We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most Spectacular Place.”
Review of Ngoma Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Twyford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The most Spectacular Place.”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Ngoma was our first stop for our African adventure, and it was a truly amazing place to start. I can't fault a single thing - Shumi our guide was first class, he went out of his way to make sure we saw the best things we could including a young female leopard dozing in a tree and a pack of lions grazing early in the morning. The rooms are stunning, beds are MASSIVE! we had the furthest room away, where the view was amazing, and what an experience to wake up and see Elephants and Giraffe pass your room! The food was Exceptional. I really cant fault anything or anyone. I hear they have now appointed plunge pools by every room - defiantly an excuse to go back! By far my most favourite place...

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicky Q, Manager at Ngoma Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Thank you Hannah for such a glorious review of your Ngoma experience. Makes me truly appreciate how lucky we are to live and work here. Your comments will definitely inspire other guests to visit Ngoma as you are just so excited about it all - seeing a leopard and the lions was a real bonus and also it's just so thrilling to watch animals walk past your bedroom. Yes, the plunge pools are all in place and have been wonderfully appreciated by our guests...and also by the wildlife! Because they are fresh water pools we have had the odd late night visit by lions and elephants to drink out of the pools so we have had to enhance the security accordingly to ensure the total safety of our guests while they enjoy an amazing piece of authentic Africa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    29
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
83
215
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2013

The owners made sure we wanted for nothing. They had a "TV" in every room, consisting of a large picture window overlooking the Chobe River that we used to watch the big herds drinking every morning at sunrise. Bevan our game driver showed us the big 5 up close from the safety of our land rover, providing us with an excellent show and 5 star food and service and photo ops.

Mark Buchanan

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkRPh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Manager at Ngoma Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Hello Mark, you paint a vivid picture about the TV in every room....what a giant panoramic screen of nature you obviously relished. Thanks for the review and we're delighted that Ngoma transcended your expectations. As you say "seeing is believing" - it's the same sensation you get when viewing Victoria Falls for the first time. Cathy Rann. Relief Manager. office@ngomasafarilodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Ngoma Safari Lodge has to be seen to be believed! Nothing can compare with the experience of sitting on the verandah and watching the animals move across the landscape while enjoying a drink or even a meal. We loved that we could still enjoy the scenery while dining. We also loved how the bungalows were designed and didn't mind the short walk from the main lodge to our room. Nothing was ever too much trouble for the staff who were always friendly and even Synack (the manager) helped us safely pack our wooden giraffe so it made it home intact. The chefs, Paddington and Eva, did an outstanding job and catered well for food allergies. Thanks to Shumi, our ranger guide, we were able to see many amazing animals and he went to incredible lengths to try and find more lions for us to see. We would highly recommend this lodge for a truly fantastic experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Maryanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Ngoma Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Hello thanks so much for your amazing review! We are very happy your stay was so incredible. Our staff certainly do take pride in what they do!Hope to have you back soon!

Jonathan Hudson
Resort General Manager
gm@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have never felt so welcomed to a resort! Mina and Gavin made every moment of our 3 day stay perfect! They truly made us feel like guests in their own home. We felt so honored when they accompanied us on our Sunday afternoon game drive. The private bungalows are luxurious and the panoramic view is beyond description ! The food was phenomenal! Bevan, our guide, was outstanding! He was so knowledgable and persistent. His passion for wildlife was evident on each drive. We so enjoyed dining with him to hear more about his dreams and passion for Botswana. The sunset silhouttes of herds of elephants, buffalo, zebras, kudus, giraffes journeying across the horizon will be the memories we will always treasure about our dream of a lifetime African adventure! Ngoma Safari Lodge made that happen!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Manager at Ngoma Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Susan, your description of your stay at our Ngoma luxury lodge vividly brings alive your excitement and adventure in one of the wildest, most remote and greatest safari spots on earth. This is the stuff Trip Advisor researchers love to read - the real passion. Bevan sends his warm greetings and we all thank you for such a wonderful endorsement. Cathy Rann. Relief Manager. office@ngomasafarilodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We enjoyed our 4 nights here so much that we will certainly return. The setting overlooking the Chobe River was superb and so much care has been taken to ensure that it is an amazing experience. We were made to feel very special, as the resort only caters for limited numbers. We loved the gracious staff, the food, the accommodation, and the setting overlooking the Chobe River, but the most amazing thing is the wildlife. There is a constant stream of incredible animals wandering in front of the resort and nearby. Ngoma's safari trips are a stand-out, with such knowledgeable and skilled guides providing an incredibly exciting experience. We can't speak highly enough of our guide Bevan, in particular, who tracked down so many wonderful animals.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Manager at Ngoma Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Thank you Colleen for such an enthusiastic five-star review and for expressing your visit as an "amazing EXPERIENCE" not just a routine safari. At almost 12,000 sq kms the Chobe National Park is about half the size of Belgium and contains the world's greatest wild elephant herds - about 45,000 - apart from so many other animals. Those who visit Ngoma, which is set apart from the crowded scenario near Kasane town, soon come to appreciate that this is one of the finest wildlife experiences to be found anywhere - and all from the luxurious comfort of Ngoma overlooking that glorious vista. Bevan is getting so many top-rated reviews and we are very proud of him and our entire team of passionate guides. Cathy Rann. Relief Manager. office@ngomasafarilodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Everything about Ngoma was spectacular. The view was unbelievably beautiful--like something straight out of a movie. The people--the locals and especially the staff and guides--were probably the nicest people I have ever met. The food was phenomenal and SO fresh and healthy. Our guide, Bevan, showed us so many incredible, unforgettable things--he could see any animal and name everything about it about five minutes before the rest of us could even spot it! Bevan, as well as the Lodge managers and every single staff member, made the Lodge feel like home and by the end of our few days there, felt like family. I wish I could have stayed forever!! Our little lodges were beyond gorgeous--beautifully designed to match the even more beautiful view. The safaris exceeded expectations in every aspect. My whole experience there was amazing and I only wish I could have stayed longer. For anyone hoping to experience Africa up close and personal (and in luxurious comfort, too), this is the place!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ailish U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Manager at Ngoma Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
We've had some golden reviews Ailish, but you can't get much more potent than your statement that your visit to Ngoma was the best experience of your life. Yes, we're proud of our little luxury gem in the middle of the African wilderness and your review will be a powerful tonic to encourage others to make it their choice in the Chobe.The best properties to link with at Victoria Falls, just 120 kms away on good roads, are Victoria Falls Safari Lodge and The Victoria Falls Safari Club. Catchy Rann. Relief manager. office@ngomasafarilodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Our group of 12 spent three days here in May 2013. The lodges are first rate accommodations with great views overlooking the Chobe River. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful at all times. The daily food buffets were excellent and had many choices.

The safari jeeps are comfortable and the guides do an excellent job of finding the rights spots where the animals roam. We saw plenty of elephants, giraffes, kudu, zebra, water buffalo, and many others. We unfortunately only saw a few lions, and no rhinos or cheetah.

Just a note that during the same week we stayed here, we also had friend who stayed at the
Idube Game Reserve in the Sabi Sands (South Africa). From the picture they took it seem like they observed many animals and in particular lions, cheetah, and rhinos.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Manager at Ngoma Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Hello Gil in California. Thank you for your 4-star review and for your observations that I will happily address.The safari experiences on most South African game lodges is very different to that of the Chobe and it would not be bad to do both on a trip to Africa to feel the contrast.

SA conservancies are generally quite small and contained, in comparison to Chobe, but on several you may well spot the Big 5 during your stay, though in smaller numbers than Chobe. Chobe is where the expansive African floodplains exist and the area is almost 12,000 sq kms which is half the size of Belgium. Chobe is host to the world's largest elephant herds (about 45,000) and in the dry season you will also witness thousands of buffalo and zebra as well as so many other species Chobe holds many more lions than any SA conservancy, it's that the area is so large and unfenced - the authentic wilds. I hope that's a good tip - go to an SA conservancy to see the Big 5 in an encapsulated area...then head to Chobe for the real Africa, especially in July - November when it is truly spectacular. Cathy Rann. Relief Manager. office@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chobe National Park
47.0 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#1 of 20 in Chobe National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
29.3 mi away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#6 of 20 in Chobe National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
34.5 mi away
Tilodi Safari Lodge
Tilodi Safari Lodge
#12 of 20 in Chobe National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Chobe River Cottages
Chobe River Cottages
#6 of 26 in Kasane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
34.9 mi away
Kwalape Safari Lodge
Kwalape Safari Lodge
#20 of 20 in Chobe National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
31.6 mi away
Mwandi View
Mwandi View
#1 of 1 in Kavimba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngoma Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngoma Safari Lodge

Property: Ngoma Safari Lodge
Address: Kasane | Chobe National Park, Chobe National Park 7800, Botswana
Phone Number:
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Chobe National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ngoma Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ngoma Safari Lodge is a 5 star bush property located in Northern Botswana within the Chobe Forest Reserve. Accommodation available include 8 luxury suites that overlook the Chobe river and Caprivi floodplain. Designed with an emphasis on space, peace and luxury, from here you will experience the abundance of wildlife in Chobe and relax in your own secluded sanctuary, or dine al fresco on our elevated deck with panoramic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Jovago.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ngoma Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing