We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly historic and peacefull”
Review of Inn at Halona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn at Halona
Ranked #1 of 1 Zuni B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Duncan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Friendly historic and peacefull”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

In the heart of the Zuni Pueblo you are treated to great food and very friendly welcome and visit. Old house well updated run by a Dutch family that has been at the Zuni Pueblo for over 100 years. And you can tell that the Zuni embrace them!!

Room Tip: if need to avoid the stairs just indicate that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nimandersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger T, Owner at Inn at Halona, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank thou so much for visiting us AGAIN, on the occasion of this nice but also informative review.
Yes indeed, in the heart of Zuni Pueblo, a situation travelers will not encounter often (if ever) in regard to lodging near or (in our case)within a Native community.
We have actually two buildings involving segments of various ages (starting ca. 1904), and generations of the Dutch family mentioned in the review have indeed succeeded one another to keep our businesses improving and still going.

And it all also comes with Guests being able to meet community members, visit with them (and even their families!) and often be shown about various community activities (arts and crafts making being one of them).
Low impact tourism is what we practice here, with few amenities and opportunities for divertissement, but high potential for learning about everyday life in a Native community.

Well, yes "the Zuni [people] embrace them"…Seems that way, as we have strived to harmoniously co-exist with the rest of the community, respect Zuni's ways, not interfere with those elements of lifestyle that are Zuni proper, and yet feel very much a part of the village's destiny.

- Roger T / Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    35
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
52
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southwest
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed here very last minute as we didnt want to drive anymore. Thank goodness they had vacancy because Halona is so quaint and welcoming. We really enjoyed ourselves and it was such a treat to stay in a gorgeous room. We had the large downstairs room with a fireplace, sitting area and large bathroom. NO complaints at all, I brought my own pillows:-) The breakfast was amazing! I ordered too much but ate it all up, the blue corn pancakes are a must!!! I'd def stay here again no questions asked. The Zuni area is beautiful, unfortunately we couldnt stay longer, we visited the visitor center and did a quick drive tour of the area (they gave us a map).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvtoCancun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger T, Owner at Inn at Halona, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to jot down this informative review. A big part of the satisfaction we get here from reading such material, is in that it informs other travelers of what to expect when coming to Zuni (often also, what NOT to expect!) and the Inn at Halona, and of how to make the best out of a likely short passage through our community. All that BEFORE such new visitors ever get here.
We try to reach travelers en route to Zuni any way we can (for example, via additional information about our amenities emailed to them upon request: after all, we are a 40 x 2 miles detour from the Interstate 40 that bisects the State of New Mexico! And we do count on the honest, pointedly informative reviews posted on this wonderful site: Trip Advisor reviewers are all very articulate, discriminating and talented in placing emphasis upon the most significant aspects of the locales and amenities they review!

It is indeed fortunate that you were lucky to get a "last minute" reservation, since we seems to be a bit busier this year: people are "hitting the road" (perhaps taking more trips within the US?), eager to have a great time away from the problems of the world & undertake what remains sush an iconic American pastime: the "road trip".

- Roger T / Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
620 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

A top overall rating because: (1) the wonderful hospitality of the owner and (2) what may be the best breakfast offered by a B & B---the blue pancakes are incredibly good. We were in room 22, a small room filled with interesting memorabilia (both Zuni and Southwestern in nature) and a very small bathroom---but everything was provided to meet our needs and comfort. A fun place to stay.

Room Tip: You order breakfast from a menu the night before---be certain to order the blue pancakes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ballhawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger T, Owner at Inn at Halona, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Guests,

"Cozy and venerable"

"VENERABLE
Adjective
respected, venerated, revered, honored, esteemed, hallowed, august, distinguished, eminent, great, grand."

A great honor to be bestowed such a honorific attribute, even though we'll cautiously bask in just a few of the above extended meanings… Got to remain humble!
Those 3 words in your opening commentary: much better, more concise than what I can do in describing things, but so meaningful.
Thank you, thank you!

And frankly, the more i think about it, the more i (impartially of course!) do agree that our breakfast is quite simple but good. And cooked right near the serving area to boot!

Yes, lots of memorabilia about Zuni, and lots more coming: it is hard to keep from purchasing more arts and crafts items here (and NOT just katchinas!) Christmas time consists of just waiting for local craftspeople to come by with their creations… And fit them into lists of gifts to make.

- Roger T / Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Spent a night with Roger and his staff at the Inn. Visit was a good as reservation process before our trip back out to New Mexico. We had an upstairs room that normally has twin beds but staff accomodated us by putting beds together. It(they) were very comfortable and room was cozy. Breakfast was yummy. Forgot Iphone charger in room and Roger is sending it back to me. The Inn is worth a visit for anyone who appreciates this type of traveling arrangement. All Tribes Trading Post down the main road back to Gallup was best shopping experience for Indian art and jewelry we expereinced on this trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eeeaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger T, Owner at Inn at Halona, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Guests,

In a way, it is quite memorable when Guests forget some belongings at the Inn; it does help us remember some finer details about their visits here… And, yes, we do rush in getting forgotten items back their owners. In this case, TWO iPhone charger cables were left behind at the Inn on the same day, in different rooms; yours, fitted to a newer type of iDevice, and with a new, Apple end connector, was mailed back to the wrong party. Right type of cable on its way to you!

Your recommendation that "the Inn is worth a visit for anyone who appreciates this type of traveling arrangement" is most welcome and accurate; in fact, we strive to provide travelers interested in coming though Zuni and the Inn at Halona, with precise information as to what our amenities look like and what the community has to offer (and does not offer, especially in the way of tourist specific services).
To future travelers to Zuni and the Inn at Halona: please email us such requests for additional information so as to be better "prepared" for your stay at the Inn at Halona and your visit to Zuni, and especially its people!

Indeed, staying at Bed and Breakfast Inns is always a special experience, never a casual event; we pride ourselves in attracting very interesting travelers (i.e. very specially motivated ones who make the 40 x 2 miles detour off the Interstate 40 often just out of curiosity!), full of life and stories, and willing to kindly share them with fellow travelers and listen to others' tales and travel recommendations.
And Zuni & the Inn at Halona seem to be ideal grounds for such neutral, low stress encounters between travelers of all stripes.

- Roger T / Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
98 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

I had the basement unit that had a low ceiling. Not recommended for those over 6 feet. It shower was great and the room was a nice size for the three of us. Breakfast was delicious. I did kill a bug in the bathroom but it wasn't the only one on my trip (only one here thought). The owner and staff are great.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Skap234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger T, Owner at Inn at Halona, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Guests,

We appreciate your commentary about Room 5 and its low celling; we do sometime have the opportunity to inquire about the height of travelers making reservations by phone and interested in Room 5 - which of course is an odd question to ask of people booking lodging.
By the way, for further travelers' information, BOTH Rooms 4 and 5 are equally height challenging.

In regard to the bug found in Room 5's shower, I am trusting that it was nothing gross, BUT instead and possibly a stray example of the little elm leaf beetles which emerge from God knows where at this time of the year and invade our chinese/siberian elms (some individuals occasionally remain or wander off somewhere else!) We apply great efforts in vigorously vacuuming all winter long (during hibernation time) inside and around our buildings to catch said insects while they are asleep, wherever they may then reside. We are actually planning a massive eradication assault soon (as we do every other year) via high pressure spraying of a reputed organic compound all over the elms. The trees are the most affected by this insect, rather then occupants of the Inn, of course.

- Roger T - Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The Inn at Halona is a wonderful place to stay in the heart of Zuni for those who wish to experience life in Zuni. Everyone is friendly and very helpful. I have been to Zuni several times before but have never actually stayed in Zuni and was quite delighted with my stay at the Inn at Halona. The Inn at Halona is small and intimate and decorated in the local culture with many educational books on the history and culture of Zuni and the Southwest. Each room is well furnished with amenities of home and does make you feel like you are just staying at a friend's house. A wonderful breakfast is cooked just for you that you are able to select from many choices and set the time for breakfast.
This is on my recommend list for anyone visiting the Southwest to wanting to truly see and experience it - it's a hidden gem.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger T, Owner at Inn at Halona, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guests,

How is it possible to write a better, more honestly informative, more concise review than this one?

"Everyone is friendly and very helpful": this is a good opportunity for me to affirm again that the beauty of visiting Zuni, amongst all the other Native communities in our region, is in the fact that we have very minimal tourism infrastructure (albeit a nice Visitor Center, offering tours of some of the area's points of interest - CALL them at 505 782 7238 - a great Museum, located near the Inn at Halona, and well stocked arts and crafts shops in the village) but it all comes with great opportunities to casually meet local people, who are always ready to strike up conversations with the small numbers of visitors strolling by. They are under NO pressure from the non existence of large numbers of visitors as in affecting other Native Pueblo villages nearby whose success in promoting tourism necessarily and inevitably lead to "crowd control" and directed, closely monitored visiting. We recommend visiting Zuni and Acoma Pueblos to experience the differences in approach to cultural tourism on Tribal lands.

A "hidden gem"… Yes indeed, but, gem or not, we do need to install better signage on the state highway bisecting Zuni.

- Roger T / Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawano, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Very nice, we enjoyed our stay very much. The blue corn pancakes and Zuni Tea were great. The staff were so helpful when needed any assistance. While in Zuni we visited the A:shiwi A:wan Museum and Heritage Center, which was just a short walk away. Thank you for making our stay special.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger T, Owner at Inn at Halona, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for the concise review.
And, yes the Zuni Tea is "back" - it seems that the product disappeared for awhile, and we have it again. That effort is the product of a partnership between local tribal members and other resources and people able to package the product well and distribute it broadly.

- Roger T - Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Inn at Halona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Halona

Property: Inn at Halona
Address: 23b Pia Mesa Road, Zuni, NM 87327
Region: United States > New Mexico > Zuni
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Zuni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Halona 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Inn at Halona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing