We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kloeksathome

Kloeksathome
Ranked #1 of 28 Restaurants in Gansbaai
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: One of the best restaurants in Gansbaai, the owner Kloeks cooks with her heart and it is brilliant
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
98 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 449 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

This tiny restaurant in a residential area of De Kelders is easy to miss but worth looking for. The dining room is tiny but charming with half a dozen tables. The service was warm without being intrusive and the food excellent. Our table had potato soup and salads to start with and the soup was excellent. Fillet, prawns, and hake for the main course were each seasoned subtlety and generous in size. The desert choices were surprisingly wide for such a small restaurant with by far the biggest hit being the sundae of vanilla ice cream with hot fudge. Hard to explain how such a simple desert could be so noteworthy... But it was.

This restaurant is well worth the effort to find!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank wmccfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    55
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love De Kelders”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

Have dined their twice with good friends while vacationing in S. Africa. Unique menu, and personal attention from the owners of this restaurant make it one of my favorites. 5 stars all the way!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CubaExecTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The friendliest of places”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

We have dined at Kloeks @ Home several times and it never disappoints, Kloek is the sweetest of ladies and her food is always fresh, hot and seasoned with perfection. We love the fact that we can bring our own wine and there's no corkage charge. Very limited seating, because it is in her home, so reservations are a must specially during the peak Whale watching months. My favorite is the Chicken Curry and the West Coast Mussels are delicious as a starter or as a main. That said I've never had anything on the menu I haven't liked.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

Have to agree with previous reviewers. What a superb meal - everything beautifully prepared and presented and tasting delicious

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 3waltons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Nice friendly little restaurant, only about 8 tables so best to book. The menu is limited but the food is great as is the service. Not licensed so take your own wine - no corkage. Enjoyed it so much we went back the next night!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kloeksathome also viewed

Gansbaai, Overberg District
 
Gansbaai, Overberg District
Gansbaai, Overberg District
 

Been to Kloeksathome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing