We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“River!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“River!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had a great stay for two nights at the end of May. The rooms were very nice and the meals were delicious. The place is much more like a small hotel than the camps in the Delta and as such more impersonal. Our guide Jonathan was great!!! The river cruise and game drives were awesome and we saw tons of animals. The elephants,hippos, crocs, and birds in and by the river were an impressive site.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRSTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us.

Hope to welcome you back again one day soon...

Thank you for your kind comments about Chobe Chilwero and we do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you to the Sanctuary portfolio again in the future.

Until then, please keep up with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats Chobe Chilwero by liking us on Facebook . Just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    31
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
53
135
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed in Chobe for two nights and I'd say it was enough to enjoy it. We arrived from Chief's, where we had seen the "big game", such as lions, leopards, rhinos and buffalos, and we already knew, Chobe would be a totally different experience. The resort had nothing to do with the previous one, as it was closer to a village, it was definitely more luxurious and clean. The bedrooms were beautiful and very well decorated. The food was as marvelous as the food we had at Chief's. I'd say the staff there was very kind, but not as cozy and welcoming as the staff we met at Chief's. Ali, our guide, was always very kind and took us on both boat and game drives. I'd recommend people that are looking forward to staying on this hotel, to enjoy the afternoons by the river, because they won't just enjoy the wildlife but the sunset as well. We had two amazing safaris on the river by the noon, as we got to see an elephant swimming and all sort of animals coming down to the riverside to drink some water. Concerning the hotel facilities and services I was kind of let down when we got there and there was no internet signal. The managers told us it was a local problem as it was happening to everybody on the village. Wi-fi was very important to me by the time, because it was the only way I could talk to my mom that was back in Portugal. By the end of the second day there, the problem got solved and I was more relieved. Overall it was a great experience but I'd say the Chobe river's safaris are the highlights on the stay there, as our game drive wasn't very exiting.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Joanna,

Thank you for sharing you experience at both Chief's Camp and Chobe Chilwero.

We are very pleased that overall you had a great experience at Chobe Chilwero and thank you for your kind comments. We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you the first day with the internet signal however glad it was sorted out as soon as possible - we understand how important it is to stay connected with loved ones.

Please keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Chobe Chilwero by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We're converts, that's for sure. Having just spent time in 4 Sanctuary camps, we've come to appreciate how different they all are. A couple of nights at Chobe Chilwero in the middle was a delightful change - luxe cottages with every single amenity one could hope for. Chef Phinnius created an outstanding menu and always came out to answer questions about the sourcing and preparation which was much appreciated. The sunsets go on forever, and this stop even allowed my husband to dip his fly fishing rod into the Chobe. A great addition to any itinerary involving tented camps.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovemyjob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this delightful review!!

We are very pleased to learn that you had the opportunity to experience four of the properties in our portfolio!

Thank you for all your lovely comments we have past this onto the rest of the team and Phineas was especially pleased with your feedback.

We would love to see you and your husband again, until them it would be great if you could keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Chobe Chilwero by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This was our last stop on a two week tour of Botswana and a completely different type of accommodation after having stayed in tented camps and lodges in the middle of the Okavango Delta.The view from our table at meal time was straight to Namibia across the Chobe River flood plain from up on a rise. Spectacular!

The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us including providing a taste of some typical Botswana food which wasn't on the menu.

The cottage was very large and luxurious and the bathroom was big enough to throw a party in.

Our guide Kebbe was very knowledgeable about the animals and the birdlife of which we saw lots of both. We also did a boat cruise one afternoon heading into sunset on the river and got up close and personal with hippos and elephants and birds.

On our arrival we were offered a complementary 10 minute foot massage, which I took up. Almost wished I didn't have to put my shoes back on afterwards.

We only stayed two nights and wished we had stayed more, and it may have been nice to see parts of the park away from the banks of the river.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robynne_dudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Robynne,

What a review! Thank you!!

We appreciate all your lovely comments, we are so glad you had such a great experience with us.

Wish you could have stayed longer too, we loved hosting you and hope to se you again one day soon.

We would love for you to keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Chobe Chilwero by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishe
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Best service this side of paradise! Like staying in a family, very good meals.Even dietary request were no problem at all! Game drives and boat trips are very rewarding, the guides are excellent. We had a wonderful time- thank you!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReHaa2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,

“Best service this side of paradise!” WOW - we are thrilled that you had such a wonderful time with us at Chobe Chilwero and thank you for sharing this on Tripadvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure hosting you and we do hope to welcome you back one day soon.

Until then, we would love for you to keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Chobe Chilwero by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virudhunagar, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I stayed with my family at Chobe Chilwero and was blown away by the experience. We did the entire Sanctuary package of Zambia and Botswana and were blown away with the total experience. The rooms in this lodge are ultra - luxurious with all amenities. The rooms are spacious and have both an Indoor and Outdoor shower. The bed is huge and very comfortable. The Lodge is located in a reserve close to the Chobe National park. It is also not far from Kasane. The view from the lodge overlooking the river is spectacular. We had Impalas and Baboons outside the rooms. We also saw Elephants across the fences. The game drives were superb. It rains elephants in chobe. They get really close to the jeep and move away at the last moment. Our Guide Poniso was well informed and explained in detail about animal behaviour. We spotted a kill and when vultures were feeding on it, our guide took my camera to take some close up pictures of the impala. There was a leopard in the area which fled when the vultures had arrived but was around the vicinity. Our hearts stopped for a moment till we saw him come back safely. There is no off roading here which is a negative. Also it is not easy to see the big cats here. However we saw a lot of giraffe's and other game here.The boat ride on the chobe river was great and we saw lot of hippos, elephants and african buffaloes. The Staff are very warm and the choice of food is great. We celebrated my daughter's birthday at the lodge and the staff brought us a lovely cake and danced around the table. Memories to last a lifetime. Staff at the lodge sent us a packed lunch for our flight to Okavango delta which was a good gesture as you hardly get anything at Kasane airport. If you are travelling to the Chobe area do not look any further. Go for it !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prabhakar27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Prabhakar,

We absolutely loved reading your review, thank you so much!!

We are thrilled you you had the opportunity to experience our Zambia and Botswana properties and eveb more delighted that "you were blown away with the total experience"

Thank you for your kind comments about Chobe Chilwero especially about our staff they were very pleased with your review.

It was indeed a pleasure hosting you and your family and we do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you to the Sanctuary portfolio again in the future.

Would be great if you could keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Chobe Chilwero by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This was my first African Safari experience and I was blown away. The variety of game drives and trips by boat were great. A lot of exciting adventures with angry hippos and elephant cubs. Lovely atmosphere for dinner and breakfast at the main house. The rooms were large, cosy and luxurious I particularly liked the outside shower. One day we were surprised by a little deer in our garden which was too cute for words! Sitting on our terrace watching the sunset and the amazing view of Chobe River was memorable. The only thing you should be prepared for is that this is by no means an eating holiday. Portions were fairly small which was fine as we were two ladies travelling but a larger man might suffer and want to bring some snacks.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toniboni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Toni,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are thrilled to have been apart of your first African Safari and very pleased to hear that you were blown away...

Our Chefs will be more than willing to serve larger portions if need be.

Thank you once again and we do hope to see you again soon.

Until then you can keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Chobe Chilwero by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chobe National Park
3.4 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
29.3 mi away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#2 of 20 in Chobe National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
2.0 mi away
Chobe Marina Lodge
Chobe Marina Lodge
#1 of 6 in Kasane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
73.6 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#1 of 20 in Chobe National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
#31 of 70 in Okavango Delta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
5.6 mi away
Kwalape Safari Lodge
Kwalape Safari Lodge
#20 of 20 in Chobe National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero

Property: Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Address: Bordering Chobe National Park, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Chobe National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero is a luxurious riverside retreat in the heart of the bush, with all of the facilities of a larger resort. The main area commands fabulous views over the Chobe River which borders Chobe National Park to the north. As well as the elephants for which the park is famous for, guests can relax in the split-level swimming pool, unwind with a pampering session in the spa or enjoy the gourmet food that the lodge has become known for. Each of the 14 thatched guest cottages has two showers, one inside and one outside. The ensuite bathroom also has a large free-standing bath. After a day of game viewing, what better way to relax than in your own private garden with a cocktail? Or if the fancy takes you, why not have your gourmet dinner served right here under the African sky. Coffee stations are now available for guest use in the rooms. Our honeymoon suite at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero features a private plunge pool and deck area where guests will be able to enjoy private dinners for two under the stars (weather permitting) and special turn downs every night. Guests booking this room will automatically receive a private vehicle and guide for all game viewing activities. Coffee stations are now available for guest use in the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero Hotel Chobe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing