We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“they think of everything”
Review of Cliff Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cliff Lodge
Ranked #1 of 29 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“they think of everything”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We took the Ocean suite for 2 nights in this amazing B and B , on the cliffs in De Kelders and we sooo wish we had had more time there. Gideon and his staff have thought of everything you could possibly want and as a result you have the most fantastic experience.
The ocean suite is vast with views to die for. The windows open to the sound of ocean and you can lie in bed ( with the electric blanket on) looking at the amazing views.
The breakfasts are exceptionally good , with free range eggs and wonderful breads , cereals and fruits.
Gideon arranges your reservations for dinner and you can walk safely through the dark to the restaurant listening to the whales blowing ( during whale season)

We will definitely be back to such a marvellous place

Room Tip: spend a bit more and have the ocean suite :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss_Poland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    593
    11
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
63
459
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We sadly only spent one night at the Cliff lodge. We were greeted by Chantelle who welcomed us warmly and provided information on the surrounding area. Unfortunately due to the weather we were not able to do the shark cage diving we had booked for the following day. We had requested ocean view rooms and had spectacular views over the cliffs. The Ocean Suite is spacious and comfortable. Gideon and Nico provided an amazing breakfast the following day and the service was second to none. We were a group of 4 and felt really pandered to. Gideon gave us tips on the route to take to get back to Cape Town. This was a far more scenic route than we had planned although we did not get time to take in all of the suggested sights (will have to come back). We did visit Betty's Bay and the Stoney Point penguin coloney which we would have missed without Gideon's guidance. Without reservation I would highly recommend Cliff lodge - and would suggest at least a 3 day stay

Room Tip: If you can pay the extra request the Ocean Suite. We were 2 couples and also had the room below the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPWRDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Perfect location, rooms, views, staff, facilities and thats just the tip of the iceberg. Gideon and his staff were fantastic as was the more than ample fresh breakfast each day. The views from the terraces of the ocean and the right whales were amazing and something that gave this place a unique feel. Restaurant recommendations (excellent recommendations at that!) and bookings were made by Gideon and the team on our behalf and our 3 days there were spent in restful ease. Sad to leave and will go back if ever in the area again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alberto465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lusaka, Zambia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We recently stayed for one night during our honeymoon in SA. Cliff Lodge was a great find, and we are so pleased we choose to stay in de Kelders as opposed to the much busier Hermanus. The location is perfect overlooking the bay and our hosts were really helpful, having already made a booking at a local restaurant before we even arrived. The breakfast was amazing, the best we had in South Africa (where standards are very high!). Just wished we had stayed longer as the weather was very poor during our visit and we were unable to go out on a whale boat. Suggest booking for a minimum of 2 nights.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nellie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I was told 4 nights in De Kelders is too much… no way, I could have stayed much longer!! It is such an incredible place with such nice people. Started with the West Room which is nice for a couple or people who like to have their privacy because the entrance is downstairs at the outside, near the pool. When I came back from dinner Chantelle (the one who bakes delicious carrot cake) had already lighted some candles and lights in my room because she knew I didn’t like the darkness. Breakfast is delicious with the best cappuccino and carrot juice, fruitsalad and of course many other things, all fresh. This all comes with an unbeatable view over Walker Bay (no street in between) where I saw many whales and dolphins. Moved than upstairs to the North Room which has a beautiful private balcony. On my last night there was such a storm that Nico was so kind to put a second heater in my room. Nothing is too much and everything is done with a big smile. Had a flat tyre and Gideon had already arranged to have it repaired and also found somebody to take me to Gansbaai that morning. Hiking, just step outside of the door and you can walk for hours through a beautiful landscape (if you manage to get out of that chair on your balcony staring at the ocean!)… hope to return soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paiperlek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Cliff Lodge is a very special place. It's in a wonderful location on the cliff edge overlooking Walker Bay, wild and dramatic for our stay, where we sat on our huge balcony, watching whales and dolphins. Gideon and his whole team are wonderful hosts - friendly, welcoming, very professional, very high standards of service (Nico makes a great flat white and Gideon's breakfasts are unforgettable). We came on the spur of the moment, found there was only one room available so we stayed in the Ocean Suite and we're so glad we did. Definitely one of the 100 things to do before you die! Cliff Lodge way exceeded our expectations. We're already looking forward to coming back.

Tony and Diane Liddiard

Room Tip: If you can run to it, take the Ocean Suite. A double aspect with huge and comfortable lounge, mini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony and Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Our arrival was cozy, warm and full of hospitality. Gideon helped us with everything we needed from a glass of wine to relax for a few minutes to recommendations to restaurants (where we had the best steak of our live) we would never have found ourselves. He also was so helpful with showing us the prettiest ways to our next accommodation and he was much fun to talk with.

The room, the balcony, the living room, the kitchen, the breakfast … it was all SO nice! Watching whales with a glass of wine in the veranda either with sunset or with breakfast made it even more surreal! What a place to wake up! We want to go back!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoCaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
0.4 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#6 of 29 in Gansbaai
154 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
0.9 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#10 of 29 in Gansbaai
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
White Shark Guest House
White Shark Guest House
#4 of 29 in Gansbaai
412 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
#7 of 29 in Gansbaai
394 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kleinzee Oceanfront Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Lodge

Property: Cliff Lodge
Address: 6 Cliff Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cliff Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the cliffs, right above the sea with breathtaking views across Walker Bay, Cliff Lodge is 35km from Hermanus and 5km from Gansbaai, in the tranquil village of De Kelders. Luxurious, individually decorated bedrooms have sea views and open onto outside sea view patios. Rooms range from standard side rooms to a spacious sea front room, a luxurious penthouse suite, and a sea front cottage. Our comfortable guest lounge has tea and coffee making facilities, a well-stocked honesty bar and a library of books about the area. The all-weather conservatory and sea front deck have spectacular 180-degree ocean and mountain views. This is the perfect spot to sample the local Overberg wines or enjoy our excellent coffee, while watching whales or the spectacular sun sets over Walker Bay. Our swimming pool has the perfect location, right on the cliff top overlooking the sea, and the unspoilt beaches of the Walker Bay Nature Reserve are a short walk from Cliff Lodge. At Cliff Lodge we offer a level of service that is always attentive, but never intrusive. The atmosphere is relaxed and informal, and we are able to cater to each guest's needs. Whale watching season is spectacular from Cliff Lodge, and the world famous Gansbaai shark diving trips are just 10km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Cliff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Lodge South Africa/Gansbaai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing