We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waking up to an incredible view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
Ranked #3 of 29 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Waking up to an incredible view”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed at the Crayfish Lodge for a week and enjoyed every minute of it. We particularly enjoyed waking up and looking straight on the ocean. Sandra was very attentive and concerned with making us feel as comfortable as possible. We would definitely go back and are in fact already planning our next stay at the Crayfish Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JC_YL2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    16
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
75
351
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

It was by chance that I got to spend a night at Crayfish Lodge in late June, whilst attending an event in the De Kelder area. What a surprise it was. Warmth and hospitality superseded only by the endless views and sheer comfort of the lodge. I highly recommend this as the place to stay in De Kelder and look forward to returning myself, in the near future. Thank you both for taking such great care of me, and to the whales for filling the bay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Hi most of you know that I have a touring business in South Africa. I have had the pleasure of staying at some amazing places. While on a tour with some American agents we were honored to have Sandra & Reinhard as our host and hostess. We enjoyed Crayfish lodge so much, the only bad thing was we didnt have enough days. So your self a favor split the time in CT and Hermanus you will be so glad you did.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are excellent, even in the winter all the rooms have base board heating nice warm a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kileyco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettenhausen
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2014

if perfection exist in travel and accomodation then crayfisch lodge is the place where you can find it. a big hand a great thanks to the host Sandra and Reinhard
Kurt Ott, Switzerland, Maria Valata Greece

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank otk737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baden-baden, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Incredible hospitality,true generosity and a sudden feeling of affiliation with the place, the country, nature and the hosts (Sandra & Reinhard) - all of it at one of the most beautiful places of Western Cape... What else do you need for some perfect days with the friendliest hosts you can imagine? I'll come back for sure to have more time for "paradising" at this very special place. Thank you so much again for your friendship and hospitality!
Harold Woetzel, German TV (Baden-Baden)

Room Tip: I liked the room with the shower outside - and it's the nearest way to the beach (1 minute away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harold W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My first time at a 5 star guest house - all thanks to our hosts donation to hospice. We now understand - fabulous modern home encompassing great sea views and proximity to coastal walks, all creature comforts, warm friendly hosts and a unique magnificent breakfast. Only absence - chocolate on my pillow (maybe my partner ate it!)

Room Tip: Too hot under thick duvet - lighter one with blanket option would have surfised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sausalito, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at Crayfish Lodge recently and we had a fantastic time. The views from the lovely home are not to be missed. No abundance of whales this time of year but I can see how when they come that this would be a perfect place for viewing. Our hosts were wonderful and catered to all of our needs. My only complaint was that we did not have more time to spend there. Definitely plan to go back some day.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alleavitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
11.6 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
407 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 29 in Gansbaai
608 reviews
1.3 mi away
Saxon Lodge
Saxon Lodge
#5 of 29 in Gansbaai
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#10 of 29 in Gansbaai
280 reviews
1.1 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#6 of 29 in Gansbaai
153 reviews
3.4 mi away
White Shark Guest House
White Shark Guest House
#4 of 29 in Gansbaai
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House

Property: Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
Address: 2 Killarney Street | De Kelders, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant modern true 5* sea front guest house with superb sea views. 2 Panorama Suites, 3 stylish Atlantic Garden Rooms, all sea facing. Being directly sea-front with not even a road in front, you will enjoy here some of the finest sea+mountain views in South Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House South Africa/Gansbaai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing