We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star luxury”
Review of Ghoha Hills Savuti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Certificate of Excellence
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“5 star luxury”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

luxury with a capital 'L'.wonderful location overlooking the park with a view of the waterhole.tents are huge and very well appointed with all the home from home luxuries.the restaurant and bar are situated in an area where you look out over the savannah.the staff were wonderful and very good at their jobs especially the drive guides with whom we had two excellent days.it may be expensive but well worth treating yourself for a night or two.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    13
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
58
99
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Colombo-7
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This was one of the most exciting safari experiences I have ever experienced. The no. 1 reason is the visit from 4 African wild dogs to the watering hole in front of the hotel. Catching a glimpse of a wild dog is extremely rare just imagine if a pack just shows up while having breakfast.
Secondly, the lodge was excellent. Debbie and the team is doing an amazing job. From the nice meals to the dinner songs sung by the staff made our experience at this lodge simply spectacular. Also, unlimited drinks made our day after a hot day of Safari's. The rooms were spacious and wonderfully decorated giving the guests a rustic feeling.
Finally one of the highlights of the holiday at Ghoha Hills were our wonderful guides Fo-fo(44) and Joe. Fo-Fo was very knowledgeable and had eagle eyes to spot the animals near the ghoha area and the savuti area. He loved driving on water which was very exciting. Joe was a superb guide. I highly recommend him. He is a bushmen and he knows all about the animals to the herbal plants that exists in the bush. He was excellent at spotting animals and telling stories about the bushmen traditions during the sunsets. Overall, these two guides showed us hundreds of Buffalo's, herds of elephants, prides of Lions and many other animals. Hope to come again soon to this excellent camp

Room Tip: Chose a tent near the reception. After a long day of game drive it is not fun to take a long walk to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SharoncPerera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
va
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

You'll be very glad to add this camp to your itinerary! The views are excellent, the guides are second to none, and the area near the camp is unlike any other.
Not to mention the best part about the camp - the wonderful staff, who treat you like a family member and take care of everything you need while staying at Ghoha. The food is excellent and the rooms are extremely comfortable. We also had a fantastic guide during our stay and he taught us a ton during a couple short days. He took time to educate us on the flora and fauna around Ghoha Hills as well as ensuring that we located plenty of game!
Debbie and her team will ensure your stay is one of the highlights of your trip to Botswana. Although Ghoha is somewhat out of the way be sure to include it on your trip.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic! They even have a couple larger rooms for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hought
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varanasi, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We had 3 nights at ghoha hills and both the lodge and the game drives were fantastic. The lodge is located a little way out of the main savuti area, but the location is spectacular and the lodge beautifully appointed with huge tents overlooking the area. The service at the lodge was extremely attentive and the food excellent.
But the real highlight for us was our guide, Joe, who brought the whole area to life. Even though there is a 45 minute drive to the main savuti area without much game on the way, he made it all fun and interesting. And we saw so much game, 17 individual lions in one day, including 2 very young cubs and a pair of mating adults, plus a leopard and numerous other general game.
This is a new camp so not yet heavily booked but well worth a visit.
Thanks to Joe, Debbie, Phet, Pumba, KT and the rest of the team.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We flew from a camp on the Delta to Ghoha Hills and arrived over the drier district. The trip from the airstrip was about 40 minutes and we saw animals and birds on the way. The camp is located half way up the Ghoha Hills and has a stunning view over the surrounding landscape. The main lodge was excellent with various lounging areas, all with fantastic views. Our tent was well equipped and had a large viewing window (screened area) with the same view, plus stars at night. The staff were friendly and helpful and although the camp was established in 2012 they were efficient and the food was delicious. We were entertained with the staff dancing and singing on our last night there. We viewed many animals, birds, and ancient rock paintings as well as magnificent stars. Our guide appeared to be very new and was still receiving instruction from our driver as we travelled about. There is a waterhole that the camp has a ‘hide’ to view the animals in the evening which was relaxing. We were slightly unprepared for the distances involved and perhaps the camp would benefit if the guests were communicated with a little more and perhaps shown via a map where they were travelling that day. We enjoyed our time there.

Room Tip: Be prepared for distances.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ms62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maun, Botswana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Just back from 3 days in this new lodge in Chobe NP and not only is the lodge of top quality and taste, the friendlyness of the staff was heart warming and also the game was much more than expected: leopard, lion with cubs, hyenas, buffalo, elephant ... and all this for a very decent price ( always important )

Room Tip: as there are lions around, ask for the closest rooms to the dining - bar area or if you are adventur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Everaerdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
165 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

My husband and I spent 2 nights in this lodge in the middle of September.
The lodge is really new, opened to public on June 2012. It is located in the Savuti area in Chobe National Park. The staff were able to help us in everything, animals were really near us and during the night we were able to hear lions very close to the lodge. The guide was very expert in finding animals, and knows birds very well.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Domy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chobe National Park hotels
47.0 mi away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#2 of 20 in Chobe National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
73.6 mi away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#6 of 20 in Chobe National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
18.6 mi away
Camp Savuti
Camp Savuti
#11 of 20 in Chobe National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
76.6 mi away
Tilodi Safari Lodge
Tilodi Safari Lodge
#12 of 20 in Chobe National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
79.1 mi away
Kwalape Safari Lodge
Kwalape Safari Lodge
#20 of 20 in Chobe National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ihaha Campsite
Ihaha Campsite
#17 of 20 in Chobe National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghoha Hills Savuti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghoha Hills Savuti

Property: Ghoha Hills Savuti
Address: Savute area, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Chobe National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghoha Hills Savuti 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high on the eastern side of the Ghoha Hills, this hilltop retreat boasts unparalleled 180 degree views across the savannah and the natural waterhole which attracts wildlife year round. To the south east of the lodge, the Savuti Marsh beckons with its unique game viewing opportunities. The Marsh is a relic of an inland lake which is fed by the Savuti channel. Covered by extensive savannah and rolling grasslands, the wildlife is dynamic year round. The dry and wet seasons change the scenery and offer sightings of the annual migrations of zebras and predators. Elegance abounds in the eleven well-appointed canvas suites, which have been elevated on wooden decks, ensuring spectacular sunrise views. An exclusive and intimate ambience permeate this understated luxury lodge affording even the most discerning of travellers to Botswana a truly unique safari experience. Ghoha Hills is an eco lodge, using solar power for minimum impact to the environment. The lodge blends into the natural environment whilst maintaining the integrity of the pristine natural bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and South African Hotels so you can book your Ghoha Hills Savuti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing