We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convienent close”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Shark Guest House
Ranked #4 of 29 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Convienent close”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Quiet location and it felt we were the only one in the guest house. We decided to upgrade the room to a higher floor. The bathroom had some bugs which we removed and there were some annoying crickets in house. The host was very kind and helpful. Location excellent close to the Shark tour operators for which we came. Stay was short and OK for one night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank dubai_meadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    47
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
76
243
17
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Centurion, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We went for a shark cage diving expierence. The ratings given was based on that purpose. Guest house staff could give us details and advice on which company to use. Staff was friendly and accomodated our request to use their facilities after booking out time as we returned from our trip on the ocean after this time. Very quiet town, but very enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nico E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We spent just one night in the White Shark Guesthouse, but we enjoyed it very much. The hostess is just great and very helpfull - she gave us many usefull advises. If its free, ask for the room called flamingo's nest, it has an amazing view!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank w_Angelika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Majorca, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Thank you Rene for such a relax vacation. Lovely place, helpful staff and owner. Very clean, lots of space for everybody. Great location, rich breakfast. Keep going like that and see you soon. Frank v Bergen.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anna187462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Rene is a fantastic host, at a fantastic guesthouse, with fantastic rooms and...very close to the white sharks. Definitely a recommendation to stay and explore the beautiful nature around. A Great White Shark trip is a must have if you are there...


  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stefan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Decided to stay here as the location appeared very convenient for our shark trip. The quayside was only 200m away and we thus avoided a very early pick up and bus trip from Cape Town.
Rene our host could not have been more helpful and we felt "at home" from the start. Room was spotless and well decorated. If wine tasting is to your liking a visit to Hamilton Russell should not be missed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papeete, French Polynesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The White shark guest house is an awesome place. The room was really clean and well decorated. We felt like we we in an 4 stars hotel. The owner René is truly lovely and warm. We will defintely recommend this place to everyone and try to come back as soon as posible?

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefany9020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gansbaai hotels
4.6 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 29 in Gansbaai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
2.2 mi away
Saxon Lodge
Saxon Lodge
#5 of 29 in Gansbaai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
#7 of 29 in Gansbaai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
4.3 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#6 of 29 in Gansbaai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
2.5 mi away
Franskraal B&B
Franskraal B&B
#9 of 29 in Gansbaai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Shark Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Shark Guest House

Property: White Shark Guest House
Address: 2 Geelbek Street | Van Dyk's Bay, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — White Shark Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring views of the Atlantic Ocean, White Shark Guest House is located in Kleinbaai/Gansbaai, 400 metres from the harbour where shark cage diving and whale watching takes place. It offers elegant rooms, a large living room, and free WiFi throughout the property. Each room at White Shark Guest House is decorated in a mix between rustic and contemporary, including exposed brick walls and modern furniture. They all offer a private bathroom, and some come with a private deck and spa bath. Breakfast is served every morning on the deck overlooking the ocean. Dining options are available upon request, and guests have access to a communal kitchen and BBQ facilities. Activities like shark cage diving and whale watching can be arrange on behalf of guests. A nine hole golf course and the African Penguin & Seabird Sanctuary is 1 km away, while Walker Bay Nature Reserve is 15 km away. The property is 155 km from Cape Town International Airport and a shuttle service can be organized upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your White Shark Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Shark Guest House South Africa/Gansbaai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing