We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”
Review of Ngoma Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My husband and I have recently returned after staying 3 nights at Ngoma literally starting off our honeymoon on a high! Everyone was so incredibly friendly, along with offering a great service, nothing was too much.
Our guide Simon was outstanding, and Kathy the manager was fantastic. Even seeing us off with a hug.
As we were on honeymoon, we came 'home' at night to a filled bath with champagne/candles etc.
The meals we had were fantastic, the main lodge and our lodge were both fabulous, there is nothing I could say to fault our experience at Ngoma.
Thank you to everyone at Ngoma for giving us a honeymoon to remember, we cant wait to return, and will be telling all our friends and family about you.

Thanks Holly & Adam x

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL_Jonathan, General Manager at Ngoma Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Ngoma Safari Lodge. This lodge really is something special and we take great pride in making your trip magical and memorable.

Looking forward to your return!

Best Regards
The Team at Ngoma Safari Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    29
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
83
213
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

From the moment we arrived the managers John and Babs couldn't have been nicer and on top of things. Our room had a fantastic view and was very well appointed. The lodge was outstanding and the food was great. Our entire experience was terrific and far exceeded our expectations. We certainly recommend this to all who intend to visit Chobe.

Room Tip: All rooms are equal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL_Jonathan, General Manager at Ngoma Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at Ngoma Safari Lodge. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

John, Babs and the Team would be glad to host you again, for a longer stay if you can

Best Regards
Jonathan Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My and my husband spent only two nights in June in the Ngoma Safari Lodge.
The Lodge and the staff and guides were amazing, so nice and lovely and peaceful place!
We would come back in the future or I will recommend this wonderful place to all my friends.
We were in honeymoon and they organized a flower and champagne bath in our room as surprise the last night, food very good and most of all our game guide drive was amazing and very very good.
Thank you for making our honeymoon so special!
ciao alessandra&rinaldo

Io e mio marito abbiamo trascorso 3 notti al Pom Pom camp per la nostra luna di miele.
Tutto era bello, hanno organizzato champagne e fiori al nostro arrivo e anche una cena privata con lo chef nella nostra tenda come una sorpresa l'ultima notte!! Il personale era molto cordiale, le guide così gentile e disponibile e il game drive incredibile!!! Grazie a tutti in questo campo che hanno reso la nostra luna di miele così speciale!!! Alessandra & Rinaldo

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alessandrats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL_Jonathan, General Manager at Ngoma Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Alessandra & Rinaldo

We are thrilled that you chose to spend your honeymoon with us at Ngoma Safari Lodge and to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a pleasant review.

We hope to welcome you back again soon

Best Regards
John, Babs & the Team at Ngoma Safari Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shorashim
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

As you arrive to Ngoma Lodge, you are treated to a stunning view of the Chobe River. It sets the tone for a lovely visit. Our room also had the same amazing view which includes a lit watering hole for animal viewing. We saw an enormous variety of widlife here and our guide, KG was superb. The food was very good and we were made to feel at home. This was the end of a 2 week safari trip and we were glad we had saved the best for last!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL_Jonathan, Manager at Ngoma Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Debbie

What a delightful review - makes it all worthwhile.

We are so glad that your stay was so perfect. The view is the most breathtaking aspect of Ngoma and that you were able to see the incredible variety of wildlife with our experienced guide KG.

Thank you for your praiseworthy words on our staff and service, always reassuring to know we are out to make a good impression

Best Regards
Jonathan Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardnerville, Nevada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We arrived at Ngoma to a wonderful greeting from the owners, Babs and John. The Lodge is stunning with a view directly out to the river basin. So many animals come through the area, and it is a fabulous place to sit and have breakfast or watch the sunset under the Balboa tree. Our guide was wonderful, the zebra, elephant, giraffe were plentiful. We also did a river cruise that was superb. Elephants out eating in the marshes, hippos sleeping in the mud flats, this place offers it all. Enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbr89460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL_Jonathan, Manager at Ngoma Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for the complimentary review and comments, and of course taking time to share them.

We sincerely hope to welcome you & your friends again someday

Best Regards
Jonathan Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our stay at Ngoma Safari Lodge was definitely one of the highlights on our three week tour of Africa. The staff was extremely friendly and attentive to all of our needs. John and Babs are outstanding host and found everyway possible to make us feel welcome. The food was extremely good. The idea that you can have such outstanding service out in the brush is amazing. The game drives were fantastic, and by far the most classy. We got to experience VIP service like everyone else that comes to the lodge. Everyone is treated special. This definitely the place to stay in Chobe National Park!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great. They each have a great view and a plunge pool. Love this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcooper1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL_Jonathan, Manager at Ngoma Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you very much for such a complimentary review. We are glad to hear that your hosts John & Babs were outstanding and made you feel welcome. We are delighted that we could make your stay so enjoyable and that you found our food & service so favourable.

I hope you can come back and visit us again soon

Best Regards
Jonathan Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had a great experience at Ngoma, the staff was exceptional and the service was top notch. The place is decorated beautifully and well kept. Everyone has their own hut with a dipping pool (which the elephants love to drink out of on the porch), spacious rooms, bathrooms, mini fridge, great cleaning service every day. We stayed for 3 nights and it was a wonderful time.

KG our tour guide was truly exceptional, we traveled around Africa to 4 other camps in other countries and he was one of the best. He was very knowledgeable not only on the wildlife (including the various birds) but the trees/plants and the history of Botswana. He catered the day to what we wanted, he was able to track and locate lions (male/female/cubs), wild dogs... cape buffalo's, elephants, hippo's you name it we saw it.

We loved our time there, the only part I would suggest changing is the hour ride down a paved highway to get to the boat ride (boat ride was well worth it) it was a bit windy and cold even with KG driving slow.

If you want to see Elephants this is the place to go.....

Staff definitely caters to you and what your pace is we had a great time and couldn't recommend asking for KG more if you decide to go!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFSL_Jonathan, Manager at Ngoma Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Nicole

Thank you for your amazing review and kind words. We do try our very best to provide personal service, and we are so thrilled you felt the genuine hospitality from our staff and our experienced guide KG. I will pass on your review to all staff as this keeps us motivated and focused on improvements

Kind Regards
Jonathan Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chobe National Park
47.0 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#1 of 20 in Chobe National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
29.3 mi away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#6 of 20 in Chobe National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
34.5 mi away
Tilodi Safari Lodge
Tilodi Safari Lodge
#12 of 20 in Chobe National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Chobe River Cottages
Chobe River Cottages
#6 of 26 in Kasane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
34.9 mi away
Kwalape Safari Lodge
Kwalape Safari Lodge
#20 of 20 in Chobe National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
31.6 mi away
Mwandi View
Mwandi View
#1 of 1 in Kavimba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngoma Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngoma Safari Lodge

Property: Ngoma Safari Lodge
Address: Kasane | Chobe National Park, Chobe National Park 7800, Botswana
Phone Number:
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Chobe National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ngoma Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ngoma Safari Lodge is a 5 star bush property located in Northern Botswana within the Chobe Forest Reserve. Accommodation available include 8 luxury suites that overlook the Chobe river and Caprivi floodplain. Designed with an emphasis on space, peace and luxury, from here you will experience the abundance of wildlife in Chobe and relax in your own secluded sanctuary, or dine al fresco on our elevated deck with panoramic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Jovago.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ngoma Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing