We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time at Bartholomeus Klip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse
Ranked #1 of 4 Hermon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Time at Bartholomeus Klip”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

A fabulous off the beaten track gem - amazing food and plenty to do.
A highlight was seeing bat eared foxes on our nature drive in the morning. 4 course dinner and super breakfasts are what make this place great.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley G, Manager at Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your lovely comments and we are happy you had a good stay with us. We are ecstatic that you had a sighting of the bat eared foxes which are quite rare to see on the drives and that you enjoyed all the meals with us during your stay!

We look forward to having you stay again in the near future

Warmest Regards
Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    16
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
141
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

I love this luxury farmhouse! Big Victorian stoep or relax under the old Oak trees for your first G&T. Then cycle through the reserve to get a close up look at the Cape quaggas. Best is the delicious dinners in the conservatory. Highly recommended for a weekend away with your loved one!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nix N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley G, Manager at Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us especially the cycling in our Reserve to see the Quagga and all the meals.We look forward to having you stay again!

Warmest Regards
Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My husband and i was there on our honeymoon. Beautiful scenery and interior with friendly staff with fun activities such as fishing, kayak, mountain bikes and game drive. The food is the main attraction and will not disappoint!! Highly recommended for foodies. However, even though it was clear that we will be on our honeymoon when we booked months ago, we were put in a small room with two single beds that was pushed together and covered in a sheet. The bedding was also insufficient and of very low quality. Good for a family getaway, great for food lovers - but not recommended for couples looking for romance or privacy or someone who hates spiders!

Room Tip: If you are a large group or family, request the villa (think its Olive Rock). Its more modern, seclu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBearMeyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley G, Manager at Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us in April. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the scenery and activities we offered as well as the food during your stay. We are very sorry to hear however that you didn't enjoy the room you were booked into and that the bedding didn't match the standards you were expecting from us. Please be assured that we are looking into the matter. We apologies sincerely for this and please know that if our Suite had been available we would have definitely upgraded you as it was your honeymoon trip.

We hope to welcome you back to our establishment in the near future.

Warmest Regards
Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

BK is a unique place with a tranquil atmosphere. It is very popular with repeat customers, some of whom have been coming for over a decade. There are only a handful of rooms so one has to book many months in advance during the high season.
Its olde world charm will appeal particularly to older visitors and the emphasis is on good food and personal service.
My one concern was the morning and evening nature drives. Our guide, Daniel, was very friendly and obliging but not naturally suited to explaining the wide profusion of flagrant and fauna on the estate. We learned so much from chatting to Lesley, the manager of BK who used to take the nature drives, that we realised what we were missing.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Photopedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley G, Manager at Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the farm atmosphere and setting of Bartholomeus Klip.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the drives and Daniel.He has recently made the transition from front of house to guide after completing various courses.It is only natural that my knowledge would be more in depth than his- having called this home for over 14 years and starting off as ranger and then assisting with the many projects on the farm and Reserve.We are confident that with time and mentoring from myself and Bernard - our Reserve Manager that he will improve and develop a better re pore with guests and be able to communicate his knowledge with more confidence and answers the various questions asked on the drives.

We hope that this will not deter you from staying with us again and hope to welcome to back in the near future

Warmest Regards
Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London England
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

I almost don't want to write this review as we don't want too many people to find this wonderful place.
As you arrive across quite open farming land, you are not sure if this is going to be what you expected, but it certainly is and more! The old house is stunning and decorated in sympathetic style and the gardens and large pool are great .
The combination of the most outstanding food, wonderful staff and friendly guests make a winning combination. Most of the guests we met have been coming back for many years and you can see why.
The game drives were ok, but we really enjoyed getting out on the bikes as the exercise was needed with all that great food and we saw much more of the wild life. The dam is a great place for a sun downer, spot of fishing or kayaking.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank salbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley G, Manager at Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Reviewer

We are always delighted to get this feedback from first time guests and we are delighted you enjoyed the experience with us and that the staff took care of you during your stay.We are also glad you enjoyed the cycling in the Reserve- it is a wonderful way to explore and see the animals up close.

Having also arrived here in February for my job interview I was also skeptical when driving the dusty farm road to the farmhouse but like you, was amazed at the small oasis that awaits you at the end of road. In winter you get a totally different perspective as there is flowing fields of wheat and canola and of course the beautiful flowers that adorns the landscape during these months.

We look forward to welcoming you again

Warmest Regards
Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We returned for the 5th time at the end of the year for 4 nights and had another outstanding stay ! Everything was just perfect - the wonderful warm friendly and extremely helpful team made our stay so relaxing while the food was amazing and seems to get better each year . We even saw a rare and elusive Geometric Tortoise. Looking forward to returning again later this year . Thank you for making us feel so welcome .

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely but our favourite is The Orchid Suite which has a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley G, Manager at Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback and we are so glad to hear you had a good stay with us in the Suite.I will definitely give Louise and the team your feedback on the food and we are also so glad to hear that you spotted a rare Geometric Tortoise which are not so easy to spot.
We look forward to welcoming you both again in the near future!
Warmest Regards
Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulm, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Like in the past 3 years we spent several days around New year' s eve in Bartholomeus Klip Nerina room . A hidden gem , our favorite place in South Africa : great personalized service , outstanding cooking and a peaceful relaxed stay. We love the atmosphere of the old farmhouse, staff that remains the same and whose service could not be topped . Always a wonderful start for our vacation in South Africa

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maria Elisabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley G, Manager at Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Reviewer

It is always a great compliment to have guests return to BK and we are delighted to have we you stay with us for the third year in a row! We are so happy to hear that you enjoy the farm atmosphere and that the staff took good care of you and that the food was a highlight of your stay with us- we look forward to welcoming you back later this year and to seeing in the new year with you both again!

Warmest Regards
Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermon
10.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 1 in Riebeek Kasteel
298 reviews
18.0 mi away
De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse
11.0 mi away
Grand Dedale Country House
Grand Dedale Country House
#1 of 23 in Wellington
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
River Edge Accommodation
River Edge Accommodation
#1 of 1 in Breede River
231 reviews
11.6 mi away
Seven Oaks Vineyard Cottages
Seven Oaks Vineyard Cottages
#1 of 1 in Breede River
126 reviews
14.2 mi away
Tulbagh Hotel
Tulbagh Hotel
#1 of 18 in Tulbagh
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse

Property: Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse
Address: | Elandsberg Farms, Hermon 7308, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Hermon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hermon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bartholomeus Klip is a charming small hotel for only 16 guests on a working wheat and sheep farm just over an hour away from Cape Town – ideally situated for exploring the famous winelands. There is a 4,000 hectare fynbos nature reserve, with a spectacular backdrop of mountains, to be explored on game drives or by mountain bike, and beautiful gardens with a unique swimming pool. The food is renowned, with lavish brunches and high teas, and a gourmet three-course dinner. The separate Wild Olive House, with its own swimming pool, can be hired on a self-catering or full-board basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bartholomeus Klip Hermon
Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse South Africa/Hermon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing