We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You want something special - this is very special!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You want something special - this is very special!”
Reviewed 19 November 2008

We relied on a South African to plan our holiday in the UK. She gave us the holiday of a lifetime. Grootbos was a crescendo towards the end of our time in SA. From the beginning to the end we rated her choices as perfect for us and prices were contained in our price range. A lodge in Platenburg Bay - another in Oudtshoorn - another in Swellandam - another in Capetown - all perfect, some with pools to add to the luxury. However, Grootbos was like a fairy tale - we had a second honeymoon (albeit 35 years after we first married!!) Having arrived early (before we were expected) we were greeted as if we were friends of the family. Given a drink and shown from the panoramic windows, views to die for. We had a first taste of the superb food at lunch. Having eaten so well on the trip all we wanted was a snack and that was no problem. In fact nothing was a problem. Smiles go along way and where ever you looked there were smiles and the manager was brilliant in making people smile! I hope by now you are feeling happy about this amasing place because this isn't the half of it. We were asked on what activity we should like to go on. There is a phenominal social programme going on (linked to the Eden project) but based on improving the way of life for all that live locally. You are taken to the shanty town - to the Nature Reserve School where apart from how to propagate plants social skills are taught - a nature trail - a superb Whale, dolphin, seal, penguin, shark trip - a 4X4 high terrain trip - or you can stay in your lodge (ours had a clean splash pool exclusively with the room) where you have uninterrupted peace broken only by bird song and a view over the beautiful bay. Imagine the sun going down!! Up to the main lodge for a sensational dinner each night and a breakfast in the morning which after the whale trip having left the hotel at 06.45 was so welcome on our return. I honestly cannot fault this place. Maybe it is an age thing where are sights are set lower than a thrusting, pacing, thrashing blood pumping business based family. Some of the people writing negattive comments need to learn how to relax a bit and perhaps lower their expectations! If you do that you can often be surprised. We were made so welcome - the service was quite superb - the room was the best room we have ever had the priviledge to stay in - the food was beautifully presented and could if I had any negative comment reduce the quantitiy and improve the individual taste - there was quite a lot of blending which was unnecessary but thay maybe my personal taste. Nothing like single tastes washed down by exclusive wines to match! This is a must and I would agree with our Travel Agent - it is a place where she and now we will always spend a few nights if we ever visit SA again. Michael you deserve a medal! Apart from all the wonderful comments people write in your guest book and should be saying about The Grootbos Nature Reserve, it is a haven of absolute delight. Well done and thank you!

  • Liked — Individual lodge and pool
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CricketerOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    598
    61
    16
    9
    9
See reviews for
163
382
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2008

We stayed at Grootbos Forest Lodge for the last two days of a two week visit to South Africa.

Until we arrived we would not have believed that it was possible to improve on the places we had already visited - but Grootbos proved that it was!

Our secluded suite was luxurious with everything we could have asked for - including huge picture windows looking out over our private plunge-pool to the beautiful Walkers Bay.

The staff were all attentive, professional and charming and the food was of the highest standard.

We tried the whale-watching trip and were not disappointed - with many sightings not only of whales but great whites and fur seals too.

We will definitely be returning!

  • Liked — Seclusion and luxury
  • Disliked — Could only stay for two days!
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank onetripmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2008

This is a really stunning location and the cottages at the Forest lodge were modern and spectacular. When you get there you notice the air smells so good, with the ocean breezes and the smell of the fynbos. The whale watching tour is wonderful and a must do - we saw our first whale 3 minutes after starting. We ended up even seeing whales on our beach walk. The whale was rolling around in the waves next to the beach which was very cool. We also enjoyed our nature walk - we learned a lot about the plants and it was nice to get out in among the proteas.

I would have given this place an excellent rating if it weren't for the service issues we had. The dinners were good - not great - but the service was very confused with five different waiters doing different things and nobody getting it quite right. They would forget things we ordered and couldn't really answer our questions about the menu. Definitely stick with the vegetarian offerings as they grow most of their own vegetables and the quality is outstanding. So even if the cooking isn't that good the ingredients make up for it. I don't want to be too harsh but for the price and the level they aspire to they should be doing better. We stayed two nights and I think that was enough - if we had stayed much longer I would have been more annoyed by the service issues.

  • Liked — Views, the cottages
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank oscarfelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haastrecht , the Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2008

Grootbos definitely was the highlight of our 3 week holidays in SA. Great bungalow, perfect service and hospitality , great food, highly motivated staff and rangers!! This really was one of the best p[laces we have ever stayed in our live!

  • Liked — everything was perfect!
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank witenik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2008

I can highly recommend Grootbos Forest Lodge for anyone looking for a special experience. The owner and staff are among the most welcoming and friendliest we have ever met. When we arrived at bit early and our room was not ready, we were offered champagne and lunch during the short wait. We were greeted by the owner who checked on us a couple of times during our stay. Also the rest of the staff deserve high marks for hospitality. Remembering our favourite drinks, room number, preferred table, etc. They really go out of their way to make the visit something to remember. The food at breakfast, lunch and dinner is top notch. There is a great selection and the chef prepares an exciting menu. When we asked for our favourite desert (which was not on the menu), our waiter seemed actually pleased that he could do something extra for us. Only a few minutes later, the pastry chef prepared a superb desert for us.

The rooms at the Forest Lodge are very spacious and modern. The view from the bedroom is super. The view from the bathroom is the best ever. Privacy in the room and outdoor deck is fantastic.

We loved the short airplane trip that was organised to go whale watching, horse riding in the mountains and all the other activities available.

The Forest Lodge is great for adults as guests with children under 12 years old stay at the neighbouring sister property. We would love to visit again. If they add a spa, we would never want to leave.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Pascal U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2008

Just stayed at Forest Lodge with a group. Food was excellent -the staff helpful - rooms luxurious - of the best views I have ever seen over Walker Bay - went to beach for beach walk and saw over 20 whales jumping, blowing just beyond the waves. also went out to view the Great White sharks and saw a 4 meter monster next to our boat - If you need to recharge your life or relationship this place is just the right recipe - and to Michael the owner -your passion with this Eco-lodge is what makes it so special - including the social responsibility programme we were lucky to take part in - especially the tree planting ceremony - I would include this in your holiday especialy during whale season - July -November - Its 2 hours from Cape Town, just past Hermanus (Which has great restaurants and a few good wine estates such as Hamilton Russel, Southern Right and Bouchard Finlayson and Sumaridge to mention just a few)

  • Liked — Luxurious and clean and 5 star
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank VIPTravelSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2008

I had a fantastic time at Grootbos, pick the Forest lodge. Rooms are truly beautiful and the view amazing. Staff was extremely friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SarahfromFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
11.9 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
407 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
677 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 29 in Gansbaai
608 reviews
2.6 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#6 of 29 in Gansbaai
154 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#10 of 29 in Gansbaai
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grootbos Private Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grootbos Private Nature Reserve

Property: Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
Address: | R43 Between Stanford and Gansbaai, Grootbos Private Nature Reserve 7220, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grootbos Private Nature Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grootbos, with its two 5-star luxury lodges is spectacularly situated on the fynbos and forest clad hills overlooking the whale-watching haven of Walker Bay. Grootbos has carved a unique niche in the upmarket eco-lodge sector by specializing in the Cape region of South Africa’s world-renowned flora and marine biodiversity. This multi-award winning reserve is home to more than 740 different plant species, offers warm hospitality, excellent cuisine, fine wines and is a nature lover’s paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grootbos Private Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grootbos Private Nature Reserve Hotel Grootbos Private Nature Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing