We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remote, pristine, and beautiful”
Review of Camp Savuti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Camp Savuti
Costa Mesa, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Remote, pristine, and beautiful”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here after staying at Chobe Game Lodge. Both places were amazing. The tents here were so luxurious, clean, and spacious it's hard to even call them tents. We were practically living amongst the wildlife. They had a fence to keep out the elephants and hippos, but that didn't stop the stray leopard from walking through one night. A truly authentic experience, and with the trained guides we always felt safe. The staff was extremely kind and attentive.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    46
    17
    7
    9
See reviews for
22
65
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This is a review for the Savuti Public Camp Site (not the sister lodge which is nearby and run by the same company).

Large allocated spaces, quite open, so not very private. No particular views either, our pitch was next to the river ,but also next to a green plastic wall that was supposed to separate the campsite from the tented lodge. There were signs everywhere to stop people walking in the lodge,they were creating a rather unwelcoming feeling.

The ablation block was clean and had hot water, and it did look like a prison, made in such a way to be 'elephant proof'! It was not very close to our site, but we didn't mind that. We had elephants crossing our pitch, and they always picked dinner time! Very exciting. It is a shame that the campsite is next to the lodge, and there is a constant noise until quite late (almost midnight) with vehicles going up and down, generators and pumps.

The campsite is in the park, so waking up in the middle of the night from very loud screams of jackals was not a surprise! We enjoyed our stay, and the park around is superb, we saw leopard, lions, and even caracals! But the pup/generator/car noise compromised the wild feeling in the camp. There is also a tuck shop where you can buy drinks and crackers etc.

We stayed for 2 nights and we enjoyed our stay, mostly because of the ample wildlife :-)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyDna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Camp Savuti is a small (5 large tents) but extremely comfortable place where we spent 5 nights last May 2014. The tents have King Beds, AirCon, nice Baths with both Tub and outside Shower. The food is very good and they will allow special requests (vegetarian in our case). Best of all are the Savuti Lions and the 2 guides of KG & Moses were beyond excellent. We were usually the last vehicle out of the Park after dark, seeing many things others had missed.
We love Botswana and Savuiti is a must see for those looking for big cat experience. Note that this is next door to 'campground', but I never considered it an issue.

Room Tip: 5 tents, all nice and viewing the water way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surfdolfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Savuti Camp is simply a magical place. The main lodge as well as the individual rooms over look the savuti channel, where we often saw herds of elephants grazing along with other wildlife including monitor lizards and fish eagles right from our bedroom balcony. Land safaris were also quite exciting - we encountered leopards, cheetahs, african wild dogs, and tons of elephants (what the area is known for) - be warned, these safaris are not for the impatient. Most excursions lasted upwards of four hours and consisted of hours of driving on bumpy dirt/sand roads. But I can promise it was worth it

The hotel is all inclusive with spacious rooms and fantastic food. Be warned, no internet.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adam_bennett19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I have been to 10 different parks in Africa, and over 20 different camps. Savuti is my favorite.

Accommodations: The camp is beautifully situated overlooking a river. The river is frequented by elephants, which play in front of the camp multiple times per day. The rooms are oriented to overlook the same channel, so you can have a private view of the scenery. The rooms themselves are elegant and open. The high tent and vented siding makes the tent cool the entire day. Beds are fabulous.

Food: Nothing but awesome.

Wildlife: The wildlife density around Savuti is incredible. There is lots of water, which attracts the animals. You can't drive 5 minutes without seeing an animal of some kind. The numbers of elephants is almost at epidemic proportions. They are very active, which lends itself to awesome photographs. This makes driving a bit exciting. We saw leopard eating an impala, lion with cubs, and wild dogs in three days. We saw the dogs hunting, which was awe inspiring. Scenery is varied, which adds to the drives as well.

Guide: Our guide was THE MAN. His name was Goodman. He had a very dry sense of humor that kept us laughing the whole time. He really added to our experience. The rest of the camp staff was fantastic as well. The managers picked us up personally from the airstrip and gave us a memorable orientation.

Bottom line: if you're going on safari in Botswana and Savuti is in your price range, DO NOT MISS IT!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CGO83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed in the Savuti campsite (camp nine) and it was truly wonderful. Located inside Chobe National Park, this camp site has no fences to separate you from the animals - letting you feel truly close to nature.

Whilst driving around the national park we managed to spot one of the rarest animals in Africa, a leopard. It was a truly fantastic sight, sitting up a tree - the first time my father had seen one in over 5 years of visiting Africa!

The wildlife was stunning and I could not recommend it more for anyone who wants to feel close to nature - and far away from the busy hustle and bustle of everyday life.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Ollie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria falls
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My first regional business trip,enjoyed every bit of the stay there. Lovely game drives with excellent guides, actually got to see how female lions hunt!.Flora and fauna is a wonder there especially if you are a bird watcher. Tent setup in and around is way nicer than some hotels I have been to.Excellent food.Thumbs up to this little heaven, i wish i were on a romantic getaway

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlefreesoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chobe National Park
18.6 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#1 of 21 in Chobe National Park
253 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ihaha Campsite
Ihaha Campsite
#17 of 21 in Chobe National Park
25 reviews
88.7 mi away
Tilodi Safari Lodge
Tilodi Safari Lodge
#12 of 21 in Chobe National Park
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
62.9 mi away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#2 of 21 in Chobe National Park
441 reviews
92.1 mi away
Kwalape Safari Lodge
Kwalape Safari Lodge
#20 of 21 in Chobe National Park
112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xakanaxa Campsite
Xakanaxa Campsite
#21 of 28 in Moremi Game Reserve
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Savuti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Savuti

Property: Camp Savuti
Address: Savuti Marsh, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Chobe National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Camp Savuti 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CAMP SAVUTI“WHERE YOU SURELY EXPERIENCE THE BEST”Camp Savuti is an intimate 10 bedded tented camp. With one tent being the honey moon suite for newly weds. Each luxurious tent boosts of an en-suite bathtub, an open shower for sheer African sky exposure and an air conditioning system which cools you down from the welcoming heat of Africa.All 5 spacious tents sit on a platform and have a large balcony overlooking the Savuti channel providing a marvel of peaceful tranquality and memories to always remember.ACTIVITIESActivities include spectacular game drives into the Savuti marsh, forming an unbelievable life basket of all animals of wings, horns and paws.You will also enjoy watching famous giant elephants coming to drink on a steady gait and the spectacular birdlife and the ever overwhelming sightings of cats and dogs of the wild. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Camp Savuti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing