We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
Ranked #2 of 31 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The Crayfish Lodge is a beautiful architect designed house perfectly located for the Walker Bay whale watching during the season or a restful stop for the traveler interested in hiking the coastal trail or seeing the great white sharks and seals during the rest of the year. Your hosts Sandra and Reinhard do everything possible to make you stay enjoyable and active. The breakfasts are excellent and offer everything one could want to start the day. Highly recommended. Would absolutely stay again if we were in the area. Ausgezeichnet!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stemcell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 563 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Crayfish Lodge for three nights as the first leg of our two week honeymoon in South Africa. The Lodge wildly exceeded our expectations (and we have traveled a lot and stayed in many great places - so we had high expectations).
Room & View: We had the top floor room with a panoramic view of the ocean complete with a good size balcony where we enjoyed watching the very pretty sunsets with a glass of wine or beer. Even the bathroom made use of the views, with a nifty double shower design open to the ocean. The room (and entire lodge) are very modern and designed really well.
Food: At our first breakfast, we thought the impressive continental spread was the breakfast, until Sandra brought out delicious omelet muffins followed by decadent French toast. We thoroughly enjoyed all three of our gourmet breakfasts, especially as we ate while taking in the beautiful view of the water from the table on the balcony.
Service: Sandra and Reinhard, the owners, could not have been better hosts. Sandra welcomed us on our first afternoon there with a glass of wine out on the balcony while she walked us through what we could do while there.They were very knowledgeable about the area and recommended restaurants and other activities that we liked. They helped us rent a canoe for the afternoon to paddle down a river and made reservations for us everywhere we went. We particularly enjoyed walking along the cliff walk to the practically deserted sandy white beach where we picnicked on cheese and crackers for a local dairy farm and beer from a local brewery - all recommended by Sandra.
I would recommend the Crayfish lodge to anyone going to South Africa.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Annie_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

One of the best stays you could ever imagine - Just outstanding! I would recommend everyone to stay there and enjoy the beautiful view from the lodge. The people are really welcoming and always wiling to help :)



  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I can honestly say Crayfish Lodge is one of the best kept secrets in the Cape province. The management couple understand their guests needs, they are around when you need something, otherwise you experience complete privacy. I cannot wait to return! Being a solo traveler guest houses can be daunting. I felt like I was in my own apartment with friends close by.

Room Tip: Top floor for privacy, room 5 for access to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Very friendly and excellence stay! One of best breakfast ever! If we will come back another reservation is for sure. This is a great hospitality in a great landside...
After a awesome day watching the great white a realy nice place to relax.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneHanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

the Crayfishlodge is situated of the cliffs over the beach of Hermanus.
The lodge provided an excellent Service, modern and verry clean rooms with a great view over the beach. From all rooms you can wotch the wales.
The hospitality was great and the homemade Breakfest was delicius. Also on the evenings we could get a wide selection of drinks.
Fore our daily activitis we got a lot of interesting informations.




Room Tip: al rooms are very well
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

E' la nostra seconda volta. Il delizioso alberghetto sorge in un punto strategico, sulla duna sovrastante l'unica insenatura tranquillamente balneabile della zona. I padroni di casa sono deliziosi, di grande aiuto, allegri, sempre disponibili, mai invadenti.
Se si abita in zona, varrebbe la pena soggiornarvi tutti i finesettimana. Se si viene dall'estero per vedere le balene ed i grandi squali bianchi, non si può pensare ad un soggiorno più piacevole e personalizzato.

It was our second time at the Crayfish Lodge. This very nice B&B is located at a key spot along the coast, on top of a dune overlooking the only cove where you can swim with no problems and in complete safety. The hosts are very nice and welcoming people, who are always helpful, cheerful, available and discreet at the same time.
If you leave in the area, this is the place where to spend possibly every weekend in summertime. If you travel from abroad to watch whales and great white sharks, you cannot think about a more pleasant and customized stay.


  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lallotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
11.9 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
977 reviews
12.1 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
12.1 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 31 in Gansbaai
637 reviews
1.1 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#4 of 31 in Gansbaai
179 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#6 of 31 in Gansbaai
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House

Address: 2 Killarney Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range: £145 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant modern true 5* sea front guest house with superb sea views. 2 Panorama Suites, 3 stylish Atlantic Garden Rooms, all sea facing. Being directly sea-front with not even a road in front, you will enjoy here some of the finest sea+mountain views in South Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House South Africa/Gansbaai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing