We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
Ranked #3 of 29 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Baden-baden, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Incredible hospitality”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Incredible hospitality,true generosity and a sudden feeling of affiliation with the place, the country, nature and the hosts (Sandra & Reinhard) - all of it at one of the most beautiful places of Western Cape... What else do you need for some perfect days with the friendliest hosts you can imagine? I'll come back for sure to have more time for "paradising" at this very special place. Thank you so much again for your friendship and hospitality!
Harold Woetzel, German TV (Baden-Baden)

Room Tip: I liked the room with the shower outside - and it's the nearest way to the beach (1 minute away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harold W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    16
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
75
351
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My first time at a 5 star guest house - all thanks to our hosts donation to hospice. We now understand - fabulous modern home encompassing great sea views and proximity to coastal walks, all creature comforts, warm friendly hosts and a unique magnificent breakfast. Only absence - chocolate on my pillow (maybe my partner ate it!)

Room Tip: Too hot under thick duvet - lighter one with blanket option would have surfised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sausalito, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at Crayfish Lodge recently and we had a fantastic time. The views from the lovely home are not to be missed. No abundance of whales this time of year but I can see how when they come that this would be a perfect place for viewing. Our hosts were wonderful and catered to all of our needs. My only complaint was that we did not have more time to spend there. Definitely plan to go back some day.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alleavitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed for 2 nights and wish it had been longer. Awesome location with stunning views over the sea and direct access to the beach. Really peaceful spot with Walker Bay within walking distance. Clean, upmarket rooms, charming hosts, top of the range breakfast ….what more can you want?

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Crayfish "Lodge" is not a lodge but a house on an unattractive housing estate in a boring suburb of Hans Bay. The description is deceptive, in my experience a lodge is in a beautiful setting away from other properties. Another example, rather than our terrace being private it contained the pool which all residents can use, we found this intrusive as the loungers were underneath our window. We found better and more honestly described accommodation elsewhere for much less. Our hosts found it hard to accept constructive criticism, when commenting that the wi-fi connection was weak we were told that it was our device (an iPhone) rather than their broadband. They were professional and business like rather than friendly, I found myself rushing to the room to avoid their attention.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReinhardF, Owner at Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Florosie,

we are very surprised and honestly quite sad about your review and the impressions you describe. It is in fact as if you would be talking about a different establishment.

We are located first row sea front with panoramic ocean views from all rooms and public areas, right at a wonderful coastal hiking trail – a position described as extraordinary and even spectacular by virtually all our guests, also for its tranquillity. It is hard to fathom that you seemingly perceived it as the complete opposite.

Architecture is of course always a very subjective matter of taste – the vast majority of visitors love the modern, open and airy, yet comfortable and warm design of our house. It is with our regrets that you found it apparently rather unattractive.

Also, we cannot really understand your remark about the room, that you particularly could chose, as you were the only guests for these dates – which also means there was no one else who could have invaded your privacy. Even more so, as the room you stayed in has a totally private patio, away from the pool.

We take great pride in our service and attention to all our guests in every possible way. Being absolutely open to all criticism forms an important part of that. We are very sorry, if you had the impression, we would not care – and strangely enough, in your review on another website you noted along with the nice location and excellent breakfast that we would be very friendly, helpful owners. We did arrange all restaurants and activities for you, such as a boat trip and a scenic flight, and also invited you for dinner one evening.

As for the WiFi signal, it indeed is a bit weaker in the Atlantic Rooms, yet no one in more than eight years had a persisting problem to connect to our free WLAN. Our apologies, if you were unable to use your iPhone in your room; we will be investigating options to boost the signal for the future.

On check-out you gave us a positive impression by telling us you had very much enjoyed your stay – so we do hope it was in fact a confusion of establishments and experiences after more than two months, that made you write this review.

All the best,

Reinhard & Sandra Kern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We returned for just 1 night stay - wishing we could have stayed longer. The previous time we stayed here in 2010 was so glorious that this was the first place we considered when we had to find accommodation at the last minute last weekend. Although all the rooms are great, Room Nr 1 remains our first choice - nothing can beat the spectacular sea views, either while lying in bed, sipping a drink lying in the bath, or from under the double shower or from the balcony! The scrumptious breakfasts are not to be missed. Warm welcome by hosts Sandra and Reinhard made our stay even more pleasant, they are willing to arrange day trips and make suggestions / reservations for dinner. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueTravelLots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2014

What a fantastic stay.It is highly recommendable.I showed and told all friends about the lodge.When ever we are in Cape Town again and have some time to spare,we will be back,for sure.
Auf ein baldiges wiedersehen.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roswitha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
11.6 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
407 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 29 in Gansbaai
608 reviews
1.3 mi away
Saxon Lodge
Saxon Lodge
#5 of 29 in Gansbaai
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#10 of 29 in Gansbaai
280 reviews
1.1 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#6 of 29 in Gansbaai
153 reviews
3.4 mi away
White Shark Guest House
White Shark Guest House
#4 of 29 in Gansbaai
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House

Property: Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
Address: 2 Killarney Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant modern true 5* sea front guest house with superb sea views. 2 Panorama Suites, 3 stylish Atlantic Garden Rooms, all sea facing. Being directly sea-front with not even a road in front, you will enjoy here some of the finest sea+mountain views in South Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House South Africa/Gansbaai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing