We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best part of our holiday!”
Review of Cliff Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cliff Lodge
Ranked #1 of 29 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“Best part of our holiday!”
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We stayed at Cliff Lodge for a night in November 2012 and it was the most amazing place! We had a lovely stay and the hosts, Gill, Gideon and Nico were fantastic and extremely accommodating. We stayed in the East Room which had a lovely deck and outside shower and the room was gorgeous, comfortable and clean!

Gill booked us in at a Kloeks for dinner, which was just round the corner, but don't do what we did and forget your torch as the streets are extremely dark at night! The food was phenomenal!

The next morning we had a scrumptious breakfast on the patio overlooking the ocean and the many whales, the most unforgettable breakfast!

We were really made to feel at home at Cliff Lodge, and I can't wait to visit South Africa again and have another stay in De Kelders!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulaDeeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    593
    11
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
63
459
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Wonderful guest house with a magical location. The staff is and owners are very committed to making the best out of your stay. This, along with the location, makes it worth the cost, although the rates are a bit on the high side. This place is ideal for spotting whales (during season) and dolphins and resident expert Nico will happilly tell you about these sea creatures. Owners Gill and Gideon take pleasure in serving excellent breakfasts (as well as top notch coffee) and are excellent advisors, should you need assistance in your travels along the coast. Our only regret is that we didn't stay more than the odd night.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Isak B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

A very special place to stay. Staff fabulous they take great care of you. Views are amazing . Rooms are perfect . You start the day with a fantastic breakfast. Best coffee and cappuccino. Great wine book and music selection . You can sit and watch the ocean for hours it is just so spectacular. Nice paths so you can wonder off and explore . My kids loved it. An overall amazing place! By the way we had a room with an outdoor shower with a spectacular view. Definitely want to go back.

Room Tip: East room with outdoor shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DromRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stayed for 3 night in December, just before the last whales left. The guest house is just stunning, the rooms are fantastic and the views just amazing. It's right at the cliffs and you can have breaky outside watching the whales, eating Jill's delicious granola. The team is so friendly and accommodating, you just feel at home. Thanks for a fantastic stay to Niko, Gideon and Jill and their team!

Room Tip: We had the West room with a great view of the ocean, but I believe all rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mone04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We only stayed 1 Night at the Cliff Lodge but this Guesthouse is really spectacular! The view is breathtaking and the rooms have all comfort you can possibly think of!
The best Thing though is the stunning location right on the cliff with the ocean and the whales right in front of you!
This place makes you relax immediately! There is a great Restaurant close by where the super friendly owners make dinner reservations for you. They also make the best coffee and a fabulous breakfast!
We also had a shower with Ocean view in our room! There is absolutly nothing to complain about this great place! We definitly come back!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We visited Cliff Lodge near the end of our two week stay in South Africa in July 2012. We had planned a boat trip to see whales but the weather was so stormy that all boats were cancelled and whales were difficult to see from the lodge. Yet we both agreed that our stay there ranked among the top three things we did on this trip (along with Victoria Falls and Safari at Notten's Camp).
We arrived at dusk after a long drive and Gideon had already made tentative dinner reservations for us. His welcome made the long trip and stormy weather fade into the background. The Ocean suite was everything the reviews say about it and more. If you have the money go for it. The views of the stormy roiling ocean water were awesome. Gideon and Gill worked with us as if they were our relatives. They sat with us at the delicious breakfast and found out what we were interested in, and presented alternatives to the postponed (and then cancelled) whale watching trip. Gideon made calls to check on winery tours and he helped us become familiar with the area. His inside tips even helped us plan a scenic drive to Capetown later. Breakfast every morning was superb with fresh fruits and all sorts of hot and cold options. You eat with a view of the ocean and Nico will help you spot whales (he even saw a few in the storm) while you enjoy your food. My wife enjoyed the bathroom soaps and lotions so much that she purchased several lotions as gifts for our friends.
Cliff Lodge was the best B&B we have ever stayed in. We cannot imagine anyone not having a superb stay.

Room Tip: The Ocean Suite is stunning but if your budget limits you, every room has special charms and great v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psych0502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Stayed here last march This place is fantastic and is up there with one of the best places I have ever stayed..The hosts Gill and Gideon are great and even upgraded us to their Ocean suite one night which is out of this world. Everything about cliff lodge and De Kelders is perfect..
Will definitely be coming back here in the next couple of years absolutely loved De Kelders and cliff lodge.The coast line is fantastically wild and the views picture perfect..
Run out of superlatives to describe this place but will definitely be back in the next couple of years...can't wait..

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Si C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
0.4 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#6 of 29 in Gansbaai
154 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
0.9 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#10 of 29 in Gansbaai
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
White Shark Guest House
White Shark Guest House
#4 of 29 in Gansbaai
412 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
#7 of 29 in Gansbaai
394 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kleinzee Oceanfront Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Lodge

Property: Cliff Lodge
Address: 6 Cliff Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cliff Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the cliffs, right above the sea with breathtaking views across Walker Bay, Cliff Lodge is 35km from Hermanus and 5km from Gansbaai, in the tranquil village of De Kelders. Luxurious, individually decorated bedrooms have sea views and open onto outside sea view patios. Rooms range from standard side rooms to a spacious sea front room, a luxurious penthouse suite, and a sea front cottage. Our comfortable guest lounge has tea and coffee making facilities, a well-stocked honesty bar and a library of books about the area. The all-weather conservatory and sea front deck have spectacular 180-degree ocean and mountain views. This is the perfect spot to sample the local Overberg wines or enjoy our excellent coffee, while watching whales or the spectacular sun sets over Walker Bay. Our swimming pool has the perfect location, right on the cliff top overlooking the sea, and the unspoilt beaches of the Walker Bay Nature Reserve are a short walk from Cliff Lodge. At Cliff Lodge we offer a level of service that is always attentive, but never intrusive. The atmosphere is relaxed and informal, and we are able to cater to each guest's needs. Whale watching season is spectacular from Cliff Lodge, and the world famous Gansbaai shark diving trips are just 10km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Cliff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Lodge South Africa/Gansbaai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing