We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Goose

Blue Goose
Ranked #3 of 28 Restaurants in Gansbaai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: African, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated in a 100 year old limestone fisherman's cottage, the owner and staff welcomes guests into a warm and cosy environment, serving freshly prepared dishes, using fresh, local and sustainable produce. It's like having dinner with friends, the way it's done in the Strandveld.
Cockermouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Arrived late in the day but were warmly welcomed here. Enjoyed a lovely meal which was very reasonable. Lovely seafood.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fellgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    101
    39
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Finger licking good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

What a great lunch and afternoon was had at the Blue Goose. The restaurant is situated in an old house (1929) has such a lekker atmosphere and we relaxed outside in the garden. The food was yummy with good sized portions and well presented! Two of us enjoyed the finger licking good ribs served with fresh vegetables, the hake fillet was perfectly cooked, and the signature dish (or very popular one) is the Seafood Espatada - need to have a good appetite. (We never got round to trying the dessert, but will do next time).

Support local is their motto and the wine selection includes some excellent, locally produced wines. Our waitress provided good friendly service, which stems from the hosts, Riaan and Kai's passion for personal service and good food. We will be back and overall we had a great, relaxed dining experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank geoffelske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue G, Owner at Blue Goose, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Geoff and Elske, thank you for your beautiful review. It was wonderful having you here and what a beautiful sunny afternoon it has been. Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Devon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Really nice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Very nice meal, friendly hosts in attractively furnished surroundings.

We enjoyed super tempura prawns with sweet chilli sauce, followed by well cooked line fish (cob) with good mash and really tasty carrots in a light spicy sauce, and a superbly tender rack of ribs.

Hosts were attentive but not intrusive - genuinely keen to provide good service and listen to their customers.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Teaeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Cozy atmosphere, great food - best cob fish we ever tasted, simply prepared , mouthwatering juicy. Lentil , butternut spicy vegetarian dish also great. Deserts to die for - try the malva pudding or the apple tart. Yummy! Friendly switched on waiter also added to an overall pleasant experience. Will definitely eat here again !

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SueTravelLots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Foodie Treasure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Thank you for the best meal we had our entire trip. I'm still dreaming about that amazing butternut squash, lentil, tomato cottage pie. Hats off to both the lusciously creamy fish soup and the delectable baby octopus. To die for... or fly 25 hours for... Excellent service! Superb wine pairings. And lovely host cat. Made us felt welcome, well cared for, and at home all at once. We loved it so much, we came back twice.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank C_Razzano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Goose also viewed

Gansbaai, Overberg District
 
Gansbaai, Overberg District
Gansbaai, Overberg District
 

Been to Blue Goose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing