We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
Ranked #2 of 31 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed for two nights at the beautiful Crayfish Lodge in De Kelders and it was probably one of the best of our entire trip through ZA. Not only the very warm welcoming and service by the owners Sandra and Reiner but also the priceless view were breathtaking. While having breakfast in the morning the whales jumped right in front of us! The rooms are luxurious, spacious and super clean. There's absolutely nothing to complain about and I would recommend everyone to plan a stop at De Kelders for Whale Watching, dining at the Blue Goose or Bella Vista and staying at the Crayfish Lodge.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tknuewerHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

The room (try and get room nr. 1) had a great view on the coast and was very spacious with a big bathroom (bathtub from which you can see outside) and all the technical things you would need (ipod player, adapter, tv, water kettle etc.). The hosts were super friendly and very helpful in advising how to best make use of time in the area. The B&B does not have a dinner menu but you can have a superb dinner at a restaurant nearby at a very good price. Alternatively, you can have sushi or a chesse platter in the lodge. The hosts have a large selection of wine and are very knowledgable on what wine goese best with what food. The lodge looks very nice on pictures but it looks even nicer in real life!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DADA13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Our only mistake with regard to Crayfish Lodge was not booking more nights. Crayfish Lodge was our last night on a two week visit to South Africa. The views from the rooms are breathtaking. The rooms themselves are modern, well appointed, and exceptional in every way. Reinhard and Sandra are engaging hosts who made sure every aspect of our trip was exceptional. From greeting us with a glass of wine, to helping us book a gourmet dinner (discounted) and helping us safely getting back to the airport.

When we return to South Africa we will not repeat our mistake and will book for no less than 4 nights. There are many interesting activities available in Gansbaai.

Thanks for the great stay. It was short but memorable.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice with great views. Our son and daughter in law were on lower level near pool. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 813AndrewP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We were going to stay at Hermanus but were told by others try Gansbai. I agree it is not as commercial here and we were delighted with the hospitality given by the owners and the staff, it was 2nd to none.
We were told about the area and suggested things we should do. We did try the small plane flight over the whales and saw an amazing Great White from above, unbelievable!!
Highly recommend this lodge.

Room Tip: Ask for the amber room, you lye in bed and look at the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Similar to the reviews you find here, it was a really splendid stay. Its a definite place to return to, if ever given the chance.

Place: Beautiful, Tastefully Decorated, Modern, Heated Flooring is nice. Bathroom OMG-Nice.
Bed: Very Comfy and Cosy
Balcony by Day: See Whales Basking and Playing all Day from our Balcony - until we got bored :-)
Balcony by Night: Sun Deck Chairs - Superb Star Gazing (Took a really nice photo of the Milky Way)
Location: Nice location by the Sea, Good Privacy, Quiet, Safe, Easy to Find - Well Signposted
Parking: Secured and Ample
Service: Super. Extremely Friendly, Warm, Helpful - almost felt like a long time friend, real personal.
Breakfast: Very nice, delicious and freshly prepared.

Thanks Sandra and Reinhard for the lovely and memorable stay. We wished we could have stayed for a week.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter_Ang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Crayfish lodge is a modern, well equipped guest house in an excellent location with great views over the sea. We stayed for two nights on a family holiday and were slightly apprehensive as we don't normally stay in guest houses. However, we need not have feared. From the sight of its great architecture and interior fit out to the warm welcome from Sandra and her husband Reinhard we were immediately at ease. The bedrooms are comfortable and well equipped and the public rooms are airy and well designed with views over the coast. There is a private path down to the coast for those who want to walk along and watch whales from the coastal path. Although evening meals are not available we were offered the opportunity when booking to pre book dinners in the restaurant at the nearby Grootbos Nature Reserve. This is well worth taking advantage of for the excellent location, food and great value for money. Sandra's breakfasts were excellent with options that would suit everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We have been staying at Crayfish Lodge for five days and we enjoyed every minute! It is a beautiful guesthouse next to the sea. There is a small footpath that takes you straight down to the water. Don’t miss the stunning hike along the coast!
We stayed in a very nice room with lovely sea view. Great breakfast! Don’t waste your time looking for other places – you can’t find a better one!

Room Tip: The owners showed us the rooms upstairs on the day we left / a bit more expensive. Next time we'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smarty156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
11.9 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
968 reviews
12.1 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
12.0 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
727 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 31 in Gansbaai
633 reviews
1.1 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#5 of 31 in Gansbaai
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House

Address: 2 Killarney Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range: £145 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant modern true 5* sea front guest house with superb sea views. 2 Panorama Suites, 3 stylish Atlantic Garden Rooms, all sea facing. Being directly sea-front with not even a road in front, you will enjoy here some of the finest sea+mountain views in South Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House South Africa/Gansbaai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing