We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pearl of south africa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whalesong Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Whalesong Lodge
Ranked #8 of 30 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“pearl of south africa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Whalesong Lodge is a pearl in the southern part of africa. It is a insider tip for all the stressed (swiss)people which are looking for a very nice and pleasant personal place where
you can all the time overlooking the sea. Just great a real oasis.In stanley's sitting room you feel like very much at home and if you have the oportunity to have a dinner made by lainy and stanley you will be very much spoilt.....!We where there unfortunately too short so we go there again. Best regard's from switzerland

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank urs c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    21
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
193
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

In November 2011 we spent two nights at the Whalesong Lodge which has the personal touch of a family home providing just the right mixture of privacy and family life. For us it was an amazing experience to watch from our balcony the wales swimming and jumping so close by. At night we heard them "sing". Our room was not only comfortable and well equipped, but also beautifully arranged. Lainy and Stanley were charming and welcoming hosts. We felt immediately at home in their lovely lodge.

Room Tip: The best room is overlooking the sea shore, but the lodge has a common terrace with the same beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexanderB188113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

At the first moment we felt like home. The view to the bay is fantastic! The rooms are very nice and very comfortable arranged. The breakfast is unbeatable. And Lainy and Stanley are very helpful, advertent and heartly. If we come back to South Africa, we´ll check in at the wahlesong lodge again!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

WHALESONG LODGE

We shortlisted Whalesong from hundreds of choices on safari.net, google earth, google maps, SAVenues and so on... From Stanley's prompt & helpful email enquiry reply, to his and Lainy's warm 'goodbye's' it just seemed and indeed was so right.

Location, billion-dollar view, hospitality, magnificent breakfasts and a host of 'make it easy for you' services, hints and 'helps' plus efficient, well trained and skilled staff... Well thought out, clutter-free, clean and everything-working rooms, freedoms to come and go and most of all enjoy your holiday, your way, mean a multiple of recommendations to friends and family and promises to ourselves, Stanley & Lainy to return, make this a 5-star stay!

The honesty-bar is great idea, and for dinner, you have to eat at Kloeks At Home at least once, and hope Stanley feels inclined to cook dinner during your stay too.... Plan your excursion returns to coincide with Lainy's sumptuous apple, and carrot cakes with afternoon tea/coffee.....

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Volketswil, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

It was an unforgettable experience, an evening meal and breakfast were fantastic and made us feel at home. Many thanks to Stanley and Lany! We will be back for sure

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Rooms are ok, the living room is really great and romantic, and the breakfast is fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoostPaulien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Very warm people who not just provide a room to sleep! We have watched the wales even from our room - if you can afford book room no. 1 with big panorama windows! Breakfast is not only eggs, but also homemade food. We loved this place and if we came back again would definitively stay in this cosy lodge! Thanks to Stanley & Lainy for sharing your place. Olaf W.

Room Tip: room 1 it's worth because of the big panorama windows and lot's of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olaf W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gansbaai hotels
0.5 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 30 in Gansbaai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
0.1 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#4 of 30 in Gansbaai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kleinzee Oceanfront Guesthouse
0.4 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#12 of 30 in Gansbaai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
2.3 mi away
Saxon Lodge
Saxon Lodge
#6 of 30 in Gansbaai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whalesong Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whalesong Lodge

Property: Whalesong Lodge
Address: 83 Cliff Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Whalesong Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Seafront guesthouse overlooking the picturesque Walker Bay with views stretching from the white sand dunes of Die Plaat past Hermanus all the way to Cape Point. The area offers excellent whale watching, shark cage diving, horse riding, diverse fynbos, coastal cliffs and deserted beaches situated only 2 hr from Cape Town just before Gansbaai famous for its Great White Sharks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Whalesong Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whalesong Lodge South Africa/Gansbaai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing