We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a friendly place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse
Ranked #1 of 4 Hermon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights for my friends wedding and had a lovely stay. We were in Wild Olive House which had all the facilities you'd expect in a self catering cottage and more, DVDs, toys for the kids, books etc. plus a lovely patio and pool. The food was simply amazing, which I guess you'd expect as Louise and Lesley have published their own cookbook! All the staff were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel like part of a family. I'd love to go back and if I ever return to South Africa I definitely would.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClumsyHaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley G, Manager at Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your lovely comments and we are delighted to have had you all here for the wedding.We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in Wild Olive House and that you enjoy all the amenities available . We are so so glad to hear that you enjoyed the food and that the staff took good care of you and that you felt at home with us.

We look forward to your next visit with us and thank you again for staying!

Warmest Regard
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed for three nights at Bartholomeus Klip in November 2013. As it was a special trip we upgraded to the Orchard Suite which was located in a separate building yards from the main farmhouse but we had our own private patio overlooking the reserve. The suite was fabulous with a lounge area and bedroom with it's own facilities including a big walk-in shower, victorian-style bath and a toilet room.
A normal day was tea/coffee and snack followed by a morning Nature Drive in the private reserve. Brunch was served on return then the time was ours own till High Tea then another Nature Drive at 5pm. Dinner was served at 8pm.
All meals were taken in the farmhouse and the quality of food was delicious. The dining room was quite formal but enjoyable.
The resident Nature Guide was Daniel who, although recently new to the role (having previously worked in the Dining Room) was keen and quite knowledgeable. He made the drives interesting. The reserve wildlife includes the endangered Geometric Tortoise and Quagga (a type of Zebra) and there are disease-free Buffalo.
The thing that struck us was the family atmosphere and the friendliness of the staff.
We had a wonderful time and would recommend Bartholomeus Klip

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RomanbyRamblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley G, Manager at Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you so much for the wonderful comments and we are so glad you had a great stay and enjoyed the Suite, which is a nice big room. We are also so glad to hear you enjoyed the meals and nature drives with Daniel and that you felt welcome and at home while staying with us. We look forward to having you stay again in the near future!

Warmest Regards
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed at Bartholomeus Klip for 4 nights during the heart of the Cape winter. Despite the cold and wet weather we had an amazing time. The food, service & hospitality were spectacular, they certainly know how to go above and beyond. I only had to mention once that I was gluten intolerant and from there on out they arranged special meals for me and even baked gluten free cupcakes for me & my husband on his birthday.

The game drive was highly informative and the ranger was extremely accommodating, slowing down for numerous pictures and really taking the time to explain the region and its beauty.

The rooms are tastefully decorated and even have heated floors which, in the heart of winter, was very much appreciated!

It was a wonderful stay and is highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Suite - it has a lovely view and is incredibly spacious in comparison to the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robynvdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley G, Manager at Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your lovely review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us in the Suite.I am also so happy to hear that you enjoyed the meals with us and that you found the nature drives informative and were able to see some of the amazing highlights of the Reserve.

We look forward to having you stay again in the near future!

Regards
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed at Bartholomeus Klip for 3 nights. It is really a hidden gem in the winelands. Outstandig food and hospitality!!!
A wonderful place to relax and unstress. You can go on a gamedrive in the morning and afternoon. No predators but plenty different kind of antilopes or take a mountainbike and cycle through the reserve.
Thank you all for this wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinykoning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley G, Manager at Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your comments and feedback and very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We look forward to welcoming you again.

Warmest Regards
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

From minute one you're impressed by terrific hospitatilty in an unbelieveable setting: a lovely country house with a beautiful garden and pool surrounded by an unique combination of the mountains and a reserve with hurds of all kinds of African animals, pretty flowers and Swartland on its best. The staff is beyond lovely, the food is excellent, the wines are great and all from the region; every detail is right.
If you want to give yourself a "best treat ever" go to the Barthlomeus Klip:you may want to stay quite long.
Peter van Minderhout

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank petervanminderhout_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley G, Manager at Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your comments and I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, our staff, the local wine and food. Thank you so much for coming and we do hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip in and around South Africa.

Warmest Regards
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

It's the second time we stayed in this lovely farm/ nature reserve where we booked the suite overlooking the lovely scenery . This is a really special place with terrific hospitality, genuine friendliness and delicious food.
There's plenty to do to fill 2 or 3 days. You can walk or mountain bike in the reserve, walk round the lovely dam and watch the sun go down against the mountians or simply relax in the lovely garden, by the pool and verandah . There are drives around the resrve too but we were happy just to absorb the peace and beauty of this special place.
Everything runs like clockwork as the place is so well managed.
Thank you Lesley and all the staff for a wonderful stay

Room Tip: the suite is well worth the extra cost. you have your own private patio with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miss_Poland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley G, Manager at Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your lovely feedback and we are delighted to have had you stay with us for a second time.We are so glad to hear you enjoyed taking part in all our activities and that you enjoyed the peace and tranquility aswell. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future
Warmest Regards
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

As a local, I think that there is nothing to match this experience in the area. The service is outstanding, the food excellent, and the vibe is what you want it to be. You can just relax, or keep busy walking/hiking/kayaking or exploring the surrounding area. We prefer to relax, fully enjoying the peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley G, General Manager at Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review and positive feedback to your stay at Bartholomeus Klip. We are delighted you had a good experience with us and we hope to welcome back in the near future.
Thanks again for staying!

Regards
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermon
10.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 1 in Riebeek Kasteel
306 reviews
11.0 mi away
Grand Dedale Country House
Grand Dedale Country House
#1 of 24 in Wellington
289 reviews
5.0 mi away
Fish Eagle River Lodge
Fish Eagle River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hermon
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse

Address: | Elandsberg Farms, Hermon 7308, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Hermon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hermon
Price Range: £313 - £471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bartholomeus Klip is a charming small hotel for only 16 guests on a working wheat and sheep farm just over an hour away from Cape Town – ideally situated for exploring the famous winelands. There is a 4,000 hectare fynbos nature reserve, with a spectacular backdrop of mountains, to be explored on game drives or by mountain bike, and beautiful gardens with a unique swimming pool. The food is renowned, with lavish brunches and high teas, and a gourmet three-course dinner. The separate Wild Olive House, with its own swimming pool, can be hired on a self-catering or full-board basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bartholomeus Klip Hermon
Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse South Africa/Hermon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing