We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great steaks and prawns at Kloeks@home”
Review of Kloeksathome

Kloeksathome
Ranked #1 of 27 Restaurants in Gansbaai
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: One of the best restaurants in Gansbaai, the owner Kloeks cooks with her heart and it is brilliant
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great steaks and prawns at Kloeks@home”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The restaurant was recommended by locals and led to an evening of culinary delights. The prawns were well prepared, large in size and a generous number for a starter. The filet steak was grilled to perfection (medium, perfectly pink with no blood) and accompanied with an exotic (star anise enhanced) sauce. An added bonus was BYO, with no corkage charged, which made the evening affordable even to SA residents earning Rands. Will definitely return to Gansbaai with an overnight (or two) at 'Whalesong' and a meal at 'Kloeks@home'.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steltrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    58
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Devon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a treat”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We were recommended to go by our hosts at Cliff Lodge. Small private restaurant in home of chef - around 8 tables.

Really pleasant and enthusiastic waiter who described the menu - good choice of meat, fish and veggie dishes. We had the King Klip which was really nicely cooked followed by creamy ice cream with a wicked quantity of excellent home made hot chocolate sauce!

Great ambience and excellent food. Thank you.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Teaeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Cape
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Afrikaanse fillet and Fresh Hake”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The restaurant is a bit hidden you have to know here it is. We had fresh fish and a excellent fillet, but a bit too much (400gram?) for me. As starter we took mussels which were great, You have to bting your own drinks, no corkage.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LevensGenieter46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“So delicious”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

One oft the best Restaurants we have eaten in South Afrika . We have eaten Twice. We can recomend the prawn in the best Souce i ever eaten also the mussles and the the Steak we can recomand

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank schilli72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humlebaek, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A must do”
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

The selection on the menu of the day is limited enabling Kloek to do her very best. When you have been there, you know why you have to come back. Good food, good service, nice ambience and very affordable.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank AChristoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kloeksathome also viewed

Gansbaai, Overberg District
 
De Kelders, Western Cape
Gansbaai, Overberg District
 
Gansbaai, Overberg District
 

Been to Kloeksathome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing