We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wildlife jackpot and a great view”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chobe National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chobe Elephant Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The Lodging: There was a cold snap while we were in Chobe and so I was grateful for the fully enclosed room. But there were a lot of windows and a fan and so I think it would also be quite comfortable when it it's hot. Otherwise the room was spacious and comfortable. The rooms are quite spread out but it's to ensure a great view of the Chobe river for each room.

Hospitality and food: I found the staff to be a bit formal--formal dinner announcement and all that. I don't really need that but perhaps some visitors like it. But they were also friendly and helpful-- very good service. The food was very good and we had a nice variety. The common area was very nice and the views were great.

The Location: There is a reason why everyone goes to Chobe---our wildlife viewing there was fantastic. It's always a combo of luck and a good guide and fortunately we had both. (2 leopards and wild dogs!). The full-day option was nice since it's a mix of game drive and boat ride. The boat ride offered a respite from the jeep and also offered a great alternative view to the wildlife eating and drinking at the river. The schedule didn't give us a ton of time to relax and enjoy the pool, so I'd recommend a third night to anyone interested in staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wayfaringviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
There are newer reviews for Chobe Elephant Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

What a beautiful little gem of a place. Simple - but clean, beautiful, restful and wonderful staff. We were welcomed with singing and made to feel so welcome. One had to be happy and content. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff here. Mwalie was outstanding. Professional and wonderful. Chimney was also very professional. The only down side here was that the day we went out was far too long. In hindsight it would have been better to book an extra night so that one could really enjoy the camp and not be on the go so much and for so long in one go. The good was of a very good standard and they catered very well for the vegetarian in our group. The beds were comfortable and we had really good sleeps the two nights that we spent here. Our guides were very patient, but knowledgable and helpful. We would highly recommend this place to anyone travelling and needing a real treat of a place.

Room Tip: You will have a good walk to any of the rooms - but you will have a guide go with you at night. All...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meredith95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My wife and I recently spent 3 nights here. It is very conveniently situated at the eastern end of the park away from Kasane which meant that it was very quiet and often we didn't see any other vehicles. The game viewing was fantastic and our guide, Michael, was simply the best. The camp is beautifully located with views of the Chobe river. It was very comfortable, the service was excellent and all the staff were extremely friendly.

Room Tip: The rooms furthest from the dining room have the best views of the Chobe river
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My partner and I stayed here for one night at the end of our trip to Botswana - we had chosen the hotel as a chance to have a bit of luxury and to relax and we were not dissapointed. The setting of the hotel is absolutely lovely with amazing views. The service was always attentive with all the staff really friendly and chatty and happy to help in any way. Having a drink by a fire after dinner and being able to hear elephants very close was memorable. One of the best bits about the stay though is the game drives - they are really personal so the guides will ask what you want to see, and where you want to go, and try and help you find it. They are happy to help you get that perfect picture! It is exceptional and we saw lots, including the highlight of the trip being a pack of wild dogs on a fresh kill - very rare. With the lodge being on the other side of the park you get a quieter experience on the game drives (although it is a drive from the airport so you need to make sure you communicate with the hotel about the actual pickup times, there was some confusion for us which meant we waited a few hours before actually getting there). All in all, a highly recommended place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed here as a family of four for three nights as our first safari experience. It's a great place to see large numbers of elephant, giraffe, buffalo etc. We managed to see all of the big five ex-Rhino's in an hour one morning ! Friendly staff, very easy access to the park, easy travel from Kasane airport and the most fantastic views over the Chobe river. A great introduction to Botswana. The accommodation is fairly basic bungalows but perfectly adequate and in sublime locations.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

if you want to see elephant, this is the place. as well we say giraffe, lions, hippo, crocs, warthog, hyena, antelope, wildebeast and mongoose. the camp is only 9 months old and has great accomodation, food is excellents and the staff are very friendly. don't miss going to the local village school the kids love their photo taken. if you plan to go take gifts of stationary for the kids.

Room Tip: all rooms have a view
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We enjoyed 3 days, 2 nights here in March. The rooms, service, food and guides were excellent. An entrance to the park is only a few minutes from the lodge. Animals were plentiful, even at the end of the rainy season. We recommend Joel as a guide.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emkay0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chobe National Park
0.9 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
75.9 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#2 of 22 in Chobe National Park
269 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chobe Marina Lodge
Chobe Marina Lodge
#1 of 8 in Kasane
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.1 mi away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#1 of 22 in Chobe National Park
465 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#6 of 22 in Chobe National Park
285 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old House
The Old House
#2 of 8 in Kasane
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chobe Elephant Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chobe Elephant Camp

Address: Kachikau, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Chobe National Park
Price Range: £730 - £736 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chobe Elephant Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located high on the edge of a rocky ridge overlooking the famous Chobe River is the newly developed Chobe Elephant Camp. This uniquely designed lodge has been built to take advantage of the incredible views overlooking the sweeping floodplains while offering a comfortable refuge from the harsh African conditions. Built from the same red Kalahari sands that dominate the northern part of Botswana, this eco-friendly lodge is ideally positioned to take advantage of everything this incredible destination has to offer. Be it the spectacular wildlife that the Chobe River is famous for, or the opportunity to interact with the local Sibuya Tribe who live within this wildlife haven, Chobe Elephant Camp offers its guest a true African adventure. Based in the semi-arid bush of Africa there is always the challenge of extreme temperature variations and how to combat this. The solution came in one of earths' great insulators - the sand. The lodge has been entirely constructed from sandbags, the thick sand-filled walls create a natural insulating barrier between the inhabitants and the harsh African climate and enhance the old farm-style feel of the camp. With a variety of activities that include viewing the regions spectacular wildlife from open safari vehicles, by boat on the Chobe River, along with excursions to the nearby village to get introduced to the local culture, a visit to Chobe Elephant Camp offers a wide range of experiences to our guests. Accessible by air via Kasane Airport, Victoria Falls or Livingstone Airports or by road from Savuti, Caprivi or Kasane the lodge is ideally positioned to fit into most safari itineraries. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing