We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By far the best place we stayed in our month in South Africa!”
Review of Cliff Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cliff Lodge
Ranked #1 of 29 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“By far the best place we stayed in our month in South Africa!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

With an exceptional location directly on the coast (with whales, seals and dolphins spotted on our balcony) and a beautiful modern design of house this is a must for anyone visiting De Kelders or shark diving in Gansbaii/ whale watching etc.
The staff were exceptionally friendly with lots of brilliant advice on great local walks and food to eat!
This lodge was better than any 5* hotel we stayed at and was by far the best place we stayed in during our month holiday in South Africa!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HannahBlowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    598
    11
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
66
460
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Felt like a night at home while on holidays. Brilliant coffee, great view overlooking the Ocean. The rooms were very comfortable and the hospitality was excellent, even down to calling local restaurants to make sure they were open and book us in.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bryzer25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I have spent time with my children when they stayed at Cliff Lodge. The house is perched on the rocks with the most beautiful view overlooking the magnificent Walker Bay, home to the Southern Right Whale during the months of June to December.The quality of service, friendliness, and professionalism thrown in makes Cliff Lodge the place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoponpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilderness, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I stayed here a while back (on educational with my travel company) and loved it so much I took my mom there years later just to show her the beautiful establishment. Unfortunately we were just passing by, but next time hope to stay over again!

The location is perfect - literally on the Cliff's edge, with unobstructed views of the ocean in front of you. Sunsets are breattaking!

The rooms are beautifully furnished, all private and with a relaxing ambience.

Service is top-notch: GREAT owners and GREAT managers!

Breakfast is served on the deck outside (weather permitting) and the pool is ocean-facing as well.

Cliff Lodge offers everything one can expect from a top-rate Guest House, without killing your bank account.

We give it a 5 out of 5 ~ still one of our favorite properties along the Whale Coast.

p.s. Shark Cage Diving is in the nearby vicinity. There's lovely beaches to swim at within walking distance too. The managers/owners also advise guests on a cliff walk route which is a must!

Room Tip: If your budget can afford it, the 'Honeymoon'/'Penthouse' is amazing!!! The outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garbsen, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed 2 nights at Cliff Lodge, a very nice lodge with friendly staff.
Our room had an outside shower with a fantastic view over the ocean.
The breakfast is pretty good and enough for the whole day.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasminW_1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We booked this place because of the amazing reviews and pictures we saw here on trip advisor and we were so happy! I can't begin to tell you how much we loved this place. From the minute we walked in, Nico was very helpful and extremely friendly. The room was absolutely amazing. We were right at the water! It felt like we were on a boat!

We loved everything about this place! Service, the room, the view, the breakfast and all the amenities that were so carefully placed in our room and the common areas.

Service - Super helpful, very personalized, very polite. Nico booked dinner for us, gave us maps for our shark diving and dinner, had our dive time confirmed before we arrived. Gideon helped us with our shark experience by giving us sea sickness tablets and jackets to wear on the boar. He also helped us plan our drive to Franschhoek and what to do there.

Room and View - We had the Ocean Suite which was upstairs and absolutely gorgeous and spacious. Enough room to lounge and enjoy the view! The room was very clean and stocked with everything you could imagine including a Nespresso machine! We did use the machine and Gideon was kind enough not to charge us for it! A lot of hotels and B&Bs have coffee for free but charge for Nespresso. He even had bottles of all sort of alcohol and just asked us to mark off if we had anything.

Breakfast was also extremely good. Right from the bread basket, the cold stuff and the amazing omelette I had both days. Wish we could have stayed longer!

Highly highly recommend! Even if you are in Cape Town, take a day/night out and come and experience Cliff Lodge and Gideon and his teams hospitality!

Room Tip: We were in the Ocean Suite which was amazing, but if you don't want to splurge as much I believe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Umehani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My son and I recently stayed two nights at Cliff Lodge. Everything was outstanding. The view is stunning. The welcome warm. The rooms as nice as a Hilton Hotel, with about everything you can think of as far as being equipped.
Gideon and Chantelle are extemely helpful with any travel plans one may have. They will phone, organize or book for you whatever you need. Due to bad weather, we had to rebook our planned shark dive to a different day. They absolutely did everything they could including letting us mover our second's night stay three days later in order to accommodate.
A quick note on the rooms: the north room by far has the most beautiful view. The west room is extremely private with its own veranda. The east and south rooms are also lovely, but their views of the ocean are not as direct.
Cliff Lodge is simply an outstanding experience and worth every penny. I hope to return with my wife later in the year. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shalom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
11.0 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
411 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
683 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#6 of 29 in Gansbaai
155 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#10 of 29 in Gansbaai
284 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
#7 of 29 in Gansbaai
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Lodge

Property: Cliff Lodge
Address: 6 Cliff Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cliff Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the cliffs, right above the sea with breathtaking views across Walker Bay, Cliff Lodge is 35km from Hermanus and 5km from Gansbaai, in the tranquil village of De Kelders. Luxurious, individually decorated bedrooms have sea views and open onto outside sea view patios. Rooms range from standard side rooms to a spacious sea front room, a luxurious penthouse suite, and a sea front cottage. Our comfortable guest lounge has tea and coffee making facilities, a well-stocked honesty bar and a library of books about the area. The all-weather conservatory and sea front deck have spectacular 180-degree ocean and mountain views. This is the perfect spot to sample the local Overberg wines or enjoy our excellent coffee, while watching whales or the spectacular sun sets over Walker Bay. Our swimming pool has the perfect location, right on the cliff top overlooking the sea, and the unspoilt beaches of the Walker Bay Nature Reserve are a short walk from Cliff Lodge. At Cliff Lodge we offer a level of service that is always attentive, but never intrusive. The atmosphere is relaxed and informal, and we are able to cater to each guest's needs. Whale watching season is spectacular from Cliff Lodge, and the world famous Gansbaai shark diving trips are just 10km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Cliff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Lodge South Africa/Gansbaai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing