We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Nearby Hotels
Ghoha Hills Savuti(Chobe National Park)
US$1,509
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
andBeyond Savute Under Canvas(Chobe National Park)(Great Value!)
US$600
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Camp Savuti(Chobe National Park)
US$1,344
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Mwandi View(Kavimba)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Muchenje Campsite & Cottages(Kasane)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotels.com
View Deal
Camp Linyanti(Chobe National Park)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Muchenje Safari Lodge(Chobe National Park)
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Ngoma Safari Lodge(Chobe National Park)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (342)
Filter reviews
342 results
Traveller rating
282
41
13
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
282
41
13
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor showergame drivesthe riverlodge hotelrooms are beautifulfree standing bathbubble bathwarm greetingamazing daysmini barthe cottagesevery respectbanded mongoosedietary needsfirst ratethe main lodgegin and tonic
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
195 - 200 of 342 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Chobe Chilwero is one of Sanctuary Retreats fantastic lodges. Everything about our stay here was superior. We were greeted at the ferry from Zambia by our guide, Rodgers, who took excellent care of us for our two night stay. As we drove up to the hotel we saw a group of giraffes peering above the bushes saying hello. it was that way for the whole trip. Rodgers was able to show us all of the Big 5, as well the rare wild dogs. His knowledge about the animals and their habits was very illuminating. We saw large groups of elephants with their babies and got some of our best photos of game while at Chobe. Among the highlights--we watched a group of lions on the hunt and were amazed to see a leopard lounging up in a tree and then coming down to drag the kill she had stashed in the bushes below her to a new spot. And how wonderful are zebras and those stripes! Every game drive brought new wonder and delight. We even had a hippo charge our boat on a late afternoon cruise! (Not a threat, the hippo was just claiming his territory!)
The staff is very high caliber and very helpful. As our room was not ready when we arrived, the four in our group were given complimentary foot massages! That made us decide to use the spa, which is top level, with excellent staff who gave us some of the best massages we've ever had. The rooms are beautiful and spacious, with a large bath tub and two showers--one inside and one outside. Wifi works in the rooms and will allow you to send large files such as photographs. The food was excellent and as one of our party is gluten-free, the cook made her special snacks for both meals and our game drives. Such a treat! There is also a great gift store. Your laundered clothes are returned perfectly folded and bundled with beautiful wrapping and tied in string! When we departed Rodgers drove us to the air strip for our flight to Baine's Camp on the Delta and our next adventure.
The hotel is set back from the river and this view becomes the back drop for spectacular sunsets. We also had fun watching the baboons who hang out on the lawn and the striped mongoose families who were busy digging under the steps that lead to the pool and main buildings.
We would highly recommend this lodge and were impressed with Sanctuary Retreats staffing and attention to detail. Our stay at Chobe Chilwero was smooth and enjoyable and being around such a huge variety and number of animals put us in a space of wonder and amazement. Thank you all! The five stars we give you is not enough!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happytwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Lodge was beautiful! Clean, perfectly kept and maintained. Staff was attentive, very kind, caring and went above and beyond on everything. We were very happy with our entire experience! The manager Jeremy was lovely, knew us by name and was very kind. Our safari guide was Jonathan and he did an amazing job! He had so much knowledge about the wildlife and knew all the spots to go to, he was really great! We had a great time and I can't recommend this resort high enough! They are wonderful! I can't wait to return!!!

Room Tip: We did not use the spa or any fitness center so I did not rate them! But based on our experience I'm confident it would be awesome!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drkarentinhawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero Botswana
This was the second of our Sanctuary experiences and it offered something completely different from our Zambian experience. The camp is formed by a series of huts with verdant lawns, which attract fauna from the surrounding forest. The rooms are very nicely done and they have a great outdoor shower though more often than not you will have an interested audience of baboons perched on the high wall looking down to watch you au naturale!! They also have a great spa and after a couple of days of bouncing around in the bush the massage is certainly a welcome break. The food is excellent and there’s just so much of it – the highlight was a ‘design your own pizza’ session which spoils you for the standard toppings that now pale in comparison.
Our driver-cum-guide was extremely knowledgeable and helpful but you begin to expect just that from the Sanctuary staff. The game viewing was spectacular but being a national park you have to stick to the path and cannot have an off-road safari experience. Despite this you will see practically everything you want to on safari and one water ride (preferably in the afternoon) is a must. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, and in a very short time the place begins to feel like a home away from home.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drivingholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

After a flight from Jo-burg to Victoria Airport and a grueling 2 hour wait for visas - unbearable!, we saw Victoria Falls and then passed into Botswana. In darkness (due to delay at airport) we met the team to welcome us to Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero. Were we already in heaven? The welcoming team was in front of the main country house waving us a warm welcome to the wilderness of Botswana. Henri and staff were warm, welcoming and very gracious. After a briefing, we were given our assignment lodgings and an escort to take use to the most magnficent cottages that I have every seen. Thatch roofs soaring to the stars, netting around the bed, full 5 piece toilet / baths indoors with an outdoor shower as well and magnificent dinner prepared back at the main quarters. Plus 1.25 days of safari in 4x4 and a sunset boat.

Room Tip: We did not use spa or fitness center
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dale T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear Dale,

Thank you for this lovely review, we are thrilled that you felt like you were in heaven as soon as you arrived!

Thank you for your kind comments about Chobe Chilwero and we do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you to the Sanctuary portfolio again in the future.

Until then, please keep up with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats Chobe Chilwero by liking us on Facebook . Just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This is a beautiful property. Rooms are beautiful and big. The back yard/area has a wonderful outdoor shower and hammock. heaven on earth as you listen to the animals around you. The only negative I can say about this property is no matter how hard we tried the meals were on the lodges schedule . Which would not be a big deal if that was the way they were presented. They say they work around schedule but in reality they work around theirs. Many times leaving us to be eating at 9:00Pm at night. Seems trivial but after a long day in the bush , not our idea of relaxation. With that being said I do not want to take away from the amazing meals the chef made.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam49Wisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear Sam,

Thank you for sharing your experience of Chobe Chilwero on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted that enjoyed the lodge, however disappointed that you felt that it was too scheduled. We have raised your concerns with management, as well as the Chefs, and this will be addressed accordingly.

Our aim is to delight our guests and be as flexible and as accommodating as possible, and we apologise that you felt this was not the case. We are however glad to hear you enjoyed the meals prepared by our Chef.

Please keep up with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Chobe Chilwero by liking us on Facebook . Just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews