We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (406)
Filter reviews
406 results
Traveller rating
342
44
14
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
342
44
14
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game drives sussi chuma the river outdoor shower electric blankets rooms are beautiful safari experience the main lodge the cottages first rate high tea large bathroom our honeymoon once in a lifetime dietary needs three night stay blown away
Filter
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 406 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2016 via mobile

When my husband proposed I asked him if he liked camping and he replied - I love sleeping under the stars ... Five stars!

This place is definitely five star - attention to the detail of everything - the welcome at the front door was memorable from the staff with a traditional song, wet towel and pimms!

We got a thorough briefing from Francois the resort manager he was warm and friendly and incredibly engaged with us and interested in what we had done.

We had the best guide Mushe who had eyes like a hawk and spotted so many animals and birds for us.

We had 2 river cruises and 1 game drive. Snacks and drinks on each beautifully presented by Mushe.

The food was amazing sumptuous is the only word that comes to mind and again staff greeted us and enquired as to our needs and Phineas the chef even prepared a crocodile dish for us.

Our cabin / room was huge with comfy bed and enormous bathroom. Loved the outdoor shower huge indoor bath and the hammock.

I cannot fault this place it was a wonderful two nights and I will definitely come back here or another Sanctuary at some time in the future.

Thank you Jeremy Francois and Mushe for the best two days of our holiday so far!!!!

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank belgaicas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary R, Manager at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2016

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to know that your time spent at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero has been the highlight of your holiday so far - thank you!

The whole team here really appreciates your wonderful feedback and compliments - we will welcome you back any time.

You can keep up to date with everything at Sanctuary Retreats by following us on Facebook (Sanctuary Retreats), Twitter (@sanctuaryret), and Instagram (@sanctuaryretreats).

Best regards,
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2015

Chobe Chilwero is just fantastic!! Huge rooms and bathrooms including a private veranda with an outside shower. Tastefully decorated. Every day there is a game drive in the morning and a river cries in the afternoon. The food was exceptional and the chef should be rated Michelin stars!!! Just fantastic. Personalized service all the way!!! We saw so many elephants!!!! Every day at about 2 PM we were visited by baboons. All food and drinks are included. Highly recommend when visiting Krueger area or Victoria Falls!!!
Thank you!

Room tip: all the same BEST!
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emka11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary R, Manager at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2016

Dear Guest,

Great to hear you enjoyed your time and thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We hope to see you again soon and until then you can keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’.

We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2015

We had been sold the Sanctuary brand as Five Star and having done some research and read some reviews at booking stage it all seemed to be OK. However, two weeks prior to departure we had re-read some reviews and our doubts and fears started. Although we went with the knowledge that we were 'in the bush' and expected some insect wildlife to be present we asked our Travel agent to advise the camps of our Arachnophobia and they dutifully did this. (NB: We have experienced other Five star Game reserves and had no issue with anything in the rooms, it was the reviews that made us more dubious of these ones - we stayed at Sanctuary Baines Camp also) . Our arrival into Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero was one of the most memorable, staff singing a local 'welcome' song and strong contingent from the management team immediately made us feel very welcome. Francois was very professional and assured us that all had been done to cater to us and he confirmed that measures had been taken against spiders and insects in the room (Rm 4). Our check in was smooth and all safety measures explained succinctly and precisely, then we were led by Joyce (our lady in Housekeeping) to the lodge. Nicely decorated and very spacious with great amenities, Tea/coffee/water etc, a nice welcome note of seeds on the bed, we were then given a very thorough orientation by her and she left. It was at this point we noticed a very LARGE spider in the folds of the mosquito net!! So much for fumigation! Not wanting to kill anything, but on the other hand, not wanting to sleep with this spider in such close proximity to the bed we reached for the DOOM and it met its end. On return from our evening drive on the boat (which was fantastic and some great Hippo and croc sightings, not to mention the stunning sunset) we were greeted with yet more spiders on the walls ( we counted into double figures and stopped ) It seems the construction of these lodges was clearly below standard: we had clear half inch gaps under doors, ill-fitting windows etc .... to the point that we used a box of tissues bunging them up. Not what you expect from a Five Star resort ...... the management were quick to action the following morning when we told them of our experiences and we found the gaps sealed with clear tape when we came back from morning Game drive ( also fantastic with some good sightings, elephants too numerous to mention, giraffe, Water and Cape Buffalo, monkeys etc etc).
The main communal areas of the resort are very rustic and contemporary to the area, however we felt the evenings were blighted with flying insects making any use of the lounge uncomfortable. Some lights were turned on in the gardens outside in an attempt to attract the insects away from the building but they failed miserably due to the open sided construction and most other guests looked uncomfortable. The food, staff and service were all excellent - not Five star but good enough. Every drive we made was full of sightings but one or two were rushed and our driver was driving slightly too fast at some points causing us to ask him to slow down! Again, not what you expect ... we understand they have time limits in the NP and want us to experience as much as possible but not at a risk to life!!! We are very lucky to be able to travel but we would not say this resort is Five Star - in our opinion its more 3/4 star.

Room tip: All rooms have great views....
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary R, Manager at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2016

Dear David,

Thank you for the very comprehensive feedback, which we of course have shared with the team. We are delighted you enjoyed your game drives and overall experience at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero and apologise again for the spiders found in your room.

Our team loved hosting you and hope to welcome you back one day soon.

Would be great if you can keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’.

We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2015

We spent two wonderful nights at Chobe in November. We got to see all of the Big Five except for the leopard and an amazing assortment of other animals and birds. The lodge is lovely with each villa seperated over the beautiful property. The villas are spacious and well cared for, huge baths and outdoor showers as well. The main lodge faces a watering hole and as you sit having a drink or breakfast elephants, warthogs, wilderbeast and baboons are right there in front of you even before you go out on the drives with wonderful guides.

Room tip: Al the rooms are great.
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Antoinette U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary R, Manager at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, much appreciated!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for your wonderful comments.

We hope to welcome you back one day soon.

Until then you can keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’.

We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best regards,
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2015

We rarely if ever experienced a warmer welcome than in Chobe Chilwero or the two following Sanctuary Lodges. Julia, her husband and the staff made us feel at home immediately and took their time to explain the camp, the room and the etiquette.
Very spacious rooms, nothing to be asked for, perfect and always smiling service and excellent food. We had a great time, saw lots of wildlife, amazing hippos and some of the most beautiful sun settings over the Chobe River.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank NirakMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary R, Manager at Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2015

Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for your wonderful comments.

Thank you for your review, much appreciated!

We hope to welcome you back one day soon.

Until then you can keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’.

We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best regards,
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews