We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing experience from a professional crew”

Great White Shark Tours
Ranked #1 of 22 Tours in Gansbaai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The owner and founder Brian McFarlane is a professional diver and skipper who has always made a living from the sea. He started diving for perlemoen (abalone) at a young age, then moved on to become a commercial fisherman for 6 years and spent another 6 years diving in search of wrecks along the southern coast of Africa. This was followed by the diving for diamonds from the sea-bed for the next 20 years.He has become a local legend with his fascinating tales about the sea and underwater experiences. During the time when Great White Shark fishing was allowed, Brian caught Great Whites, some weighing more than 1 tonne.Today, he dearly regrets this and now spends his time and efforts in finding the great beasts to be observed and photographed at close range. Brian has worked with the Great Whites for 18 years and has only had 6 non-sighting days in the last 10 years.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing experience from a professional crew”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Brian and his crew were amazing!! Read all the reviews on trip advisor and Brian and his crew still exceeded all of my expectations. Took great care to help my seasick girlfriend and we always felt safe with them guiding us. Had a nice breakfast before we set out, the cage was exactly as advertised, you just need to be able to hold your breath and open your eyes and you will see these amazing animals. They had warm soup/coffee and tea when we returned. Would recommend Brian and his team to anyone!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharky41, Manager at Great White Shark Tours, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
David, it is so great to hear that you enjoyed the experience with us and that we were able to meet you expectations! It is such a pity that your girlfriend struggled with seasickness, you will have to take her on boat trips more often ;) We hope you'll return for another visit very soon.

All the best
Team GWST
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    892
    132
    28
    12
    12
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent wild life experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Watching great whites within their own habitat is a really special experience. They do demonstrate themselves as top predators when attacking the bait and the decoy. One even took its snout and a fin into the dive cage. Also a look into its open jaws is very impressing. Try it out and enjoy.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank OddAndorsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharky41, Manager at Great White Shark Tours, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Providing our guests an opportunity to watch first hand these majestic animals, swimming and chasing after bait is such a pleasure especially when you see the excited faces and hear the excited screams of joy . We hope it instills in each guest the need for shark conservation and protection.

Thank you for visiting and for the great review, we hope you'll return soon.

All the best
Team GWST
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

My wife and I went mid july. Very cold but worth every moment. We saw about 7 different Great Whites coming up to the cage all the time. I stayed in the water for 40 minutes! Got some great under water pics with my camera even though the visibility was poor. We were lucky enough to have a shark on 2 occasions come right up to the cage in our faces. if I left my hands where they were they would have been chomped on.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JadeysTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharky41, Manager at Great White Shark Tours, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thanks for the great review Jadey! Wow, 40mins in our water is no mean feat however it is a bit warmer during winter. We are glad that you and your wife enjoyed your experience with us and hope you'll be back for a return visit soon.

All the best
Team GWST
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent crew and a great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Great White Shark Tours is a very well run group and the entire crew is very friendly. As soon as we got to the harbor, we were provided with coffee and a light breakfast while we viewed the introduction video. We then picked up our heavy rain coats and shortly after got on the boat. Once we anchored, a shark immediately swam up to the boat and the first group got into the cage. The crew assisted us in putting on the booties, wetsuits, and masks and we were in the water in no time. I saw a bunch of sharks and even got to get into the cage again. There was food and drinks provided on the boat and hot soup waiting for us back at the harbor. They put together a film about your shark diving day that you can purchase for US $25 if you would like. I highly recommend this company and additionally, they have a discounted "backpacker's special' if you are a student traveling on a budget and staying at a backpackers in Hermanus/Cape Town!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Cinta_Indo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharky41, Manager at Great White Shark Tours, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you so much for the great review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your experience with us, we do try to make everyone's experience as special as possible.

We hope to see you again soon.

All the best
Team GWST
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience! From in and out of water”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

The premises wheren't good: bad weather, winter cold, only 2 meters of visibility in the water, not a lot of sharks seen in previus days...but it's been spectacular! In the cage was amazing, the shark comes really near the cage and it's awesome to see them from the boat too. We saw 5 sharks. The crew was expert, friendly and funny. A great experience, thank you!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nicolò Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharky41, Manager at Great White Shark Tours, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Nicolo,

We are so happy that you enjoyed you shark experience with us and that you were able to see sharks from the boat and the cage! We hope you visit again soon.

Best Regards
Team GWST
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Great White Shark Tours also viewed

Gansbaai, Overberg District
 
Gansbaai, Overberg District
 

Been to Great White Shark Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing