We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a stunning place to stay and to come back”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cliff Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cliff Lodge
Ranked #1 of 30 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
heiloo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“a stunning place to stay and to come back”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We have been recommanded to the Cliff Lodge by friends and felt welcome from the first moment, we arrived . Gideon and Gillis are very good hosts, making your stay immediately very comfortable Nico teached me to make his capuchino, which is more than Italian. We stayed in the Northroom with balcony and a magnificent view on the ocean. We were too late for the whales, so this is another good reason to come back

Room Tip: North room with balcony on breakfastroom level is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    588
    11
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
63
456
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Biel-Benken, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We (my son and I) stayed two nights and were overtaken by the wonderful view over Walker Bay. We enjoyed observing the night sky and intricate movements of the the various Atlantic currents and waves. Gill and Gideon are very caring hosts and offered great support in making the most of our stay on the souther tip of the coast. My son really loved the room, the comfortable bed, and the lovely chocolate chip biscuits. The breakfast was extraordinary and we ate to our heart's content. A guest house well worth returning to. Renée & Llewellyn

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RENEE-DESIREE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Breathtaking location and superb service and great hospitality. Everything was perfect. Absolutely loved the Ocean Suite - like a beautiful dream come true. Very lucky to have seen such a brilliant southern hemisphere night sky too!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nessie0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We arrived late morning and were welcomed by Gideon who immediately made us welcome by offering us superbly made ground coffee. Wonderful after a long drive. We were only staying for one night and were shown to the Ocean Suite which was magnificent, having spectacular views over Walker Bay. We decided to enjoy the afternoon outside on the large terrace, exclusive to the suite, taking in the panoramic vista of the bay. A shoal of dolphins passed by and we were brought binoculars so as to get a better view. If you want privacy and comfort this is for you.

We travelled around the Cape, including Winelands, the Garden Route and further inland for three weeks, staying at a variety of establishments. Gideon is a champion breakfast maker, fresh juice produced to order, fresh fruit, cereals etc. but most importantly a magnificently produced cooked breakfast!

The staff were friendly and Nico was very helpful

Gideon and Gill run an excellent establishment. Well worth a visit for a single night or longer.

Room Tip: Ocean Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldtraveller043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We stayed here on the 2nd stage of our honeymoon after leaving Cape Town and everything about it was amazing - the room, the service, the views, right down to the coffee! - can't fault it. The hosts are great, really friendly and helpful with recommendations and directions etc. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Cliff Lodge, its a beautiful place and we hope to go back one day.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouP37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We have traveled the southern tip of Africa for two months and can say that this is one of the best run guest houses with the most beautiful views of anywhere we have been. The hosts are friendly, knowledgeable and present. So many places we have stayed, the owners were not around though their lodges had been rated based on their personality. At Cliff Lodge, we were greeted and shown around by Gill. Gideon joined us at cocktail hour seemingly for the purpose of getting to know the guests and helping sort out dinner plans. They both served and cooked the superb breakfast. They both had great ideas for day trips in the area including maps and specific points of interests. Gill even provided help for a 24 hour illness that affected me upon my arrival. They have the best stocked honor "kitchen" we have ever seen. The rooms are updated and modern. Ours, the East Room, had an outdoor shower affording the most incredible views. Oh yes, and with all of this you get the most stunning views and access to miles of private beaches with secluded coves. This guest house has it all. Outstanding hosts, excellent staff, beautifully decorated rooms and common areas and spectacular views.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We really enjoyed it, we arrived very late but this was no problem, the staff and the hosts are very friendly, location is superb, rooms are outstanding, really 5star quality, excellent breakfast.
I even got a pill versus seasickness as we did a boat trip the next morning, really appreciated it.

View from the living room and terrasse really outstanding, a must stay for couples.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinstyle01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gansbaai hotels
1.5 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
0.4 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#5 of 30 in Gansbaai
151 reviews
4.6 mi away
White Shark Guest House
White Shark Guest House
#4 of 30 in Gansbaai
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
#7 of 30 in Gansbaai
386 reviews
2.7 mi away
Saxon Lodge
Saxon Lodge
#6 of 30 in Gansbaai
390 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#11 of 30 in Gansbaai
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Lodge

Property: Cliff Lodge
Address: 5 Cliff Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cliff Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the cliffs, right above the sea with breathtaking views across Walker Bay, Cliff Lodge is 35km from Hermanus and 5km from Gansbaai, in the tranquil village of De Kelders. Luxurious, individually decorated bedrooms have sea views and open onto outside patios. Rooms range from standard side sea view rooms to a spacious sea front room, and a luxurious penthouse suite - perfect for honeymooners or an executive getaway. Our comfortable guest lounge has tea and coffee making facilities, a well-stocked honesty bar and a library of books about the area. The all-weather conservatory and sea front deck have spectacular 180-degree ocean and mountain views. This is the perfect spot to sample the local Overberg wines or enjoy our excellent coffee, while watching whales or the spectacular sun sets over Walker Bay. Our swimming pool has the perfect location, right on the cliff top overlooking the sea, and the unspoilt beaches of the Walker Bay Nature Reserve are a short walk from Cliff Lodge. At Cliff Lodge we offer a level of service that is always attentive, but never intrusive. The atmosphere is relaxed and informal, and with only five rooms we are able to cater to each guest's needs. Whale watching season is spectacular from Cliff Lodge, and the world famous Gansbaai shark diving trips are just 10km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Cliff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Lodge South Africa/Gansbaai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing