We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Camping Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kwalape Safari Lodge
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We stayed in Chobe just after New Years. The area was a bit calm as we had missed the holiday rush. We stayed at Kwalape Safari Lodge for 4 Nights. Our stay was in a tented camp. It was very comfortable and very basic which was what made the experience all the more enjoyable. The ablution block was around the corner from the tent, and was always neat and clean. There was a very nice bar and pool area, with the bluest pool I have ever seen. The staff was so accommodating and always gave their undivided attention. The best part about this lodge is that they own their own safari vehicles and boats, which means when you book for a game drive or boat cruise, they fetch you from the reception, and take care of you until they bring you back. The food we had was good, the chips especially. Definately would recommend this if you are on a budget.

Room Tip: The newer tents are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hash28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tumisang M, Manager at Kwalape Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Thank you for this kind review.Will surely keep the standards up

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2012

Nice infrastucture, the beded tents were comfortable, the ablutions were very clean. Bar and swimming pool were very nice.
The staff were very friendly but seemed lost, it looks that they didn´t know what to do. We had a hard time trying to do tours to chobe and we couldn´t get a taxi to the city(they suggested us to go to the road and sign to a taxi).
We had good and bad moments with the food. But there was always someting missing, we end up having a breafast with only toast and egg; everything else(ham, bacon and cheese) was over.(Even thougth they had a good market pretty close).
It´s a confortable place, but when going there must be aware that service will be a problem.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jupi_BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tumisang M, Manager at Kwalape Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Goodday.We have since then introduced hospitality training of our staff so as to improve our service delivery and also engaged new restaurant management with new menus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I stopped over in this wonderful lodge only for one night, but what a night. The tented campsite i had was spacious, and the bunk bed i had was so confortable. I share the facilities, the shower was hot hot and the toilet areas sparkling clean, especially after spending 9 nights and 10 days on safari out in the never never. This Safari Lodge has everything, dining room, bar area, activities galore and a great souvenier collection. The staff, always smiling and so much fun. For the size and hospitality, and most of all the prices are more than reasonable, especial;ly when comparing other lodges in the area. I would stop here again, even longer. by the way it is also very close to Chobi Park - safaris, animals galore- and the township of Kasane.

Room Tip: a tented camp site, but there other types of rooms available also a reasonable prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janet074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tumisang M, Manager at Kwalape Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Thank you for this kind review.we take pride i having served you well

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We stayed at Kwalape Lodge in the chalets at the end of April 2012. The chalets were beautiful and well maintained, the reception staff friendly and helpful and our guides on the cruise, visit to Vic Falls and game drive were brilliant. Unfortunately the restaurant and bar staff were rude, the food was revolting and very expensive. I am well aware of 'Botswana Time' but 1.5 hours for a starter to arrive when you are the only 2 people in the restaurant is beyond reasonable. I can't decide whether the tiny portions were a relief as food was so horrible or just annoying as we were left hungry. Such a shame, as every other apect of the stay was great, but the position of the lodge means you have no real option to eat elsewhere if you are without your own vehicle. There are so many places to stay in Kasane that I would avoid this place.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
5  Thank africawithkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tumisang M, Manager at Kwalape Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Good day.Thank you for this constructive review.We have since introduced new experienced restaurant management.Also introduced hospitality staff training so as to improve service delivery.Our apologies for the experience you had.We look forward to serving you better next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We were very fortunate to discover this gem while traveling Botswana on a recent fishing trip.
The friendly and attentive staff made a lasting impression from the word go, and really made us feel welcome in true Batswana fashion.
So much so that, what would have been a stay for the weekend only, turned into a stay of 8 days.
Even though we were not looking for 5* accommodation (but got 5* treatment), the tented housing and clean ablutions (shared for tented and campsite guests) were more then adequate to our needs, while there is also more luxurious units (en-suite bathrooms) available for the more fussy travelers.
Ever attentive to our needs, the staff really went out of their way to cater to our needs, even allowing us the use of 1 of the campsites(at NO extra charge) for our evening braai.
The ever helpful staff will organize activities on your behalf, like trips to the Victoria Falls, game drives, fishing trips etc.
They also offer some night time entertainment with traditional dancers and some live music.
The Lapa and bar, next to the crystal clear swimming pool, is a favorite spot after a days activities.
The restaurant offers affordable good quality breakfast, lunch and dinners.
Only a couple of minutes drives from the CBD of Kasane or Gazangula makes this the ideal place for a stay over or even as a main camp from where to explore the surrounding area.
The price conscious traveler won't find better accommodation at a better deal then Kwalape Lodge, so be sure to include them on your next African safari.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JaspervanAarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tumisang M, Manager at Kwalape Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Thank you for this kind preview.We happy to have served you well

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank bego19602016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tumisang M, Manager at Kwalape Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ongeloofelijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tumisang M, Manager at Kwalape Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chobe National Park
6.2 mi away
Tilodi Safari Lodge
Tilodi Safari Lodge
#20 of 21 in Chobe National Park
50 reviews
4 mi away
Liya Guest Lodge
Liya Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Chobe National Park
11 reviews
79.1 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#1 of 21 in Chobe National Park
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Elephant Trail Guesthouse
4.1 mi away
Chobe River Cottages
Chobe River Cottages
#6 of 26 in Kasane
156 reviews
0 mi away
Ihaha Campsite
Ihaha Campsite
#15 of 21 in Chobe National Park
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kwalape Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kwalape Safari Lodge

Address: Main Road | Situated between Kazungula and Kasane, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Chobe National Park
Price Range: £24 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kwalape Safari Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between Botswana’s northern towns of Kazungula and Kasane, Kwalape Safari Lodge offers the perfect base to discover the wonders of Chobe National Park and River, with its vast elephant herds and wildlife populations. Kwalape is only an hour away from the magnificent Victoria Falls and 1 km away from where four great African countries meet (Namibia, Zambia, Zimbabwe and Botswana) making Kwalape an ideal location to explore from. Kwalape means ‘at home’ in Setswana and it is our management philosophy for all guests to feel welcome, relaxed and at home during their stay and to leave us as friends. We offer value for money accommodation with excellent service. Constructed of canvas, wood and thatch, in harmony with its luscious and naturally landscaped surroundings, Kwalape Lodge comprises 12 chalets each with spacious living areas, en-suite bathroom facilities and a private veranda; 12 safari tents and camping facilities for overland and private tours. The main restaurant and bar are thatched and nestled into the surrounding bush with the restaurant bar offering a stunning elevated deck, ideal for sun downers and sharing the day’s experience with other guests. Other facilities include a swimming pool, conference facility and Boma for starlight meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Kwalape Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing