We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of glam-ping”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
andBeyond Savute Under Canvas
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“The best of glam-ping”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This was one of the most memorable holidays I have ever had - even with losing our luggage - the experience with the &beyond team at Savute under canvas was spectacular. The camps were by no means basic - and the tents with en-suites complete with bucket showers were comfortable and a new experience. Food was amazing - the chef somehow managed to bake fabulous cakes in a tin oven on an open fire! The guide was superb as well, and we were able to see loads on each safari run we did. Will go back again for sure. Might have to starve myself beforehand next time though - they are definitely feeders!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PurplewallLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    6
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Novato, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

During our recent visit to Botswana, we stayed at four of the &Beyond camps and although we loved all of them, Savute Under Canvas was our favorite! All of the staff members were very attentive and the meals they prepared for us were incredible. Our guide, Samuel, loves his job and it shows! We have never had a more incredible wildlife experience and were fortunate enough to see 6 different leopards and the resident super pride of lions! If you need air conditioning, running water and walls between you and Mother Nature then Savute Under canvas is not for you. If you are looking for a once in a lifetime African experience that you will never forget then you need to visit this magical place!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cal_ruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

This part of the Chobe National Park looks as though an atom bomb has hit. We were there in early spring and all the vegetation was eaten and destroyed by elephants. The landscape was mostly sticks sticking out of grey dust. It was really quite shocking. As this camp moves every several days perhaps it was just the current location, but I don't know. The weather was unbearably hot-103! There were NO solar fans or anyway to cool down and as the morning game drive ended at 10:00 AM and the afternoon game drive began at 4:00 PM we were forced to either deal with the flies at the outdoor tables or lay in your tent for 6 hours during that intense heat. Not fun at all.
In the evening, the temperature cooled down amazingly and we were at least able to sleep quite comfortably- and even needed an extra blanket. In the early morning you were treated to hot coffee or tea and biscuits brought right into the tent, which were quite generous in size and accommodations. There was a flushing toilet, and a bucket shower which was more like a rain shower.
Because the tents move within the National Park, the game viewing is limited to the roads. You cannot leave the roads to see the animals. This turned out to be rather limiting. You could see that there were large herds of animals, but they were WAY in the distance and there was no way to get to them.
In general. I would say, skip this camp. There are other & Beyond locations right on the water in the Delta that would have been MUCH nicer to spend 2 days of our 12 days on safari.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Savute in late July 2013 Weather was perfect, tent was very comfortable and clean, facilities were great, food was good and plentiful, and staff were efficient, and personable. We loved the cup of coffee at our 5.30am start, the" bush babies " to take on our early morning game drive to keep our hands warm,and our guide, Morgan, who was very knowledgeable about the local area and its wildlife. This led us to a viewing of a pride of 7 lions on our first game drive, who were eating a hippo carcass, closely followed by a leopard and her two juvenile cubs who were fighting over the remains of a spring hare which the young female had caught.! Wow...then lots of other great viewings followed. Thanks to Sam and his team for a great camp experience! It really was "glamorous camping"

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Please please please ignore the negative reviews from several years ago! It almost put us off this camp, but we are so happy we decided to give it a try. We came to this camp after visiting two other more luxurious &beyond camps (more like chalet's to be honest!) and we were not disappointed.

My husband and I travelled here in May and found everything to be wonderful. Bear in mind, this is camping in the wilderness, albeit glamorous camping: you have a shower (heated once per day) and a toilet...and most importantly a lovely double bed! Please note, there is no running water, but you have as much bottled water as you want and jugs of water are provided in your room to wash your hands etc. and the shower bucket is filled every evening with warm water for a nice hot shower.

The food was fantastic- freshly baked bread, rolls, muffins, etc. everyday, fresh fruit, 3 course dinners. The chef gave us a tour of the kitchen and I am thoroughly impressed with the quality and standard of food that can be cooked on a camp fire!

The camp is small and exclusive, you will share meal times with your fellow travellers which is fun, and recount the days adventures around the camp fire with drinks flowing courtesy of the darling "Bee" who couldn't do enough for us!

The game viewing at Savute was the best, you name it, we saw it (except Rhino), including the near extinct wild dogs and a leopard and her 2 cubs...just spectacular!

&Beyond is definitely the best you can get! The food is great and the guides are wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gingernutla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Our three night stay at Savute Under Canvas exceeded our expectations. The staff, led by Reuben, were helpful and attentive, and fun to be with in the evenings around the fire. Sam gave us lessons on the stars (incredibly bright in the cloudless sky), and Morgan, our guide, was knowledgeable, empathetic, and made every game drive special. Meals were simple but more than adequate. The food was good, and we were well looked after by our butler. Some of the staff and all the guests ate at one table, which we enjoyed.
Our tent, with flush toilet and bucket shower, was quite spacious and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable, with hot water bottles each night. However, our tent was well used and showing signs of age (a zip on the main entrance was very hard to close). There were other indications, (such as outlets for charging camera batteries in our vehicle that were held together with rubber bands) that &Beyond needs to pay more attention to regular maintenance, or replacement, of equipment going forward.
Game drives, our reason for being there, were excellent. Unlike many operators, &Beyond leaves the centre seat in each row unoccupied in their vehicles, and this improves both viewing and comfort. They gave us rugs and hot water bottles to help us cope with 6 degree temperatures in the early morning, and we had morning breaks with coffee, tea and muffins. Game and birds were plentiful, and Morgan made sure we had excellent viewing experiences, covering a lot of ground, and showing us a variety of different vegetation and landscapes.
Savute Under Canvas is recommended, but check the latest reviews to make sure their tents and other equipment are being maintained or replaced as required.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hermes99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We came to Savute after visiting &Beyond sites in Sandibe and Naxbega. You can ignore the negative reviews from several years ago: as of March, 2013, everything is in excellent order (no, there is still no running water: you are camping! but you have hot water to wash with every morning, fantastic hot showers in the evening and a flush toilet- this is not hardship camping). The food was fantastic- freshly baked bread, rolls, muffins, etc. everyday, fresh fruit, 3 course dinners. The camp site (which varies, depending on what space they are assigned by the park service) was very pleasant with lots of shade trees. Sitting at dinner we could hear hippos in the river to our left and lions calling to our right. Magic.

One of the great things about Savute was the open plains, with huge herds of zebra, elephants, cape buffalo, wildebeast, and plenty of giraffe. We also saw ostriches ;-) This is what our kids were expecting to see when we said that we were going to Botswana! We watched a pride of lions (unsuccessfully) stalk a zebra, but our guide was also fantastic about showing us things such as arrow grass, which bore down into the soil when they are wet, or a grass that if you rub in a little water makes a sudsy soap.

&Beyond is definitely expensive- but we felt that we got value for money at all of the sites we visited. They are one of the most responsible safari operations going- in terms of the environment as well as the communities in which they. They are very well organized, and you can always contact them if you need anything. The food is great. And the guides are exceptionally knowledgable.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate3717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chobe National Park hotels
13.5 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#1 of 21 in Chobe National Park
261 reviews
60.5 mi away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#2 of 21 in Chobe National Park
452 reviews
12.3 mi away
Camp Savuti
Camp Savuti
#11 of 21 in Chobe National Park
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
89.8 mi away
Tilodi Safari Lodge
Tilodi Safari Lodge
#13 of 21 in Chobe National Park
43 reviews
87.0 mi away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#6 of 21 in Chobe National Park
278 reviews
88.8 mi away
Liya Guest Lodge
Liya Guest Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chobe National Park
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Savute Under Canvas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Savute Under Canvas

Property: andBeyond Savute Under Canvas
Address: Savute Region, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Chobe National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — andBeyond Savute Under Canvas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable mobile safari tents with ensuite bathrooms (with flush toilet and steaming hot bucket shower) are positioned at secluded sites in Savute, a remote and wild corner of Chobe National Park. Secluded campsites provide a base for nights under canvas, filled with adventure and discovery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your andBeyond Savute Under Canvas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savute Under Canvas Hotel Chobe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing