We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Sweet Home”
Review of Whalesong Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Whalesong Lodge
Ranked #9 of 31 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is the 4th time I have stayed at Whalesong Lodge and I know I will keep coming back. The reasons why I return here are numerous.
Firstly, Stanley and Lainy are brilliant hosts and the high levels of comfort and care inspires me each time I return.
They have created a guest house that truly nurtures the soul. Delicious coffee and breakfast is served overlooking the most spectacular view of the ocean with the whales breaching as you enjoy home baked breads, jams and local produce. Guests are welcome to use the kettle at any time, put their feet up and simply watch the whales go by.
In winter there is a fireplace and a communal living area that is spacious, comfortable and tastefully decorated.
There are many restaurants nearby to enjoy but dinner can also be arranged on request and all is possible in Stanley's kitchen!
Simply chic and spotlessly clean, this is my favourite place to stay in the whole world.
I love the attention to details that Stanley and Lainy strive for to give their guests the most pleasurable and memorable stay - On this trip, I enjoyed a massage with a very gifted local resident and these can be arranged by the hosts in the comfort of your room...a unique organic range of products such as rosemary and mountain mint bath salts are provided to relax any sore muscles after exploring the breathtaking surroundings and home-made chocolate truffles to end the day (which I did not notice till my last night!) Now that's another reason to go back.
Home sweet Home. Till the next time, thank you thank you thank you and thank you to all the wonderful staff that also take such good care of Whalesong Lodge and their guests!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
6  Thank bl0ss0m333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

Our main reason for stay in Gansbaai was to do Shark Cage Diving. But when that was cancelled due to the rough sea, we couldn't have stayed in a better place than the Whalesong Lodge. There was such a cozy atmosphere that we felt really at home. Stanley arranged massages for us; we set in front of the open fire (which was on all day! and not just for luxury but because it was really cold) to enjoy the beautiful sea view or to read while enjoying a nice cappuccino made by Stanley.
The communal area is on the first floor and with a glass window over the full side of the room you have the most amazing sea view. On one side of the fire place there is a lovely lounge area with comfy furniture and a lot of books and magazines. On the other side of the fire place is the breakfast table. We enjoyed two delicious breakfasts: spoilt for choice and mainly home made! The rooms are on the second floor and are also very nice: spacious, and very tasteful decorated. The bathroom is divided from the room by a shoulder high wall, so not much privacy, but it didn't bother us too much. Definitely one of the highlights of our trip from Cape Town to Port Elizabeth!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karlien K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Usually we take our long weekends in Pringle bay but decided to do something different. Gaansbaai is fantastic. There is lots to do and the b&b is overlooking the most incredible view of the ocean. We went there is march and saw whales daily. The rooms are average but that is more then made up for by the view, the comfortable communal lounge and dining areas and the owners who are really wonderful people. The breakfast is a special treat and in the afternoon there is always a freshly baked cake to enjoy. Absolutely wonderful. I would really recommend it as a great weekend away for anyone. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We had a standard room but it still had a small balcony and view of the ocean. Since the communal ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paulina007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The setting at the oceanfront is not the only asset of the place: The owners run it with the passion and the love for the little details you only find with true hospitality professionals. Once you realize how much they and their staff do for your comfort, you can see that running an lodge is far from an easy task.
The atmosphere is very familiar, the food is 5*****. Only organic ingredients cooked to perfection.

Oh: Did I mention the sunsets? ;-)

Room Tip: The front room with its glass front to the ocean is spectacular. But you can enjoy the view from a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank quadrellas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We spent here only one night,but we really enjoyed it. Hosts are very friendly and hospitable. Rooms are quite comfortable. Pleasant atmosphere(you can seat in front of the big window near the fireplace and see an amazing ocean view) breakfast was very tasty. To sum up,it was great:)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Даша Ш
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed in this lodge on the way to Cape Town. The lodge is located in a quiet place and has relaxing atmosphere. There is a wonderful view of the ocean from the living room. The rooms are clean, comfortable and have interesting design. The restroom is situated in the same space as a bedroom and divided by a partition only, but it wasn't a problem for us. The hosts are very kind and can always give you advice about places to go and activities to do. The restaurant they advised was very nice. Breakfasts in a hotel are wonderful and made by the hosts themselves, like pate and jam! Despite of the bad weather we did't want to leave but stay there enjoying the view of the ocean, drinking wine and chatting near a fireplace in the living room. We would like to come back there once.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Panfiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

A beautiful place with very nice rooms and a terrace that gives amazing views. While having a nice glass of wine, one gets the most awesome sunsets including dolphins swimming by.
Breakfast is abundant and very tasty, fresh products and with good service.
In walking distance there are very nice restaurants, recommended by the hosts of the lodge.
A very recommendable place!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
11.7 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
753 reviews
1 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
0.5 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 31 in Gansbaai
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#4 of 31 in Gansbaai
185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Star Cliff
Sea Star Cliff
#2 of 3 in De Kelders
125 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#6 of 31 in Gansbaai
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whalesong Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whalesong Lodge

Address: 83 Cliff Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range: £125 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whalesong Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Seafront guesthouse overlooking the picturesque Walker Bay with views stretching from the white sand dunes of Die Plaat past Hermanus all the way to Cape Point. The area offers excellent whale watching, shark cage diving, horse riding, diverse fynbos, coastal cliffs and deserted beaches situated only 2 hr from Cape Town just before Gansbaai famous for its Great White Sharks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Whalesong Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whalesong Lodge South Africa/Gansbaai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing