We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food at great prices”
Review of Buitesteen Pub and Grill - CLOSED

Buitesteen Pub and Grill
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous food at great prices”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Its a typical SA pub with a simple little restaurant, when you walk you you not expect the decadent food. The prices were mind blowing and the quantities of food and quality of food were exceptional. Will be eating there again!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Singingwind F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    17
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Still a reliable place for diners”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I say 'still' because it has changed hands and I had not been there since the new owners took over. Visitors to Gansbaai and De Kelders might be put off at first by its appearance - very plain. But the magic is in the kitchen and the meals that come out from it are great examples of everyday food in a home-owned and operated small town restaurant in South Africa. Seafood is probably what we would say is the Pub's specialty - and they serve it fresh and large. Most of their diners are locals, so you can benefit from the quality and value that the Pub provides to its regular customers.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bwanadave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Typical pub food”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Typical pub food - large meals, heavy on the fried food choices. Friendly wait staff, ambivalent locals.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steveanddi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingswood, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Dreadful Food, but you have to go”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Just to look at the locals... The bar is okay.. food is low standard pub fare... but the locals here reminded me of the Bar scene from Star Wars.

This is in the middle of nowhere really and you will be stared at when u walk in.. really really funny place... they had Karaoke when I walked in... oh my god

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank liamt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart W, Owner at Buitesteen Pub and Grill, responded to this review, 30 November 2014
Hi Liam,

I notice that while your review was in March this year, your visit was in September 2013.

You might not be surprised to hear that the Buitesteen closed down shortly after your visit and it was reopened under new management in November last year.

I guess it make be some time before you travel this way again, but when you do please come to the Buitesteen again. I think you will pleasantly surprised.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orebro, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Stay away”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

It took an hour to get a dry burger, greasy chips and a fairly good club sandwich. An hour! The wine was ok though

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karinn-T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart W, Owner at Buitesteen Pub and Grill, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Sounds like you had an awful experience. The owners at the time you visited are long gone and hopefully, as one of the new owners, we have improved significantly. Recent reviews tend to support this. Do come and try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buitesteen Pub and Grill also viewed

Gansbaai, Overberg District
De Kelders, Western Cape
 
Gansbaai, Overberg District
 
Gansbaai, Overberg District
Gansbaai, Overberg District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing