We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply unforgettable & magical”
Review of Cliff Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cliff Lodge
Ranked #1 of 31 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2014

There are no words to describe the unforgettable experience we've had at Cliff Lodge.
We've been welcomed with so much enthusiasm and kindness that we already felt like we were at home. Our room was perfect, the breakfast was more than perfect, the staff was amazing. A special thanks to Nico for his kindness & special cappuccino :)
The view from the B&B is impressive and takes your breath away.
We've been truly spoiled by everyone who works at Cliff Lodge.
You can also enjoy a relaxing walk from the B&B and wander along the coast and find a very interesting historical site.

We will come back !

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joffrey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (638)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 638 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

Impossible not to be impressed by the location and views. The furnishings, facilities, comfort were all first class with a great breakfast. The coffee was particularly good! Chantelle, Nico and Gideon were great hosts and made us feel welcome throughout. Lots of great places to eat - especially Kloeks@Home and Blue Goose. Food was good at Rosemary's but we were not so keen on the ambience.

I would have awarded 6 stars (!) for larger towels ( there were lots of lovely fluffy towels but the bath towels were a bit small for us ).

No hesitation to recommend or return

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teaeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Cliff Lodge for one night. We had the room near the pool (I think it was the West Room). The room was clean and had contemporary furniture. We liked it. The view to cliffs and ocean is incredible, you just counldn't get enough watching the ocean.

The team was lovely - we got so many great recommendations what to see and do before we left.

Breakfast was very good, too. And Nico's remark that coffee will get worse after Cliff Lodge was absolutely right :)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank pmi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We were fortunate enough to be able to spend a weekend at the spectacular Cliff Lodge. The views are breathtaking as was the magnificent sunset. We stayed in the Ocean suite which is huge and has a large balcony where one can relax enjoying sundowners.

Breakfasts are lovingly prepared and you have a wonderful choice of juices, fruit and hot breakfast. The rolls are homemade, as well as the delicious chocolate chip cookies in your room which I so enjoyed with my cup of tea. The room fridge bar is well stocked and very reasonably priced.

Gideon, Nico and Chantelle were incredibly warm and hospitable; Nothing too much trouble. We have stayed here once before and I look forward to returning more often.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MerlotCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed at Cliff Lodge for 2 nights, but that was far too short. Staff and owners offer real friendliness and you can't ask for better service and Cliff Lodge offers stunning views as well! Excellent!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Menno S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed in the penthouse suite last week. The room is huge, the view is amazing, a lounge chair on the terrace, breakfast was very good....
Warm welcome by Chantelle, thank you, you made us feel at home.
5 star rating for me.
Excellent restaurant near by: Red Indigo at grootbos nature reserve.

Room Tip: go for the penthouse suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This place may not the cheapest but is so worth! Stunning view and unbelievable caring and nice people. Excellent breakfast, room with all(!) extras, good restaurants nearby - theres nothing you will miss

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Martina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
11.8 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
11.6 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
977 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#4 of 31 in Gansbaai
179 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#6 of 31 in Gansbaai
309 reviews
2.7 mi away
Saxon Lodge
Saxon Lodge
#5 of 31 in Gansbaai
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Lodge

Address: 6 Cliff Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range: £150 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cliff Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the cliffs, right above the sea with breathtaking views across Walker Bay, Cliff Lodge is 35km from Hermanus and 5km from Gansbaai, in the tranquil village of De Kelders. Luxurious, individually decorated bedrooms open onto outside sea view patios. Rooms range from standard side rooms to a spacious sea front room, a luxurious penthouse suite, and a sea front cottage. Our comfortable guest lounge has tea and coffee making facilities, a well-stocked honesty bar and a library of books about the area. The all-weather conservatory and sea front deck have spectacular 180-degree ocean and mountain views. This is the perfect spot to sample the local Overberg wines or enjoy our excellent coffee, while watching whales or the spectacular sun sets over Walker Bay. Our swimming pool has the perfect location, right on the cliff top overlooking the sea, and the beaches of the Walker Bay Nature Reserve are a short walk from Cliff Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Cliff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Lodge South Africa/Gansbaai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing