We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely week-end at Bartholomeus Klip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse
Ranked #1 of 4 Hermon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This was our 4th stay at BK. A lovely place to unwind, appreciate nature and feel special.. We were looked after from the moment we arrived. From High Tea to informative games drives, a delicious 4 course dinner, lovely breakfast, littles treats for us to enjoy and most importantly kind, enthusiastic staff. We can only recommend Bartholomeus Klip.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 14159Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley G, Manager at Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your lovely feedback and we were delighted to have you stay again. We are so glad that you enjoyed the weekend with and us and that you liked the food and nature drives too.It is also always lovely for us to hear that our staff take care of our guests during their stay and I will definitely pass this onto them.

We look forward to your 5th visit!

Warmest Regards
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

I spent the weekend at Bartholomeus Klip and it was one of the most magical experiences ever. This hotel is an absolute gem. We arrived and the staff greeted us at the entrance whisking our bags away to the Orchid Suite where we were staying. The staff were some of the best I have ever come across. The attention to detail was spectacular. You are treated immediately to high tea followed by a game drive in the beautiful reserve where we saw a wonderful sunset. On arrival back at your room, your room has been turned down and treats laid out for you. We walked down to the lake and took in the magnificent moon rising. The 4 course dinner that evening was intimate and was one of the best meals I have ever had. The next morning we awoke to a beautiful day and went out exploring on the hotel bikes. Back at the hotel. the brunch spread was incredible. I have had the privilege to travel a lot outside as well as in South Africa and I can truly say, this is a little piece of heaven. I would go back in a heart beat and cannot thank the team there enough for the most magical stay ever.

Room Tip: The Orchid Suite is more expensive but worth ever cent. It was removed from the main house and just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stacey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley G, Manager at Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your wonderful review and we are delighted you had a good stay with us and enjoyed the food and facilities at our farmhouse. It is always a compliment to hear that the staff do a great job of making you feel welcome and we pride ourselves on the fact that we call this home and are able to share it with everyone.

We so look forward to having you stay again in the near future!

Warmest Regards
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Fabulous setting and wonderful service. I was a little disappointed with the food as I heard such amazing things. Most vegetarian dishes were made with meat stock and even the meat dishes were not that special. The breakfast preserves were outstanding. Lots to do on farm and the game drive was lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Margi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley G, Manager at Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your feedback and we are happy to hear you had a good stay and enjoyed the setting and service.I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed in the food as you had heard so much about it. Louise our head chef has a very high standard in our kitchen and always endeavors to cater to the highest levels, and too cater to the specific needs of our clients. I'm sorry that we didn't deliver on this and we will make sure that this is addressed by the kitchen team.

Thank you again for staying and we hope to welcome you again in the future

Warmest Regards
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The service and friendliness of the staff was oustanding - Bartholomeus Klip is a rare gem set back in time underneath the beautiful Elansberg mountains - you are so well looked after and papered. We will most definately return again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley G, Manager at Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thanks so much for your superb review! We are so glad you felt pampered and that the staff took good care of you during your stay.We are so glad to hear that you will stay again and look forward to welcoming you both back.

Warmest Regards
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Staying at BK in the self-catering Wild Olive Cottage is a wonderful country retreat, and evokes memories of all our favourite childhood things such as milk in glass bottles, with cream on the top and cookie jars with peanut butter biscuits. Bicycles are parked outside the cottage, and cycling on gravel tracks through the nature reserve and well maintained farm is fantastic. Although the cottage is self-catering, having a few meals in the conservatory is highly recommended since the food is excellent (adults only), and the conservatory a treat, especially in spring when weavers build their nests in the surrounding trees. The staff will however cook and serve meals in the cottage for families with younger children on request. The staff provide excellent service which is efficient, yet friendly and sincere.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley G, Manager at Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Reviewer

We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay in Wild Olive House and that it reminded you of your child hood days!It is a great house for family and friends to enjoy and we are so glad that you joined us for meals in the conservatory .We are always delighted to hear that the staff were friendly and that they delivered good service.

We look forward to welcoming you back

Warmest Regards
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Bartholomeus Klip is the perfect place to unwind, with its marvellous old farmhouse, beautiful surrounds (a lovely mix of farmland and fynbos, and different from the winelands, dams etc), and absolutely fantastic food. It is also all very relaxed. The room was extremely comfortable but nothing special. There are lovely touches such as sherry and port in the rooms and a good selection of wellington boots to use - useful in the winter. While we would undoubtedly return - hopefully to the Wild Olive House which welcomes children and possibly in another season - there were a few small things that made it good but not great.

One is shown the set dinner menu with suggested wine pairings during the fabulous high tea. We both said the menu sounded great and indicated that my husband would have the wine pairing but that I wouldn't. When the first course arrived the wine was duly poured and the waitress then asked if she should leave the bottle with us or put it in the fridge. My husband reminded her that he was just having the one glass and she said that they only sold that wine by the bottle. We found this extraordinary. My husband wanted to have a glass of the suggested red with his main and thought best to clarify only to find the same story: that wine only available by the bottle. Were we really expected to drink two bottles of wine over dinner and in this case, just one person? Perhaps guests put the remainder of the bottle in the fridge for their next dinner but is the same wine likely to be suggested as the next pairing?

During dessert (wonderful) one is asked if one would like a hot water bottle or electric blanket in bed, which is a lovely thought and the idea of climbing into a warm bed was very appealing. Unfortunately the water bottle was not checked and was leaking. I climbed into bed to find a hot wet puddle surrounding the bottle! The staff were quick to change the bedlinen but it was an unwanted interruption.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoscowLala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley G, Manager at Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for staying and we are always glad to get good feedback although we do have a few points we definitely need to improve on. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the setting and the food and delighted you would like to return to stay at Wild Olive House.

We do apologies however for the hot water bottle incident that happened during your stay and will ensure the housekeeping staff check these properly before placing then into the beds.With regards to the recommended wines with dinner unfortunately not all our wines are available by the glass so the host and waitresses should have informed you of this before dinner. But taking your comments to heart we will now include "per glass" and or "per bottle" on the menu so that guests know what is available when we recommend wines with the menu.

Thank you again for staying and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future

Warmest Regards
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed at Bartholomeus Klip over a cold and rainy weekend. When it stopped raining we went for walks and cycled otherwise there are loads of magazines and books to read. We sat in front of the fire in the lounge which was really cozy and lovely. The afternoon high tea is fantastic - especially on a cold afternoon. We enjoyed pre-dinner drinks in the lounge with the other guests and then a delicious dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CampsBayApartments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley G, Manager at Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review and we are delighted you had a good stay with us although the weather wasn't great. It is always lovely to hear from our guests that the food was a highlight for you and that you managed to enjoy a walk and cycle on the property during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Warmest Regards
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermon
10.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 1 in Riebeek Kasteel
315 reviews
11 mi away
Grand Dedale Country House
Grand Dedale Country House
#1 of 25 in Wellington
298 reviews
5 mi away
Fish Eagle River Lodge
Fish Eagle River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hermon
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse

Address: | Elandsberg Farms, Hermon 7308, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Hermon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hermon
Price Range: £380 - £513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bartholomeus Klip is a charming small hotel for only 16 guests on a working wheat and sheep farm just over an hour away from Cape Town – ideally situated for exploring the famous winelands. There is a 4,000 hectare fynbos nature reserve, with a spectacular backdrop of mountains, to be explored on game drives or by mountain bike, and beautiful gardens with a unique swimming pool. The food is renowned, with lavish brunches and high teas, and a gourmet three-course dinner. The separate Wild Olive House, with its own swimming pool, can be hired on a self-catering or full-board basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bartholomeus Klip Hermon
Bartholomeus Klip Farmhouse South Africa/Hermon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing