We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
Ranked #3 of 29 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We have been staying at Crayfish Lodge for five days and we enjoyed every minute! It is a beautiful guesthouse next to the sea. There is a small footpath that takes you straight down to the water. Don’t miss the stunning hike along the coast!
We stayed in a very nice room with lovely sea view. Great breakfast! Don’t waste your time looking for other places – you can’t find a better one!

Room Tip: The owners showed us the rooms upstairs on the day we left / a bit more expensive. Next time we'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smarty156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    16
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
75
351
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We were only able to stay for 2 nights as they were fully booked, but we wanted to stay for more and we plan to return. Reinhard and Sandra are the most perfect hosts, nothing was too much trouble and Sandra gave us so much information. Breakfast was gorgeous, the room was marvellous, and the view was stunning. What more can one say?

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piketberg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2013

My wife and I needed a special place to celebrate our 27th wedding anniversary . We had the privilege to spend a night at crayfish lodge. We will go back again anytime even just to say hallo to Sandra and Reinhard. We can recommend the Crayfish lodge for a lot of reasons but go and see the view from your bedroom balcony and you will agree with us

Sandra and Reinhard thank you for your friendliness and next time we will stay longer

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacques T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

I am in the hotel industry and the Crayfish Lodge is offering you a very comfortable room, very well designed with an awesome view and perfect service. During the whales season you can see the whales from your room or balcony. The owners of the Lodge, Sandra and Reinhard, welcomed us very nicely and we felt very welcome and look after. Breakfast was delicious, very fresh and tasty.
If you are looking for a very comfortable place with 5 stars facilities and service the crayfish lodge is the perfect place to be.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Foule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2013

This was a secret tip by a friend and I am so glad we went there. We had a wonderful time at the Crayfish Lodge. The service was amazing and the hosts ever so friendly and welcoming. We had a great room with a view. I could have spent the whole day there just looking out onto the ocean. We even had breafkast watching the whales as they were playing just by the bay. A wonderful place. I can only recommend it and hope to go back there very soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2012

We have been to South Africa a number of times and always been surprised by the quality of the properties that we have stayed in, Crayfish Lodge is up there with the very best. We booked a panorama suite not cheap but fantastic value for money, the bathroom was stunning and the views amazing. De Kelders is a little off the beaten path but in my opinion offers the best whale watching in South Africa, with sightings even this late in the season. The hospitality is wonderful, as are the breakfasts. One word of warning though. the daily aqua gym is not for beginners. just ask Thomas from Zurich.

Room Tip: Panorama suites are stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collioure66190
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

A fab view! Even before you can properly greet the owners, you cannot help but look out over the sea and the wonderful view. Charming owners too. They cannot do too much for the guests. Comfortable bedrooms and while the suites up top are much more expensive, my friends who opted for one of those rooms, couldn't run out barefoot in the morning and down the grass to the little beach! So each has its pluses and minuses. Breakfast was delightfully different: home cooked goodies that broke the mould of South African breakfasts and lots of choices. Good coffee and teas, and the wine in the evening was also delicious. It is a lovely place, and I hope to return. It is not cheap - by local standards and certainly not by European standards - but sometimes you have to treat yourself!

Room Tip: If you want to hang out on your balcony, opt for the upper level rooms. If you want to dash down to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
11.6 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
407 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 29 in Gansbaai
608 reviews
1.3 mi away
Saxon Lodge
Saxon Lodge
#5 of 29 in Gansbaai
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#10 of 29 in Gansbaai
280 reviews
1.1 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#6 of 29 in Gansbaai
153 reviews
3.4 mi away
White Shark Guest House
White Shark Guest House
#4 of 29 in Gansbaai
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House

Property: Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
Address: 2 Killarney Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant modern true 5* sea front guest house with superb sea views. 2 Panorama Suites, 3 stylish Atlantic Garden Rooms, all sea facing. Being directly sea-front with not even a road in front, you will enjoy here some of the finest sea+mountain views in South Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House South Africa/Gansbaai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing