We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse
Ranked #1 of 4 Hermon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We returned for the 5th time at the end of the year for 4 nights and had another outstanding stay ! Everything was just perfect - the wonderful warm friendly and extremely helpful team made our stay so relaxing while the food was amazing and seems to get better each year . We even saw a rare and elusive Geometric Tortoise. Looking forward to returning again later this year . Thank you for making us feel so welcome .

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely but our favourite is The Orchid Suite which has a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley G, Manager at Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback and we are so glad to hear you had a good stay with us in the Suite.I will definitely give Louise and the team your feedback on the food and we are also so glad to hear that you spotted a rare Geometric Tortoise which are not so easy to spot.
We look forward to welcoming you both again in the near future!
Warmest Regards
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

Like in the past 3 years we spent several days around New year' s eve in Bartholomeus Klip Nerina room . A hidden gem , our favorite place in South Africa : great personalized service , outstanding cooking and a peaceful relaxed stay. We love the atmosphere of the old farmhouse, staff that remains the same and whose service could not be topped . Always a wonderful start for our vacation in South Africa

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Maria Elisabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley G, Manager at Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Reviewer

It is always a great compliment to have guests return to BK and we are delighted to have we you stay with us for the third year in a row! We are so happy to hear that you enjoy the farm atmosphere and that the staff took good care of you and that the food was a highlight of your stay with us- we look forward to welcoming you back later this year and to seeing in the new year with you both again!

Warmest Regards
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We could not find fault with our 2 day stay in the Orchid suite. Understated luxury, attention to detail, effortless service from all staff. The quality of food at all meals was outstanding, the flavours and combinations perfect. We felt so relaxed and welcome during our stay. We got to meet other guests while having quiet time to ourselves. The farm tour and game drives were informative and very enjoyable. Thank you to Lesley, Daniel and the ladies of the house who looked after us so well. Definitely recommend for excellent personal care and service. Thank you, we'd love to return.

Room Tip: The Orchid is perfect for private, fabulous views of the distant mountains and early morning mist. P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley G, Manager at Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Reviewer

We where delighted to receive your review and read that you enjoyed your stay with us in the Suite.We are so happy you enjoyed the drives with Daniel and the farm tour.We are always so glad to hear that the staff made you feel welcome and that you had a relaxing time with us.We look forward to having you stay again!

Warmest Regards
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights for my friends wedding and had a lovely stay. We were in Wild Olive House which had all the facilities you'd expect in a self catering cottage and more, DVDs, toys for the kids, books etc. plus a lovely patio and pool. The food was simply amazing, which I guess you'd expect as Louise and Lesley have published their own cookbook! All the staff were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel like part of a family. I'd love to go back and if I ever return to South Africa I definitely would.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClumsyHaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley G, Manager at Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your lovely comments and we are delighted to have had you all here for the wedding.We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in Wild Olive House and that you enjoy all the amenities available . We are so so glad to hear that you enjoyed the food and that the staff took good care of you and that you felt at home with us.

We look forward to your next visit with us and thank you again for staying!

Warmest Regard
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed for three nights at Bartholomeus Klip in November 2013. As it was a special trip we upgraded to the Orchard Suite which was located in a separate building yards from the main farmhouse but we had our own private patio overlooking the reserve. The suite was fabulous with a lounge area and bedroom with it's own facilities including a big walk-in shower, victorian-style bath and a toilet room.
A normal day was tea/coffee and snack followed by a morning Nature Drive in the private reserve. Brunch was served on return then the time was ours own till High Tea then another Nature Drive at 5pm. Dinner was served at 8pm.
All meals were taken in the farmhouse and the quality of food was delicious. The dining room was quite formal but enjoyable.
The resident Nature Guide was Daniel who, although recently new to the role (having previously worked in the Dining Room) was keen and quite knowledgeable. He made the drives interesting. The reserve wildlife includes the endangered Geometric Tortoise and Quagga (a type of Zebra) and there are disease-free Buffalo.
The thing that struck us was the family atmosphere and the friendliness of the staff.
We had a wonderful time and would recommend Bartholomeus Klip

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RomanbyRamblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley G, Manager at Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you so much for the wonderful comments and we are so glad you had a great stay and enjoyed the Suite, which is a nice big room. We are also so glad to hear you enjoyed the meals and nature drives with Daniel and that you felt welcome and at home while staying with us. We look forward to having you stay again in the near future!

Warmest Regards
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed at Bartholomeus Klip for 4 nights during the heart of the Cape winter. Despite the cold and wet weather we had an amazing time. The food, service & hospitality were spectacular, they certainly know how to go above and beyond. I only had to mention once that I was gluten intolerant and from there on out they arranged special meals for me and even baked gluten free cupcakes for me & my husband on his birthday.

The game drive was highly informative and the ranger was extremely accommodating, slowing down for numerous pictures and really taking the time to explain the region and its beauty.

The rooms are tastefully decorated and even have heated floors which, in the heart of winter, was very much appreciated!

It was a wonderful stay and is highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Suite - it has a lovely view and is incredibly spacious in comparison to the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robynvdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley G, Manager at Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your lovely review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us in the Suite.I am also so happy to hear that you enjoyed the meals with us and that you found the nature drives informative and were able to see some of the amazing highlights of the Reserve.

We look forward to having you stay again in the near future!

Regards
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed at Bartholomeus Klip for 3 nights. It is really a hidden gem in the winelands. Outstandig food and hospitality!!!
A wonderful place to relax and unstress. You can go on a gamedrive in the morning and afternoon. No predators but plenty different kind of antilopes or take a mountainbike and cycle through the reserve.
Thank you all for this wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinykoning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley G, Manager at Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your comments and feedback and very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We look forward to welcoming you again.

Warmest Regards
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermon
10.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 1 in Riebeek Kasteel
307 reviews
11.0 mi away
Grand Dedale Country House
Grand Dedale Country House
#1 of 24 in Wellington
293 reviews
5.0 mi away
Fish Eagle River Lodge
Fish Eagle River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hermon
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse

Address: | Elandsberg Farms, Hermon 7308, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Hermon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hermon
Price Range: £312 - £468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bartholomeus Klip is a charming small hotel for only 16 guests on a working wheat and sheep farm just over an hour away from Cape Town – ideally situated for exploring the famous winelands. There is a 4,000 hectare fynbos nature reserve, with a spectacular backdrop of mountains, to be explored on game drives or by mountain bike, and beautiful gardens with a unique swimming pool. The food is renowned, with lavish brunches and high teas, and a gourmet three-course dinner. The separate Wild Olive House, with its own swimming pool, can be hired on a self-catering or full-board basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bartholomeus Klip Hermon
Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse South Africa/Hermon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing