We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unplanned luxury”
Review of Chobe Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chobe Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We were on a tented safari in Botswana and headed for our next camp site in Chobe Park when the guide got a message that the camp had gotten on fire and we were not going to be able to stay there. The company was able to get 7 rooms for our group on short notice at Chobe Game Lodge and what a treat. I enjoy tent camping in Africa but when offered an all inclusive stay at this lodge for two nights, who would turn that down.
The staff was very hospitable to a group of worn out safarists looking for a hot shower and soft bed. The game drives were well done and the food at the buffet was excellent with a huge choice of everything. If you can afford it this is a great place for a couple night stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank stonestacker52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (928)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

685 - 691 of 928 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed at Chobe Game Lodge for two nights in a standard double room, which was well appointed and spacious. The public areas of the Lodge are beautifully decorated; the food was good. The staff is warm, welcoming and responsive, which is of key importance to me. This was the first of three game lodges we stayed at on our trip and a great introduction to Africa and game viewing. I have no idea of hotel rates because our visit was part of a group trip created by General Tours (highly recommend).

The Lodge, the only hotel in the National Park, is situated on the banks of the Chobe River, which creates endless opportunities for game viewing and bird watching. On our first outing, a sunset cruise on the Lodge's boat, we saw so many animals I thought I must be dreaming. To see almost 100 elephants at one time is mind boggling. The number and variety of water fowl is amazing. The next day we had morning and afternoon game drives with our game expert/driver, Letty. Her in-depth knowledge of game and birds was invaluable. She added so much value to our stay.

I would go back to Chobe Game Lodge and Chobe National Park in a heartbeat. The Lodge is lovely and the game viewing is fantastic. It was a key reason we think our visit to Africa was the trip of a lifetime. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lynnzie513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

This was our first experience at such a lodge, and we were impressed with the physical facility, the friendly staff, and the large numbers of game we saw in the park. The lodge is not too far from the park entrance, and several other operators outside the park bring a constant stream of vehicles into the same area for tours. it became a bit crowded at times, as, for example, the time we encountered about a dozen vehicles surrounding a leopard eating its kill under a bushy area; that encounter was more like a zoo than a wide open park/

The animals are certainly accustomed to the steady stream of vehicles, so you can photograph kudu, impala, elephants, lions, baboons, giraffe, and all manner of other game during the twice-a-day trips out into the park. the guides are well informed and everyone speaks excellent English, so communication is not an issue. We had made our reservations through a firm called Siyabona, with which we had a significant dispute over conversion rates that was finally settled to our satisfaction. We encourage you to get your tour priced in South African rand if you use them (and perhaps any other firm, as well), so that will not be an issue.

Chobe Gane Lodge provided an excellent beginning to a three-lodge tour that met all our expectations. it was a great trip.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

It's hard to beat Chobe's warm welcome, superb accommodation, unbelievable amounts of game, great food and brilliant game guides. We were greeted by smiles the whole 5 days and nothing was too much trouble. With Modibu's expert help we saw more animals than we ever dreamed of and Johann, Brenda and Modiri saw that everything ran smoothly and efficiently but with a warmth that can be hard to find in many places. Every single staff member made us feel special. We loved the decor and the ambience. We will come back and bring children and grandchildren here. Helen and Hamish, Australia

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

My husband and I stayed at Chobe Game Lodge back in November '08 with a large group. It sits on a very large property right next to the Chobe River. We flew in via a charter flight from Duma Tau into Kasane where Chobe Game Lodge sits in the North Eastern corner of Botswana's Chobe National Park, and twenty kilometers upstream
from the confluence of the Chobe and Zambezi rivers.

We were lucky to have one of the 4 luxury suites on the second floor which came equipped with a bedroom, living room, and its own pool and terrace overlooking the Chobe River! The bathroom is nicely tiled with a separate shower and tub. The suite came with a/c. When we arrived at our room, there was champagne and appetizers to welcome us. The property itself has a large beautiful pool, bar, large billiard table, spa, and a small gym. The gym is a tiny room with a treadmill, machines, and weights. There is free Wifi at the bar- you have to request for a password from the bartender. The dining area is fairly spacious- buffet style. Food is abundant and delicious. Service at the dining area is not as friendly as some of the other places we've stayed at in Africa- it's typical though with bigger hotels. The game drives were not as exciting as others but were memorable nonetheless. Our driver was Michael who was just a sweetheart.

Chobe National Park is known for it huge herds of elephant and buffalo (sometimes numbering in the thousands). Game viewing by boat along the Chobe River was the highlight of this stay. Along the River are crocodiles, monitor lizards, hippos, red lechwe, waterbuck. One more than one occasion, we witnessed herds of elephants swimming from one shore to another across the river! In another area for game drives are found giraffe, impala, zebra, sable, kudu and Chobe bushbuck. Birding is exceptional along the river. Warthogs were plentiful around the hotel's property grazing their way through.

We especially enjoyed our accommodations and food.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maven5645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

The lodge is the only accommodation right inside Chobe National Park and their service is exceptional. You feel like a celebrity, they pay so much attention to every guest. Every staff member at the Lodge has a smile and goes out of their way to make your stay fabulous. The food was wonderful, both in variety as well as quality and presentation. One evening was set-up as a BBQ party with music by the river- just lovely.

There are several daily games drives as well as boat trips down the Zambezi River. We never expected to see that many elephants and hippos. Our guide Obi was wonderful and made our entire stay especially delightful.

We saw a pride of lions, 500+ elephants, some right outside the lode. The lodge also has warthogs and mongoose right on their ground. This is nice for kids and who knew that warthogs can jump a 5 foot wall? The lodge has an enormous pool table. Probably the largest pool table I've ever seen.

My only regret was that we had to leave paradise.

Room Tip: room 403 connects to a private plunge pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Winterhude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We stayed two nights, went on an afternoon game drive after arriving, morning and late afternoon drives the next day (also boat trip on the Zambezi in afternoon) and another game drive the morning we would be leaving. Vehicles were well-maintained, and driver and spotters were good. We saw many animals, had great experiences. Accommodations were good, food was exceptional - much variety. I highly recommend Chobe Game Lodge. Note - mornings, especially if not summer season, can be unexpectedly cool!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happy2travelnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chobe National Park
6.7 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
69.8 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#2 of 21 in Chobe National Park
271 reviews
25.1 mi away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#1 of 21 in Chobe National Park
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#6 of 21 in Chobe National Park
295 reviews
5.5 mi away
Chobe Marina Lodge
Chobe Marina Lodge
#1 of 8 in Kasane
462 reviews
10.6 mi away
Tilodi Safari Lodge
Tilodi Safari Lodge
#19 of 21 in Chobe National Park
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chobe Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chobe Game Lodge

Address: Chobe River, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Chobe National Park
Price Range: £244 - £1,464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chobe Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picturesquely situated 100 km west of the Victoria Falls, overlooking the Chobe River and the Caprivi floodplains, the iconic Chobe Game Lodge is the only permanent safari lodge within the Chobe National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chobe Game Hotel Chobe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing