We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Game in the area outstanding, campsites decent but EXPENSIVE”
Review of Camp Savuti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Camp Savuti
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We pre-booked and stayed at Savuti campsite 2 nights late October. We were in campsite #1. What we liked:
right on the river
spacious-good levels of privacy
close to ablutions
tremendous game viewing in the area including lion, leopard, wild dog
What we didn't like:
ablutions were not all that clean
Deep sand
water difficult to get to, inside a concrete box. Had to get on hands and knees to turn on/off
trash bins were easily raided by animals. They have learned to pull back the top to get inside
The most expensive of all the Chobe/Moremi Campsites. Worked out to $100 a day. Botswana is expensive on self-drives but other campsites in the areas were closer to $58-$64 a day for a site.

Added bonus: they have a tuck shop that sells limited supplies, limited hours. Note: try to purchase earlier in the day. They ran out of ice and beer when we were there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ernieLoomisCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed at Savuti Campsite for one night. The site is covered with deep sand which is mixed up with the ashes of the fireplaces and looks therefore quite dirty. Ablutions are protected behind huge walls from the elephants, but are clean. You can see elephants directly on the campsite, what is quite nice. A small shop sells cold drinks and water.
What is very nice on our campsite is the fact, that you can't see the other campers on their campsites, so you feel really like being in the wild.

The responsible people at the gate are quite unfriendly, we had two bad experiences with them. A younger guy was extremely friendly and always watched anxiously his superior (who was reading his newspaper during most of the day), while he was explaining us good places for a gamedrive. Other campsites have a lot better staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wooltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

After a few hours of hard driving through deep, soft sand in several places we arrived in Savuti Tented Camp. Once again we were made to feel very welcome and given the briefing by the camp management. Another open camp which overlooks the Savuti Channel which is presently a well used water hole. It was visited by Roan, Elephant and Buffalo. Small plains game and through during the evening and at night, Hyena and Leopard passed through.
The game drives were great. Lion, Buffalo elephant and plains game. The greatest thrill for us was a pack of Wild African Hunting Dogs (Painted Pups), which we found one evening. The brid life was also very varied and lots of excellent photographs were taken by all.

The catering in the camp was good and the bar well stacked. Meals were generally self service. As it was all inclusive the wine was served by the staff but at no time was there any shortage!
The only criticism We had was the power supply which sometimes did not work too well. However, our air con worked although it was not required after sun down as it was pretty cool over night. Well done Savuti team, we wish you success in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Al D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

SKL Camps is doing a decent job at Savuti. Campsites and staffs were good and cooperative. Ablution block was clean and maintained. Apart from some unavoidable traffic during busy seasons, we had really good time at Savuti. We were self driven, some of the places are bit scary to put your vehicle to test.

Game: I had a bit of bad luck on my two visits to Savuti, couldn't spot any cats so far, but we saw a huge herd of buffalos and lot of good birding there. Some of our team mates managed to cross some difficult terrain and could see Lions with their cubs. But Savuti is always been known for good cats.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandeep3105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Following a great visit in 2011. My family and I stayed at Savuti in September 2013, it was meant to be the highlight of out trip. we were placed in a very shabby camping pitch by the gate. It was very noisy and dusty, I counted 22 safari trucks in one hour pass by our camp. this was very noisy and the dust was intolerable. We complained to the staff and asked to move pitch, despite there being empty pitches on the camp we were told we could not move. Now the camp is run by SKL camps it is very disappointing as priority is given to the Luxury tents that pay more. my advice is try another camp not run by SKL.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed at Savuti two years ago and it was so beautiful you could sit by the river and take photos of the elephant so we booked again and just come back from there it was such a disappointment for my family and me.Now its run by SKL camps when we arrived we set up camp and made our way a little walk to the river we were met by not very friendly staff who told us to go back as this was now for people staying in the lodge we explained that we just wanted to take a few pics they got very upset and informed us there guests had payed $550 I told him I had payed $900. But we just left the next day as we were leaving to go to Linyanti campsite also run by SKL camps the manager who was name Linguist came out and said they had cancelled our camping and our park permit that the police were coming to escort us off the park and lock us up for 14 days this was a complete lie its not the thing to say to tourists if you want them to return they did not give us our money back. Kwalate safaris were just fantastic we booked Xakanaxa through them please give Savuti to them.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leesag123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed in September 2013. Two couples on self drive safari. It was great to break the self camping for a couple of nights with a bit of luxury and ice on demand. But for the price paid (USD 540 pppn), there were a couple of negatives, namely air-conditioner didn't work, and food wasn't the greatest. Also, we were given Tent 1, which is right next to a public campsite; closer than the other public campsites normally are.
The staff were friendly and our guide, Jonas, very good. In fact he made up for the other niggles. On our 1st game drive we saw leopard, walking, stalking. Then a pride of lion, and wild dog.
The tented camp is situated on the Savuti channel, elephant drinking opposite us in the afternoon. Leopard tracks seen right next to tents in the morning - they apparently come in and under the tents looking for porcupines, most nights.
Roads into Savuti campsite (and thus Camp Savuti) are really bad with heavy sand currently. Not for the faint-hearted.

Room Tip: Do not take Tent 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucinda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chobe National Park hotels
18.6 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#2 of 21 in Chobe National Park
278 reviews
62.8 mi away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#1 of 21 in Chobe National Park
503 reviews
0 mi away
Ihaha Campsite
Ihaha Campsite
#17 of 21 in Chobe National Park
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
92.1 mi away
Kwalape Safari Lodge
Kwalape Safari Lodge
#21 of 21 in Chobe National Park
138 reviews
88.7 mi away
Tilodi Safari Lodge
Tilodi Safari Lodge
#19 of 21 in Chobe National Park
48 reviews
12.3 mi away
andBeyond Savute Under Canvas
andBeyond Savute Under Canvas
#10 of 21 in Chobe National Park
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Savuti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Savuti

Address: Savuti Marsh, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Chobe National Park
Price Range: £526 - £804 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Camp Savuti 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CAMP SAVUTI“WHERE YOU SURELY EXPERIENCE THE BEST”Camp Savuti is an intimate 10 bedded tented camp. With one tent being the honey moon suite for newly weds. Each luxurious tent boosts of an en-suite bathtub, an open shower for sheer African sky exposure and an air conditioning system which cools you down from the welcoming heat of Africa.All 5 spacious tents sit on a platform and have a large balcony overlooking the Savuti channel providing a marvel of peaceful tranquality and memories to always remember.ACTIVITIESActivities include spectacular game drives into the Savuti marsh, forming an unbelievable life basket of all animals of wings, horns and paws.You will also enjoy watching famous giant elephants coming to drink on a steady gait and the spectacular birdlife and the ever overwhelming sightings of cats and dogs of the wild. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Camp Savuti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing