We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“memorable days spent surrounded by beautiful scenarios and outstanding hospitality by Gill and Gideon.”
Review of Cliff Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cliff Lodge
Ranked #1 of 29 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
barueri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“memorable days spent surrounded by beautiful scenarios and outstanding hospitality by Gill and Gideon.”
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Cliff Lodge has suberb view over the ocean, wonderful trails and beaches, is close to enjoyable attrations like Cape Agulhas and other charming towns and cities and offers high quality hospitality in every sense: warmth from Gideon, Gill and staff; confortable bedroon with wonderful views, great breakfast, efficient services and very good and knowledgeable information support from owners.
A place to go more often!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulobergamasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    590
    11
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
63
457
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lubumbashi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

After reading all the positive reviews and viewing the website, I was really looking forward to a night's stay at Cliff Lodge with husband and friends. The property is very nice and the view is stunning, but the owner was arrogant and rude. His poor hospitality ruined our experience. There are several B & B's on the same road with a similar view, so the next time that I am in the area I would rather choose a guest house where I feel welcome.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bestcongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shapiros, Owner at Cliff Lodge, responded to this review, 3 May 2011
Dear Bestcongo
Your time at Cliff Lodge was very brief (a couple of hours) because we asked you to leave and offered to find you alternative accommodation. This is the first time in 11 years of business that we have had to ask guests to leave, and it was a very unfortunate experience for all concerned. When you arrived we upgraded you free of charge to our sea front rooms. However you did not spend any time in your rooms at all. Cliff Lodge is a peaceful, relaxing guest house, and your group behaved in a racist, rude and rowdy manner. Your group was drunk, and one of the men became very abusive when he was asked to turn down the blaring music and to tone it down. We did not charge you for your considerable bar bill or for the rooms that we could have filled. Our guest house is not a pub, and we did not feel that this was the correct place for your party as you were disturbing our other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Starnberg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2011

Kindest thanks to the Shapiros we will never forget this place and look forward to come back next time we are in the Cape Area.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melan95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2011

A real outstanding Place! The View is magnificent, you can spend all Day looking at the Sea. Lots of Dolphins came by. Gideon, Nico and the team were great hosts, the service and recommendation just right. The atmosphere was relaxed, we had good wine, drinks, a Nespresso coffee machine and snacks in the room.

See to book one of rooms with Sea View. Gideon upgraded us to the Ocean Suite ( thanks again!) - stunning! It's worth every penny.

The place is worth visiting just for itself, even without whales etc. We'll definitely come back and can recommend the Cliff Lodge to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2011

My husband and I stayed at Cliff Lodge as part of our honeymoon in South Africa. As soon as we arrived we were overwhelmed with the view we had from the Ocean Suite that we were lucky enough to stay in during our two nights. Gideon and Jill were the perfect hosts, charming and also very kind. The walk along the beach was fantastic and I wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanneG34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Couldn't fault the service and hosipitality that we got at this quality lodge. The view and location was also excellent. thanks for the memory

Room Tip: North room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malfeasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2011

The most relaxing and special place - we were lucky to have booked the penthouse suite which was just stunning...our terrace had 360deg views of the sea...my husband spent hours with his telepscope watching the whales which was the main reason we had come to Gainsbaii. A perfect spot to climb over the cliffs to deserted stunning beaches and nature reserve. Gideon was the most perfect host recommending wonderful restaurants for our evening meals and gorgeous lunches at Rosemary's Kitchen!! The hospitality, the attention to detail, the service, the calm relaxed atmosphere..there are really no words to describe what a wonderful experience it is to spend a few days here - will recommend it to everyone.....pure magic! Thank you Gideon and Gill for your kindness and fab breakfasts - sorry its taken me so long to write my review!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msr11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
11.0 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
0.4 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#6 of 29 in Gansbaai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
White Shark Guest House
White Shark Guest House
#4 of 29 in Gansbaai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
#7 of 29 in Gansbaai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#10 of 29 in Gansbaai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Lodge

Property: Cliff Lodge
Address: 5 Cliff Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cliff Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the cliffs, right above the sea with breathtaking views across Walker Bay, Cliff Lodge is 35km from Hermanus and 5km from Gansbaai, in the tranquil village of De Kelders. Luxurious, individually decorated bedrooms have sea views and open onto outside patios. Rooms range from standard side sea view rooms to a spacious sea front room, and a luxurious penthouse suite - perfect for honeymooners or an executive getaway. Our comfortable guest lounge has tea and coffee making facilities, a well-stocked honesty bar and a library of books about the area. The all-weather conservatory and sea front deck have spectacular 180-degree ocean and mountain views. This is the perfect spot to sample the local Overberg wines or enjoy our excellent coffee, while watching whales or the spectacular sun sets over Walker Bay. Our swimming pool has the perfect location, right on the cliff top overlooking the sea, and the unspoilt beaches of the Walker Bay Nature Reserve are a short walk from Cliff Lodge. At Cliff Lodge we offer a level of service that is always attentive, but never intrusive. The atmosphere is relaxed and informal, and with only five rooms we are able to cater to each guest's needs. Whale watching season is spectacular from Cliff Lodge, and the world famous Gansbaai shark diving trips are just 10km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Cliff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Lodge South Africa/Gansbaai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing