We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Great White Shark Tours
Ranked #1 of 21 Tours in Gansbaai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The owner and founder Brian McFarlane is a professional diver and skipper who has always made a living from the sea. He started diving for perlemoen (abalone) at a young age, then moved on to become a commercial fisherman for 6 years and spent another 6 years diving in search of wrecks along the southern coast of Africa. This was followed by the diving for diamonds from the sea-bed for the next 20 years.He has become a local legend with his fascinating tales about the sea and underwater experiences. During the time when Great White Shark fishing was allowed, Brian caught Great Whites, some weighing more than 1 tonne.Today, he dearly regrets this and now spends his time and efforts in finding the great beasts to be observed and photographed at close range. Brian has worked with the Great Whites for 18 years and has only had 6 non-sighting days in the last 10 years.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Great experience, great day, great crew, great company!! We loved this tour and were very impressed with the professionalism and knowledge of all of the staff. We are so happy to be able to add this adventure to our trip!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Becca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharky41, Manager at Great White Shark Tours, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for the great review and for choosing GWST for your sharkcage diving adventure! We are so pleased that we could live up to your expectations and hope to see you again very soon.

Best regards
Team GWST
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    942
    148
    29
    13
    14
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Absolutely incredible”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

One of the best experiences of my life. The entire team was so welcoming, knowledgeable and professional. Shark cage diving is essentially a fear-conquering activity for anyone, and we were made to feel assured and safe from the word go. We had clear water and countless sharks... a very eventful day and I highly recommend it! My only advice is try to go in the cage early before you start feeling a bit sick! (I've never been sea-sick before but by the end I was struggling!)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jbuz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharky41, Manager at Great White Shark Tours, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Oh no Jbuz, sorry to hear that the seasickness got you, however we are glad that you enjoyed the rest of the experience with us and that you felt safe and reassured while in our care. Winter time is the best time for shark viewing as the water is warmer and so much clearer and were glad you were able to experience that.

We hope you'll be back again on your next visit to SA, just remember those motion sickness tablets ;)

Kind Regards
Team GWST
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent !!!!!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Awesome experience start to finish - husband got in the cage my son and I were on the boat - you could feel the owner/Captains passion for the sharks as well as making sure we were all as comfortable as possible - within minutes of anchoring there was a sighting of a GW - takes your breath away seeing them in the water, the kings they are - one in particular got a lot of gasps he must have been about 4.5 - long. the day was made even more perfect by the crew who knew there stuff and made u feel safe and cared for - I would choose this company over others as the boat for me was one of the larger ones with 4 outboard engines making it a smooth ride and more stable once anchored ! Brilliant experience walked away feeling even more passion for these creatures that are misunderstood and need to be protected !!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kaz0090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharky41, Manager at Great White Shark Tours, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
What lovely words, thank you Kaz! How fabulous that you and your husband brought your son along on the trip, it is great when kids learn from an early age to appreciate and respect Great White Sharks and the Ocean they live in. We are so glad that you all enjoyed your trip with us and hope you'll be back for another visit soon!

Best regards
Team GWST
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Incredible Adventure You Won't Want to Miss!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My entire family is so happy we did this!

It is exciting, but we weren't worried about safety at all. The sharks swim extremely close to you and you can truly understand how massive these animals are! I would definitely recommend this company everyone that works here took great care of us!

You start the day with a great breakfast and then all go on the boat together after a short briefing. We volunteered to be in the first group in the cage and are glad we did. The entire day was so memorable, you won't want to miss this if you are in or near Gansbaai!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Elise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharky41, Manager at Great White Shark Tours, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed your trip with us Elise! We pride ourselves on our safety record and we are always happy when our guests feel safe and happy in our care.

Thank you for the great review, we hope to see you again on your next visit.

Best Regards
Team GWST
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great White Dive”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Thanks Great White Shark Tours team you guys gave your best Got more than expected An experience that will last Grant and Sebastian

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Grant B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharky41, Manager at Great White Shark Tours, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for the great feedback Grant & Sebastian! Thank you for diving with us and we hope you will visit again when back in South Africa!

Best Wishes
Team GWST
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Great White Shark Tours also viewed

 
Gansbaai, Overberg District
 

Been to Great White Shark Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing