We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful Food, but you have to go”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Buitesteen Pub and Grill - CLOSED

Buitesteen Pub and Grill
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Kingswood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Dreadful Food, but you have to go”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Just to look at the locals... The bar is okay.. food is low standard pub fare... but the locals here reminded me of the Bar scene from Star Wars.

This is in the middle of nowhere really and you will be stared at when u walk in.. really really funny place... they had Karaoke when I walked in... oh my god

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank liamt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart W, Owner at Buitesteen Pub and Grill, responded to this review, 30 November 2014
Hi Liam,

I notice that while your review was in March this year, your visit was in September 2013.

You might not be surprised to hear that the Buitesteen closed down shortly after your visit and it was reopened under new management in November last year.

I guess it make be some time before you travel this way again, but when you do please come to the Buitesteen again. I think you will pleasantly surprised.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    17
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orebro, Sweden
Level Contributor
97 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Stay away”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

It took an hour to get a dry burger, greasy chips and a fairly good club sandwich. An hour! The wine was ok though

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karinn-T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart W, Owner at Buitesteen Pub and Grill, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Sounds like you had an awful experience. The owners at the time you visited are long gone and hopefully, as one of the new owners, we have improved significantly. Recent reviews tend to support this. Do come and try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food And Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

This is one of those hidden little places with excellent food and service. Awesome seafood with good atmosphere. Recommended!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PrismKDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buitesteen Pub and Grill also viewed

Gansbaai, Overberg District
 
Gansbaai, Overberg District
Gansbaai, Overberg District
 
Gansbaai, Overberg District
Gansbaai, Overberg District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing