We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip of a lifetime!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We were here with a large group, many anxious city kids, traveling to Africa for the first time. This was the perfect introduction, wild and wonderful on the daily drives with animal encounters breathtaking and majestic yet super lux and comfortable rooms and outstanding food. Perhaps however best of all are the wonderful staff. Our guide Kebby was the best! Fun, funny, handsome as can be, a great storyteller and best of all a skilled and patient tracker. This experience could not have been better. The amazing spa was unique and great value. An experience and place not to be missed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lydia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2013

Wow, Wow, Wow....
We stayed for 4 nights a Chilwero and wished we could have stayed forever. The staff are exceptionally friendly and your every need is catered for with a beaming smile. Nothing is too much trouble and in most cases they know what you want before you do ....
Chika was our guide for the time we were there, I cannot say enough to give him the credit he deserves, he surely turned this into one of the greatest african safari's we could have wished for.
Excellent food, fantastic service, comfortable rooms, magnificent views, elephants everywhere, and and and...... the list goes on.

Pack your bags, book a room and just experience this for yourself...... absolutely amazing!!!!

James & Brigitte Behrmann
May 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brigitte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

There is nothing not to love about this wonderful place. Luxurious rooms with everything you could want or need, including a wonderful private garden with a hammock, comfy beds, a room fridge and a great view of the river. The service was superfriendly and responsive, particularly our wait staff Aaron, Calvin, and Ofilwe, and our housekeepers. Our guide, Jonathan, was also really great--answered all our questions, and was very responsive to our wants. The river cruise--which we did three times-- was very special, particularly in the morning, where it was really quiet and we saw lots of animals out of the water and great herds of water buffalo and lots of rhinos. The land rides were also nice, although not as spectacular as chiefs camp because no off-roading, and lots of people, but still we saw great herds of elephants and buffalo. We went searching without luck through town for local music (a nice visit in and of itself), only to discover our waiter Aaron has his own music group. Ask for his DVD. One afternoon, our place was overrun with very playful baboons. A special treat. The only caution is to watch out for the hot water in the rooms. It can be really really hot at the behinning. It takes a while for the temperature to calibrate itself to a comfortable temperature.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Medblond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Chobe Chilwero seemed the most modern of the other Sanctuary Camps we stayed at, Baines, Chiefs and Sussi & Chuma. There was AC in room, bathtub and indoor and outdoor shower. Very comfortable room indeed.
The food was fantastic! Usually a fish, meat and vegetarian selection.
We did the boat cruise twice, it was fabulous, sit in front seats! We were so close to a herd of elephants! Saw crocodiles, hippos, elephants crossing in the water (swimming).
There was a major mix up with our transportation, which caused us to miss our morning game drive that I must mention. We were initially told we would be driving to Livingstone, but the morning of told we would be flying. Ended up having to wait 2 hours at Kasane! Blamed airline, but bottomline, nothing was done for us just an apology. I still gave 5 stars on the merit of the room and activities.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ylc25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

What can I add to either the fantastic pictures already posted by other reviewers or what has been said already about the fantastic animal experiences you will have here. Nothing can describe the emotion you feel when seeing the animals on the reserve in their own environment.

We came to Chobe as part of an excursion of the 2013 world cruise of the QM2 and both stays at the Sanctuary retreats (here and at Sussi and Chuma) were worth every penny and more.

We were lucky enough to have Possinimo as our day guide and he was fantastic. He had a real enthusiasm for his country and quickly hooked into our group of 7 and was able to make us feel as though we were getting a very personal experience rather than the usual tourist visit.
It was only a shame that because we were keen on doing every game drive that was offerred that we had very little time to explore or enjoy the retreat as much as we would have liked to, though i did manage a couple of swims in the pool...(dont forget to check it first for unexpected visitors) and managed to enjoy the outdoor shower in my "Zen garden". Its hard to beat the experience of showering outside under an african starlit night surrounded by the sounds of the bush.
Money cant buy such an experience but it sure helps.

The staff at Chobe were very professional, very helpful and wonderful to listen to about their lives. The only disappointment I had was that we had no game on the menu. This was something that I had looked forward to as being part of the experience and possibly something that they may consider in the future?
Apart from that I wish all the staff and workers here all the best and thank them for making our stay such a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Engage the staff and be prepared to spend some real quality time listening to the storys of their li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roscoe39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Dear Guest,

Another great review from you, thank you!!

We are delighted that you had the opportunity of experiencing both Sanctuary Sussi and Chuma and Chobe Chilwero and enjoyed your experience at both our properties.

Thank you for your kind comments about our staff especially Possinimo I will be sure to share this review with them and they will no doubt be thrilled with your remarks.

We work on a 4-day menu and do serve game such as Eland,Ostrich and Crocodile...now you definitely have a reason to visit us again.

Thank you once again for your reviews much appreciated.

You can follow all the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats,Sussi and Chuma and Chobe Chilwero by liking us on Facebook. Just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

What an awesome stay. (10-13 May 2013)
Rooms: spacious, comfortable, luxurious, private.
Food: Scrumptious, well thought-out menus, plentiful.
Staff: Always friendly, welcoming & hospitable.
Guide: Jonathan was very knowledgable and we thoroughly enjoyed our time spent with him.
Location: Coming from South Africa and having been to many game parks, we were not disappointed, Chobe was unique/special. The sunset boat trips were our highlight.
We would go again...

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Dear Karen,

Thank you for taking the time to post this awesome review.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed you stay with us. We shared your comments with the rest of the team, they loved hosting you and are very happy that you appreciated their efforts.

Glad to hear that you will come back again and we do hope that day comes soon...

You can follow all the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Chobe Chilwero by liking us on Facebook. Just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

It is a beautiful, luxury lodge, well-decorated, rooms spacious with lots of privacy and huge, gorgeous bathrooms! Overall the food was very good, but felt the vegetarian main for dinner could easily be improved.

The boat trip was a great experience, the guide was excellent and the drinks and nibbles enhanced a lovely evening. I would've liked to travel along the river banks a bit more, rather than spend so much time in the middle of the delta, but we did see quite a few animals.

We loved the singing and dancing group that come in to entertain us one evening! They have gorgeous voices and huge enthusiasm and it was good to see another side of Africa from the wild animals.

The manager, Henri, is great and the staff all very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellers61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Dear Guest,

What a great review!!! Thank you much appreciated.

We are thrilled that overall you had a wonderful experience with us and would like to thank you for your kind comments about our staff they were happy to learn you appreciated their efforts.

We have also shared your comments regarding vegetarian main course with our chef, thank you for the feedback.

Thank you again for this great review as well as your recommendation, we look forward to welcoming you back one day soon.

You can follow all the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Chobe Chilwero by liking us on Facebook. Just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chobe National Park
3.4 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
#25 of 71 in Okavango Delta
131 reviews
73.6 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#2 of 21 in Chobe National Park
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.3 mi away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#1 of 21 in Chobe National Park
478 reviews
2.0 mi away
Chobe Marina Lodge
Chobe Marina Lodge
#1 of 8 in Kasane
462 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ichingo Chobe River Lodge - Zambezi Queen Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero

Address: Bordering Chobe National Park, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Chobe National Park
Price Range: £714 - £1,498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero is a luxurious riverside retreat in the heart of the bush, with all of the facilities of a larger resort. The main area commands fabulous views over the Chobe River which borders Chobe National Park to the north. As well as the elephants for which the park is famous for, guests can relax in the split-level swimming pool, unwind with a pampering session in the spa or enjoy the gourmet food that the lodge has become known for. Each of the 14 thatched guest cottages has two showers, one inside and one outside. The ensuite bathroom also has a large free-standing bath. After a day of game viewing, what better way to relax than in your own private garden with a cocktail? Or if the fancy takes you, why not have your gourmet dinner served right here under the African sky. Coffee stations are now available for guest use in the rooms. Our honeymoon suite at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero features a private plunge pool and deck area where guests will be able to enjoy private dinners for two under the stars (weather permitting) and special turn downs every night. Guests booking this room will automatically receive a private vehicle and guide for all game viewing activities. Coffee stations are now available for guest use in the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero Hotel Chobe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing