We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay at the Liya Guest Lodge”
Review of Liya Guest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Liya Guest Lodge
Reviewed 14 August 2008

The Liya Guest Lodge was dirty and most of the staff was not very helpful. Our room had accumulated so much dust that I had an allergic reaction and had to clean it myself. (At my request, the staff changed the sheets the next day, which was at least nice of them and definitely helped). However, no apologies for the mountain of dead bugs in the corner. We also asked for help booking a safari and one of the staff members seriously said that we shouldn't take our safari on a Saturday because the animals know its the weekend and won't be out. Honestly. He was not trying to be funny - rather, I think he got a kickback from a friend if we booked on a day other than Saturday.

If you have to stay in this Lodge because nothing else is available, stay in Room 1 - b/c at least it was thoroughly cleaned by me in August 2008. However, if you can, I would instead recommend the Waterlilly (which was also about ~400 pula or US$70 per night). If you have a group of 4, the Chobe Safari Lodge (so nice!) has family rooms for around 800 pula. The dinner at CSL is the best!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GreenBayPackersRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 11 of 11 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
62
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elias F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank raumen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chobe National Park
1.9 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
4 mi away
Kwalape Safari Lodge
Kwalape Safari Lodge
#21 of 21 in Chobe National Park
140 reviews
7.2 mi away
Tilodi Safari Lodge
Tilodi Safari Lodge
#20 of 21 in Chobe National Park
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Chobe River Cottages
Chobe River Cottages
#6 of 26 in Kasane
156 reviews
75.4 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#1 of 21 in Chobe National Park
291 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chobe Marina Lodge
Chobe Marina Lodge
#1 of 8 in Kasane
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liya Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liya Guest Lodge

Address: 1198 Tholo Cres, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Chobe National Park
Price Range: £32 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Liya Guest Lodge 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Liya Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing