We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eco-Safari” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dyer Island Cruises

Dyer Island Cruises
Book In Advance
More Info
US$90.48*
and up
Marine Big 5 Safari from Gansbaai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "Discover & Protect"Dyer Island Cruises is a world-recognized 5-star boat based whale watching company operating in Kleinbaai, WC, South Africa. Our exclusive tours of a maximum 24 passengers offers everyone the same experience of personalized service, exceptional views, and only the best.Our team of guides/skippers/marine biologists is unique to whale watching in South Africa. Our vessel, Whale Whisperer, is custom built for boat based whale watching and superior in safety and comfort. We pride ourselves in our passion for conservation as well as customer service. And we also live by our boat's motto: "Life - an adventure to be lived, not a problem to be solved!"
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Eco-Safari”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Went with Dyer Island in 2013 with a friend that did not want to do the Shark Cage Diving. This was a very interesting trip as well with a comfortable trip and knowledgeable and friendly staff. Got some snacks and coffee on arrival. Did a safety and information session before heading out on the boat. Was really great to get so "close" in to some of these animals and the dolphins were amazing!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RoH22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    69
    16
    8
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brienz, Switzerland
1 review
“Wonderful company”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Very good company to do a cruise to Dyer Island, very competent, friendly and a nice boat! We saw the marine big 5 as it's best, great experience and to recommend for everybody.

Helpful?
Thank Aquarius813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stocksund, Stockholms Lan, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bryde whale”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We gathered already at 7 am and after a short introduction we went on board. We had ordered some sandwiches from the kitchen that we enjoyed at the way out. First some dolphins jumped around the boat and then some penguins and thousands of birds. Very exciting!
A small white shark showed up and by the white shark cage diving boat we saw a 5m white shark.
At the Dyer Islands there was around 50 thousand seals with many young ones. Great view!
On the way back we were very lucky and saw a Bryde whale.
Great trip!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lars B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DyerIslandCruises, Public Relations Manager at Dyer Island Cruises, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thanks for the review!!! Seems like a good day out at sea as you got to see 4 of our Marine Big 5! And seeing Bryde's whales is also a plus as we're not currently in our whale season (whale season starts June - mid December) Lucky you! Please do visit us again!

Warm regards,

Sanchia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
105 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

One of the main reasons for me and my friend for visiting South Africa was to get a near guaranteed sighting of whales and Great White sharks and am happy to say thanks to Dyer Island Cruises we managed to see quite a lot of whales (and calves) and 3 Great White Sharks and was collected and returned to Cape Town promptly.

The Dyer Island team are great and you can see that they all really care about the wildlife. We didn't want to get in the water with sharks but wanted to see them and this is the only company we found that offered a Big 5 Marine Safari. We did not see any dolphins and only a few penguins but spent 10 minutes near the boat with the Great White Sharks and saw 3 and then saw around 7-8 cows and around 4 calves really close to the boat which made our trip as well as hundreds of seals.

Also had drinks and soup/sandwiches when we arrived back at the Great White House whilst watching the DVD of the day before heading back to Cape Town (around a 2 hour drive each way)

Also loved the fact that it wasn't a huge boat and it wasn't crammed with people so everyone could get good photos and move around freely.

Would recommend this trip to anybody! A highlight of our holiday to South Africa.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DizzyBlonde23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DyerIslandCruises, Public Relations Manager at Dyer Island Cruises, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you so much for your great review and recommendation!!! So nice to hear that our trip was one of your highlights during your trip to South Africa. Our Marine Big 5 whale watching trips are one of the best ways to view theses amazing animals (whales, sharks, dolphins, penguins & seals) and we are the only operator in SA that provides clients the chance to see the Marine Big 5. Glad you got to see most of them. Hope to see you again in the near future!

Kind regards,

Sanchia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurworth-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Marine big 5 sightings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Amazing experience. We went close to the end of the Whale season but still saw Southern Rights. The crew were great and when we did have a sighting the Captain would stop the boat and the animals would come towards us.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank vervanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DyerIslandCruises, Public Relations Manager at Dyer Island Cruises, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Thanks for the great review!!! We've been extremely lucky with the whales this season & happy that they've decided to stay in the bay a little longer :) Such beautiful, curious creatures. Please do visit us again!

Kind regards,

Sanchia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dyer Island Cruises also viewed

Gansbaai, Overberg District
Gansbaai, Overberg District
 
Gansbaai, Overberg District
 

Been to Dyer Island Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing