocean. We may warmly recommend this lovely home stay!

Room Tip: Ask for the front room facing the sea, with the large balcony
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hati2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for The Bay Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2013

The Bay lodge has a nice homy feeling. Tannie Villieria knows exactly when to talk to you and when to let you do your own thing. We had a wonderfull time at the Bay lodge, just a stone throw away from the ocean. Lovely walking trails and off course fantastic shark cage diving.
Thank you Villieria, to make my Husban'd birthday so special. Cornel & Els

Room Tip: If you are in room one (the room with the best view) you will need to close all windows and doors wh...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lionsguesthouse-Els
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012 via mobile

What a breath taking view. After a great drive from CT via the ocean drive we arrived in this small village and were welcomed with a great smile. The B&B is located on top of this beautiful hill with an awesome view of the ocean. A short walk away and you reach this very nice beach. Cold water but refreshing.
Rooms are nice and clean. Breakfast is generous and the owner is a very friendly person.
They don't serve aperitif so get your own wine to enjoy on the terrace.
Ciao

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alessio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

We loved our stay here. This is a great place to base yourself to explore the Whale Coast. Unfortunately we were visiting at the wrong time to actually see these magnificent creatures and had to make do with the cute resident cat. We stayed here for four nights in two sea facing rooms with balconies on the upper floor. The rooms were beautifully furnished, comfortable and clean. On this floor is a huge lounge area with a fridge, microwave and TV. Complimentary tea and coffee is also available. Breakasts were very good with cereals, yogurt, cheeses, eggs, bacon, sausages, toasts but special mention needs to be made of the fruit salad as the hostess Villieria had gone to so much trouble to source fruits just coming into season. Villieria is the most charming, friendly and helpful hostess willing to go the extra mile. We had dinner booked for us at the outstanding Kloeks @ home which we went to twice and she was full of useful advice on where to eat, where to swim, routes to wine estates and was always available for us without being intrusive. The perfect hostess. Good value for your money and a wonderful place to stay

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernadine70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

I stayed in the Bay Lodge with family and we had 2 sea view rooms. The rooms are in great shape, nice interior and a very friendly hostess. She really goes out of her way to make you comfortable.
It is a great spot for whale spotting and it is a short drive to Gansbaai itself.
I recommend the place to anyone who wants a comfortable stay in De Kelders, Gansbaai.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeromevanhelden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We spent a short one night stay in the Bay Lodge as part of our honeymoon after having a shark cage dive near by. The Lodge is located in DeKelders, a residential area a couple of minutes down the road from Gansbaai by car. The house has a lovely few over the bay/ocean when whales are easily spotted at the right time of year.

Our host Valleria was very inviting and recommended us a local restaurant that evening. We had a very pleasant stay here, and we were the only guests there and had our choice of room, we stayed on the first floor with a great view.

There isn’t really allot going on in Gansbaai (this was winter though), and not a great choice of places to eat etc. Although we enjoyed the shark diving experience I’d say it’s vastly over priced for what you get (the only thing we found in SA).

If you’re looking for a place to stay in the area I’d highly recommend the Bay Lodge.

Andrew & Alison

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the house of the best views
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benjii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Bay Lodge in Dec 2012, initially for 1 night but quickly extended our stay in this stunning B & B. What a beautiful place. The owner, Villiera, was the perfect hostess and truly made us feel at home. We have recommended The Bay Lodge to all our friends and will continue to do so. Everything was perfect!!!!!

I would like to add that my husband and i rely on trip advisor and certain comments we have read on The Bay Lodge are clearly from someone who made the booking and then realised HE didnt actually book a 5 star hotel with a porter!!! Oops!

Tip: Dont forget this is someone's livelihood.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UkSunshine20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gansbaai hotels
0.4 mi away
On The Rocks B&B
On The Rocks B&B
#15 of 30 in Gansbaai
56 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
#7 of 30 in Gansbaai
408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#11 of 30 in Gansbaai
288 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 30 in Gansbaai
623 reviews
1.5 mi away
Saxon Lodge
Saxon Lodge
#5 of 30 in Gansbaai
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Lodge

Address: 15 Birkenhead Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range: £55 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Lodge South Africa/Gansbaai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing