We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Ghoha Hills Savuti(Chobe National Park)
US$1,483
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$254
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
andBeyond Savute Under Canvas(Chobe National Park)(Great Value!)
US$600
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Camp Savuti(Chobe National Park)
US$1,348
US$1,321
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Mwandi View(Kavimba)
US$97
US$36
Pitchup.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Muchenje Campsite & Cottages(Kasane)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Chobe River Camp(Katima Mulilo)
US$157
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Camp Linyanti(Chobe National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Muchenje Safari Lodge(Chobe National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Ngoma Safari Lodge(Chobe National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (342)
Filter reviews
342 results
Traveller rating
282
41
13
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
282
41
13
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor showergame drivesthe riverlodge hotelrooms are beautifulfree standing bathbubble bathwarm greetingamazing daysmini barthe cottagesevery respectbanded mongoosedietary needsfirst ratethe main lodgegin and tonic
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
187 - 192 of 342 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I stayed with my family at Chobe Chilwero and was blown away by the experience. We did the entire Sanctuary package of Zambia and Botswana and were blown away with the total experience. The rooms in this lodge are ultra - luxurious with all amenities. The rooms are spacious and have both an Indoor and Outdoor shower. The bed is huge and very comfortable. The Lodge is located in a reserve close to the Chobe National park. It is also not far from Kasane. The view from the lodge overlooking the river is spectacular. We had Impalas and Baboons outside the rooms. We also saw Elephants across the fences. The game drives were superb. It rains elephants in chobe. They get really close to the jeep and move away at the last moment. Our Guide Poniso was well informed and explained in detail about animal behaviour. We spotted a kill and when vultures were feeding on it, our guide took my camera to take some close up pictures of the impala. There was a leopard in the area which fled when the vultures had arrived but was around the vicinity. Our hearts stopped for a moment till we saw him come back safely. There is no off roading here which is a negative. Also it is not easy to see the big cats here. However we saw a lot of giraffe's and other game here.The boat ride on the chobe river was great and we saw lot of hippos, elephants and african buffaloes. The Staff are very warm and the choice of food is great. We celebrated my daughter's birthday at the lodge and the staff brought us a lovely cake and danced around the table. Memories to last a lifetime. Staff at the lodge sent us a packed lunch for our flight to Okavango delta which was a good gesture as you hardly get anything at Kasane airport. If you are travelling to the Chobe area do not look any further. Go for it !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prabhakar27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Prabhakar,

We absolutely loved reading your review, thank you so much!!

We are thrilled you you had the opportunity to experience our Zambia and Botswana properties and eveb more delighted that "you were blown away with the total experience"

Thank you for your kind comments about Chobe Chilwero especially about our staff they were very pleased with your review.

It was indeed a pleasure hosting you and your family and we do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you to the Sanctuary portfolio again in the future.

Would be great if you could keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Chobe Chilwero by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This was my first African Safari experience and I was blown away. The variety of game drives and trips by boat were great. A lot of exciting adventures with angry hippos and elephant cubs. Lovely atmosphere for dinner and breakfast at the main house. The rooms were large, cosy and luxurious I particularly liked the outside shower. One day we were surprised by a little deer in our garden which was too cute for words! Sitting on our terrace watching the sunset and the amazing view of Chobe River was memorable. The only thing you should be prepared for is that this is by no means an eating holiday. Portions were fairly small which was fine as we were two ladies travelling but a larger man might suffer and want to bring some snacks.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toniboni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Toni,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are thrilled to have been apart of your first African Safari and very pleased to hear that you were blown away...

Our Chefs will be more than willing to serve larger portions if need be.

Thank you once again and we do hope to see you again soon.

Until then you can keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Chobe Chilwero by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

this was the ultimate luxury - we were spoilt silly - the most amazing and friendly staff - the meals were scrumptious - the accommodation was very luxurious - big kingsize bed - lots of petals on the bed every day - a super tub to soak in every night - big indoor and outdoor shower - we were treated like royalty - and the game drives and river cruises were just so amazing - so many animals to see and our guide was so informative and knowledgeable - and of course the chobe sunset is just the most amazing sight ever - i will most definitely recommend this lodge to anybody interested - thankyou chobe chilwero for such a memorable stay-xxxx

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Liz,

Thank you for the this wonderful review!

We are delighted that you had such an memorable stay with us at Chobe Chilwero, we shared you comments with the rest of the team and they were very pleased with your feedback.

We have to agree the Chobe sunset is just amazing....thank you for your recommendation much appreciated!

We hope to see you again soon, and until then you can keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Chobe Chilwero by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We have spent the Easter weekend at Chilwero with our 3 kids. We were given 2 bungalows netx to each other. These bungalows are huge, very luxurious, with a bath, a shower, an outside shower and a huge bed. The lodge is both in a convenient location (the closest lodge on Kasane's side to the park, very close to the airport also) and apart from the others to make it a "wilder" experience. You do get monkeys and bushbucks in the gardens and this is quite enjoyable. The staff is fantastic, caring for all, especially kids. Food is very nice, with a choice of starters, mains and desserts everyday. Finally Chobe National Park is a gem, with the river making it one of the great parks in Southern Africa. Boat safaris at sunset is a must do, watching elephants and antilopes coming to drink and hippos and crocodiles in the river.
Wildlife sightings is good : elephants, pukus, girafes, lions, crocs, hippos, kudus etc.
Only negative about the national park (not related to Chilwero lodge) : their stupid rules (no offtrack and one way roads...sic) making you miss some more wildlife experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank benjinho13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for this lovely review, much appreciated!

We are delighted that you and your family spent the Easter weekend with us and had such an enjoyable experience with us. We shared your feedback with the rest of the team and they were very pleased with your comments.

Yes it is unfortunate that we are unable to off-road, but as you say the National Park’s rules and regulations have to be adhered to. It was an absolute pleasure hosting you and we do hope to welcome you and your family back one day soon.


Until then, please keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Chobe Chilwero by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

As a stop on a 3 week African tour, this place is not to be missed! It is on the Okavango Delta and the Chobe River there is amazing. The scenery is not what you expect in Africa. It is lush and green and not so dry! The Sanctuary lodge is very nice and the people there very real and down to earth. Our room (house) was very nice with A/C and a tub inside with a separate indoor shower and one outside as well if you like to shower under the sunshine or moonlight! Fenced in with privacy. Every day we could take a bush ride in an open air vehicle and or a boat cruise on the Chobe River. We chose the river often and saw many many crocs! Now, let's talk hippos..... In the water, out of the water--I've never seen so many in my life. They do an unusual thing where they spin their tails around in a circle and fling feces around to mark their territories--wow-crazy to see that!! Another great aspect of Chobe is that this is where the largest herds of elephants in Africa are. And I mean very large--as in hundreds at a time--amazing!! Lots of Cape Buffalo too. One thing that I was surprised by was the number of beautiful birds there were! I think half my pictures on my camera are of the unique and interesting birds! My favorite is the Lilac Breasted Roller--beautiful! Back at the lodge-the view of the delta was gorgeous and the food and service good--although one of the servers had bad body odor. The lodge had some local dancers from the area come in and perform and they invited all of us to join in--which we did and we had a great time and made a great memory! The sunset going down over the Chobe River with silhouettes of elephants in the background is one I will not forget!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thistrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews