We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grootbos-an ultimate nature and culinary experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Grootbos-an ultimate nature and culinary experience”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

With breathtaking views over arguably one of the most beautiful bays in Southern Africa, Grootbos never fails to energize and amaze. The hospitality level of the staff team and the spa is of an exceptional standard as is the culinary experience.

We are super excited about the newly appointed Somellier- excellent addition to an already magnificent product!

We felt spoilt and fully taken care of. We are already booking our next stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThereseIcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanIngles, General Manager at Grootbos Private Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear TeresaIcon

We are thrilled that you have left us energized and rejuvenated! That's really what vacations are all about. Eben, our new Sommelier, has some exciting plans for the year ahead which will enhance the food and wine experience tremendously. I hope we'll see you again next December as promised!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    61
    16
    9
    9
See reviews for
167
387
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

A unique experience,across the coast.The lodge is stunning,in the middle of the vast,precious and rare green with a fantastic view of the seaside.People are really kind,warm,experienced and super helpful.There are a lot of activities to chose,from horse rides,to walking on the beach or in the green.The atmosphere is joyful and relaxing.The food is very very good!The room was peaceful,confortable and very nice.The common areas were very good.also for children.Giudes are great (Joe super)!I totally reccomand this amazing place!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solecheride79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanIngles, General Manager at Grootbos Private Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear solecheride79

Great food, fantastic views and genuinely caring staff is key to making your stay so enjoyable. Thank you for your great comments! I'll be sure to pass on your review to Joe too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I took some guests from the USA to stay for a couple of nights and I was stunned at this beautiful nature reserve and the hotel. The natural views of this property just blew me away, with it's nature walks as well as great level service from staff and management.
It is a few minutes drive from Gansbaai, which is famous for it's shark cage diving, which is another experience you have to do. I would highly recommend this for complete relaxation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WOWCapeTownTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanIngles, General Manager at Grootbos Private Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear WOWCapeTownTours

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to hear that, being local, you were still in awe of the property and that your exeperience here was enjoyable. I hope we'll see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2013

No words or pictures can truly give justice to the kind of experience that Grootbos Private Nature Reserve will offer its guests. It is without a doubt an amazing 5 star hotel which tick all the boxes that will delight the most demanding traveller. The food is fun, exquisite and a pleasure for the finest gourmet. The architecture is audacious, contemporary and spacious and is focused on making the guests enjoying the mesmerising view of the sea and dunes that you can see from the hilltop. The interior decoration is homely, earthy, warm and include many ingenious floral arrangements that bring additional life to the place. The rooms are immensely spacious and faultless. The service is impeccable with friendly and fun staff that provide a truly personalised touch. The hotel location is perfect to see Whales (we took a scenic fight - highly recommended - and saw 22 of them in hour at the very end of the season) and dive with Great White Sharks (Gansbaai is the best place to see them). Grootbos soul is based on its conservation plan for the land and beautiful indigeneous flowers of the area (the flower Safari is amazing) but also on its many projects to help others. Michael, the owner is one of the most passionate person that ones can find in the world and his vision for giving back is infectious and transpired in every aspect of this incredible gem. So if you are looking for life changing experience with a conscience where you will be pampered in every way possible , wherever you are a couple or a family. Grootbos is the place for you. At last Grootbos is just two hours from Cape Town and the drive from there is simply phenomenal. PS: And I have not spoken about the Villa which is beyond belief ....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serge D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanIngles, General Manager at Grootbos Private Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear SergeD

It was our absolute privilege having you to stay. You've encapsulated the Grootbos experience perfectly in your words. Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballito, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We have stayed at many lodges, but this surpassed them all - the value, the attention to detail and the service were all of an exceptionally high standard. The family offering is immense, especially if you have children aged 3-8, the food was of a very high standard, and the setting and accommodation complemented it all. The outstanding feature though, was the attitude of the staff - we are not easy to please - but these guys did it and did it with a very warm and gracious style.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaunb800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanIngles, General Manager at Grootbos Private Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Shaunb800

Having to keep young children stimulated can sometimes be difficult. With a varied range of kids activities on our reserve, we hope that we took a load off your shoulders for a while. We are blessed to have such wonderful staff and we appreciate your mention of them too. I hope we are not too far from home to make a visit to Grootbos a regular event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

With true dedication to conservation principals and low carbon imprint, the staff creates a wonderful vacation experience while teaching guests about how each person may contribute something to preservation of our planet.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4749Anzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanIngles, General Manager at Grootbos Private Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear 4749Anzy

Our social uplifment programs that are run by the Grootbos Foundation and our conservation efforts form an intergral part of the Grootbos ethos and each and every staff member understands the importance of them. We are humbled to hear that you acknowledge this and appreciate your support in assisting us to make it all possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of our 2.5 week honeymoon in SA. On the whole trip every we place stayed was amazing, however I think that this was my favourite place as everything was fantastic - the hotel (we stayed in the Forest lodge), the staff, the food/wine and the choice of activities (beach horse ride, shark cage diving, marine big 5 boat safari - these all cost extra, but were totally worth it!) - they even arranged a golf session for my husband in Hermanus (40 mins away) and drove him there and back for free. The staff arranged a surprise private dinner for us in the beautifully decorated wine cellar for our first night to celebrate our honeymoon which was lovely. The sommelier (Eban) in particular stuck out for us as he was so friendly and knowledgable and took the time to get to know us. Highly recommend this place, and can't wait to go back for an anniversary trip!

Room Tip: We stayed in the room furthest from the main lodge (room 30) which has the best view of the sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmp_1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanIngles, General Manager at Grootbos Private Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear mmp_1981

What can we say? We are honoured that you have chosen us as your favourite place on your entire honeymoon! It was our pleasure having you both to stay and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back for many anniversaries in the years to come. Remember too that if you start a family one day, our Garden Lodge is geared for kids of all ages so there's no excuse not to celebrate with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
11.9 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
410 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
682 reviews
12.9 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 29 in Gansbaai
612 reviews
2.6 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#6 of 29 in Gansbaai
155 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#10 of 29 in Gansbaai
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grootbos Private Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grootbos Private Nature Reserve

Property: Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
Address: | R43 Between Stanford and Gansbaai, Grootbos Private Nature Reserve 7220, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grootbos Private Nature Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grootbos, with its two 5-star luxury lodges is spectacularly situated on the fynbos and forest clad hills overlooking the whale-watching haven of Walker Bay. Grootbos has carved a unique niche in the upmarket eco-lodge sector by specializing in the Cape region of South Africa’s world-renowned flora and marine biodiversity. This multi-award winning reserve is home to more than 740 different plant species, offers warm hospitality, excellent cuisine, fine wines and is a nature lover’s paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grootbos Private Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grootbos Private Nature Reserve Hotel Grootbos Private Nature Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing