We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty inside and out”
Review of Whalesong Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Whalesong Lodge
Ranked #8 of 29 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bodmin, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beauty inside and out”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We only stayed one night at Whalesong Lodge but what a lovely night it was The hosts Lainie and Stanley made you feel at home from the minute you entered their house. The rooms are cosy and tastefully furnished & decorated as it is throughout. It is also very clean. We arrived in the afternoon to sit on their large balcony off the lounge/dining area watching the whales ; it was absolutely breathtaking! Imagine - a beautiful view of the bay just across the road from where you are sitting and then add a whole lotta whales - spectacular! To top this we are invited to dinner in the evening. Wow! There is a huge dinner table here where Lainie and Stanley love to entertain and feed all their guests if you would like to. What an excellent way to interact and meet some more lovely people. We had a fabulous meal and our great hosts had stories to tell and advice to give. They had superb knowledge on all you wanted to know and go in South Africa. A few hours later we are back at the table for breakfast! You do not leave this table feeling hungry! Our only regret was that we only stayed one night on our way to Cape Town. But we have brought some Rands home with us so we will definitely be going back to South Africa and most certainly to Whalesong Lodge.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank LOUISE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    21
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
193
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Whalesong Lodge. We felt at home right away. Lainie and Stanley are are a wonderful couple and great hosts. The interior/decoration of the house is stylish and yet cozy. The rooms are furnished lovely and carefully. The whole place is perfectly clean. There is a huge dinner table in the living room and you have breakfast with other guests and with the hosts. During breakfast Lainie and Stanley told us a lot about South Africa and it was so interesting to listen to their view on South Africa and learn a lot about the country and discuss current issues the people struggle with. The breakfast was excellent and no one leaves the table hungry. During the day Lainie spoilt us with a delicious cake and we heard that Stanley is also a great chef. Since we only stayed two nights we decided to go out for dinner. One restaurant was recommended to us by a friend who travelled the garden route a couple of times, so we went to Rosemary's which was a great idea. Delicious local food and a great host. The 2nd nite we went to a place nearby which was recommended by Stanley and Lainie, unfortunately I don't recall the name but just ask the hosts they will give you directions. Don't forget it's a BYO and there are no street lamps but our hosts also thought of that and gave us a torch and a lovely crafted bag to carry our bottle. The wine you actually get at a very fair price also directly from the Whalesong lodge. The highlight of our stay at the Whalesong lodge was the balcony, from there you can oversee the whole bay area and watch the wales. They also have binoculars you can borrow. It was the first time for us to see wales and they are right in front of the lodge, incredible! We can highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: we didn't stay at the honeymoon suite, but could take a glimpse when the staff were cleaning the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melvin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

As veteran travellers we tend to avoid upmarket spots especially on trips home to South Africa. We ended up with Lainie and Stanley by accident: couldn't find our original booking at some place whose name we couldnt recall (lots of Coves; Whales 'n Songs in Gansbaai) and the details we'd lost in the email ether...irritated, we took pot luck at Gansbaai Info. 'Go to Stanley and Lainie's, they said: you wont be disappointed'. 'Yeah, yeah, all we want is a drink and a bed right now'. What a find! These are the most engaging hosts ,who could not have done more, yet we felt unfussed as if at home. But what a home. We dithered, then took the breathtaking main suite. Its worth every penny. Lie in your bath watching whales; walk along the rocks to Long Beach; have sundowners on your own deck; go to the local eateries on advice. Could not recommend Whalesong Lodge more highly.

Room Tip: Take what you can get; the main suite is incredible with views 100kms across the bay to Cape Point
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zutphen, Gelderland, Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We spend 2 nights at Whalesong. What a great place to stay!!! The whales where just swimming at the other side of the road, amazing! A beautiful lodge whit verry friendly owners and staff.
If you ever go to South Africa go to Whalesong lodge!!

Room Tip: The rooms are all goodM
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marijke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swaffham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

First class location and great hosts. From our balcony and even from the luxury of our king size bed we had a view of the ocean and could whale watch. We did not expect to see whales as the season was just starting but we chose the location for the walks along the cliffs starting right outside. Our hosts were knowledgeable and friendly and the home cooked food they produced was wonderful. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The front bedroom with balcony is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janghileri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We stayed at Whalesong Lodge May 2013. We had a great experience. The hotel is situated directly on the water (across a small street) beautiful view and peaceful. Everyone at the B&B was hospitable and the accomodations are exactly as advertised. When visiting South Africa I recommend small B&B's vs the larger hotels. Locals can recommend resturants and entertainment as well as providing a personal feel to your vacation. I strongly recommend Whalesong!

Room Tip: I recommend paying a little extra and getting the corner room with a full balcony. Worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonja J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Staying at Whalesong Lodge for a couple of days gives you energy for weeks. The view is breathtaking and the hospitality is excellent! You will have breakfast together on one table with the other guests and the hosts. I can warmly recommend the Lodge for all kind of travellers!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlBurrrrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
0.5 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 29 in Gansbaai
608 reviews
0.1 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#6 of 29 in Gansbaai
153 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#10 of 29 in Gansbaai
280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kleinzee Oceanfront Guesthouse
0.3 mi away
Sea Star Cliff
Sea Star Cliff
#1 of 2 in De Kelders
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whalesong Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whalesong Lodge

Property: Whalesong Lodge
Address: 83 Cliff Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Whalesong Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Seafront guesthouse overlooking the picturesque Walker Bay with views stretching from the white sand dunes of Die Plaat past Hermanus all the way to Cape Point. The area offers excellent whale watching, shark cage diving, horse riding, diverse fynbos, coastal cliffs and deserted beaches situated only 2 hr from Cape Town just before Gansbaai famous for its Great White Sharks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Whalesong Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whalesong Lodge South Africa/Gansbaai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing