We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

White Shark Safaris
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Whether you are an adrenaline junkie, ticking off another experience on your bucket-list or planning a special family outing, we aim to give you the most exciting day of your life when you choose to come Shark Cage Diving and/or Viewing with White Shark Safaris. It is our privilege at White Shark Safaris - to offer you an opportunity to dive and view these magnificent animals in a safe and professional environment and have lots of FUN at the same time.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Great trip, exactly as advertised
We had 18 people on our boat, it's a Max of 20 but it's not overcrowded.
6:45 am pickup from Capetown at our hotel, 2hr drive to the boat.
There was breakfast served, a safety briefing then a 15 min boat ride to the shark area
Nobody on our boat was seasick, also the chum smell is not overpowering at all, it didn't seem to bother anyone
We saw 6 sharks, the first arrived about 15-20 mins after we dropped anchor.
2 lengthy turns in the cage, approx 20 mins each time which is enough, the water is quite cold.
Snacks, drinks, towels and a toilet were provided onboard as well as a hot lunch with salad and muffins upon return to shore.
A great overall experience, I would recommend this company to everyone

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jlow79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    16
    7
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“not as good as you think...”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Okay... it all started when we were doing some research trying to find a good and reliable company to dive with. We found this company that had breathing tubes and one of the sturdiest/safest cages we have seen... Me, my girlfriend and my sister booked it. They picked us up at around 8 in the morning in an okay looking van and took us too Gaansbai... When we got there, to our surprise, it was a completely different looking boat ! The cage wasn't even there.Turn out the boat was the Barracuda ( a very small and stinky boat ) and the Cage was this old rusty cage that was already in the 'shark alley' waiting for us. The diving glasses were old, the suit was all wet and dirty and the place smelled really bad. For 160 dollars, we got to something that was completely different from advertised. Not recommended!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank StefanSalej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Up close and personal with great whites”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

From initial contact with this company ahead of our trip, I found the staff to be friendly, helpful and very accommodating.

We stayed in cape town and had an early pick up for our trip to Gansbaai. On arrival we were given a great breakfast then it was straight out to sea. White Shark Adventures head out very early ahead of other tours in the area for prime viewing. it took some time before the sharks arrived but when they did, wow!

When it was our turn to go down into the cage there was only 4 of us so it wasnt over crowded. We had a great close up view of approx 7 sharks, the biggest measuring almost 3m!!

After the dive we were fed again before being drove back to our hotel in cape town.

I would recommend this company to anyone as they were very hospitable and friendly and really made this a great experience from start to finish!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Debs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Park, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Experience of a lifetime!”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We did shark cage diving with White Shark Adventures in early September and were so fortunate that the weather cleared up the week of our dive! We were a little worried because weather and sharks they cannot control. We stayed at The White Shark Guest House in Gansbaai, which is also highly recommended, not only because its a fantastic place to stay but also we could sleep in and literally walk to the shark cage diving instead of waking of at 4am for transportation at some hotel in Cape Town. They provided a wonderful breakfast and the boat trip was so informative, there was a Marine Biologist on board with us. I took a motion sickness pill the night before and one in the morning, my daughter took nothing and she was fine. The actual Shark Cage Diving was so exciting! The sharks are so fast its hard to capture fully them on camera, you might get a fin, a tail shot or a gray blur, but for a decent price we got an above and underwater video from a professional photographer on board and my daughter was able to make still pictures from that to show our family and friends. Highly recommend White Shark Adventures! An experience of a lifetime and the best birthday ever!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not perfect”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We had a very early pick up time of 4am and quite a long drive outside of Cape Town, but it meant we didn't lose a whole day. The staff kindly agreed to attach a trailer to the minibus and take our suitcases as we were changing hostels that day, and they made sure we were home in plenty of time for something we had booked for later in the afternoon. A very nice breakfast was provided upon arrival. We had planned to buy an underwater camera for the experience, but were very shocked by the cost just to rent the camera and keep the SD card! It would probably be cheaper to buy one in advance, or a case for your existing camera. The boat was quite crowded and meant that getting changed into the wetsuits was difficult in such a cramped space. Not for the very modest! It was quite challenging to find a matching pair of wetsuit socks/shoes, all were soaking wet and didn't feel very pleasant. The day took a turn for the worse after about 20 minutes when the boat stopped and the seasickness kicked in. The rest of the trip was spent comforting my friends who were chucking up over the side of the boat. Even I began to feel a little queasy despite having very good sea-legs- mainly because of the fishblood and fish head that was being wafted around under our noses. I understand this is a necessary part of shark cage diving, but perhaps something to consider if you're a little faint-hearted. Definitely think twice about this if you suffer from seasickness- anti-sickness pills did not help my boyfriend at all! By the time we got into the water, all fear had been replaced by a desperation to get off the boat. The sharks came very close and it was a thrilling experience! We didn't get any breathing apparatus, but instead held our breath and bobbed down when the people on the boat shouted that a shark was approaching- this worked fine. However, I'm not convinced we had the full time in the water that the previous groups had- as we were the last group, I suspect there was a rush to get back in time and that our time was cut short. However, we still had plenty of time to appreciate the sharks.Overall it was a decent trip- the staff were friendly and helpful, but I'm not sure it was worth all the seasickness experienced.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim_11601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitesharks, Public Relations Manager at White Shark Safaris, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Hello Jim
I thank you for your review. I am so glad too hear that you had a "thrilling experience" with "friendly and helpful staff" whilst joining us on your shark experience. I thank you as well for the constructive feedback. This will surely assist us in constantly improving on our service levels and high standards that we have set out for ourselves to achieve and maintain.
Regarding the seasickness: Thorough weather checks are done prior to any trip. Our clients safety and comfort is always our top priority. However, seasickness is totally out of our control. Seasickness is totally all in the mind however, we do encourage all our clients to take medication beforehand if they are prone to motion sickness. Another measure against the seasickness is that we provide lollipops on the boat - yes, this truly helps against motion sickness. Thirdly, during our briefing we specifically encourage clients that feel way more seasick than normal to make use of the services of a rubberduck (our "hospitalboat") that will come and fetch them from our shark vessel. At the end of the day, it is the clients choice to stay on the shark vessel because the boat won't be able to return to shore while other clients have also been paying for the full experience.
Warm Regards
White Shark Adventures
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White Shark Safaris also viewed

Kleinbaai, Gansbaai
Gansbaai, Overberg District
 
Gansbaai, Overberg District
 

Been to White Shark Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing