We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional all-round high standard”
Review of Chobe Game Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chobe National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chobe Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Exceptional all-round high standard”
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We can only say we wish we could have stayed longer. Rooms were gorgeous and beds were heaven. Food and staff could not be faulted and the recently opened walk way was a delight to sit around and watch the hippos.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Mariana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    651
    157
    24
    10
    2
See reviews for
173
388
57
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

On this two week trip to Botswana we stayed at almost all the Desert and Delta lodges. They were all really, really good but Chobe Game Lodge in particular shined!

Maybe it was because we were greeted by Maggie, the Customer Relations Manager with her charm and winning smile. Maybe it was because once we got to our room there was a bottle of champagne and a plate of dried fruit, nuts and crackers to celebrate my 50th birthday. Maybe it was because Liz Taylor and Richard Burton had a room just nearby us nearly 40 years ago. Maybe it was because I saw more wildlife in two days there than I had in the prior 10 days. Whatever the case this place is amazing.

The staff was very accommodating, our room was so nice, the food excellent and they even made us special vegetarian meals, and the game drives always absolutely superb!

Not only are the game drives in Chobe the best in Botswana, but local warthogs frequent the lodge's ground grasses and the deck fronting the Chobe river front teams with elephants, impala, baboons and wildebeast. You literally don't even need to leave the lodge to see the wildlife.

Our excellent guide, R.B. gave us a Game Drive of our lives. She was intent on making sure we saw the wildlife we wanted to see so when a call from another guide that leopards were about, we had a Ferrari Safari—a crazy drive through the reserve to make sure we saw them.

Days are filled with activities at Chobe, from the wildlife drives to a river cruise. There are hearty meals, intimate table dining and inclusive drinks. A five plus lodge worth every penny.

Room Tip: Room 210 is the room Liz and Richard had when they were here back in the '70s. We stayed in room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

This hotel was beautiful and the food was excellent! The staff was very friendly and the guides did a great job finding the animals on our game drives. We expecially enjoyed their new boardwalk where the staff set up tables for lunch so we could eat and view the animals on the river. One night they even set up the tables on the boardwalk for a wonderful candlelight dinner under the stars! I would definitely stay here again and recommend this place to my friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brenda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesInChobe, Director of Sales at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Thank you so much for the review and the feedback! We enjoyed having you here and as Angola is just a short jump away we hope to see you back again soon. Best wishes from all the team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

my stay at this hotel begin right at the zambezi river bordering zambia and botswana when the staff from the lodge is waiting to pick me up,all of them is very friendly and doing maximum effort to make my trip more enjoyable.
when we arrived at the chobe;all staff there is ready to help me with my check in procedure.
for Safari they provide,my guide is alittle bit basic in term of knowledge but it doesnt make me unsatisfied with this hotel
My rooms condition was good and during my trip to Africa its one of the nicest sleep quality I had....
Hopefully someday I can come again to Chobe game lodge and enjoying their excellent service once again

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariop79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesInChobe, Director of Sales at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Thank you very much for your review and the feedback which we appreciate. It is certainly lovely to hear that not only did you enjoy your visit to Chobe Game Lodge but your stay in Botswana and the region.

We hope to welcome you back at the lodge in the not too distant future. Very best wishes, Chobe Game Lodge team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We expected a lot more from a 5 star resort, The guides had little knowledge of the bush and were doing us a favour to take us out. We wer not allowed to drive on certain parts of the park as those areas wer reserved for other camps or tour operators. The food was not great and 2 of our party had very upset stomaches. When you ordered drinks you had to reapeat the order 2 to 3 times as the waiter had forgotten. We have been to 3 other lodges in the Kasane / Chobe area that are half the price with better service, food and game drives.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank claudio d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesInChobe, Director of Sales at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
We are sorry to hear the stay didn’t match up with expectations. We have taken the feedback on board and appreciate the review.
Our food & beverage team work very hard to ensure the best food and service quality possible. It is difficult to ascertain whether our food at the lodge had anything to do with the guests in the party feeling ill. We received no other reports during that time but we will continue to make sure we maintain the highest standards in the kitchen as possible. We introduced a new menu and executive chef 6 months ago and guest feedback on the food has since been exceptional. We will pass this feedback onto the team and check why the menu during this particular period was not up to our new high standard.

Guiding is extremely important in the overall experience and throughout the year we develop the knowledge and expertise of our guiding team with training and workshops .

In terms of the safari experience – Chobe Game Lodge is blessed with one of the best locations in the region in that we are the only permanent lodge inside the Chobe National Park. As a result we choose to do our game drives/game cruises in a westerly direction away from other game drive vehicles entering the park gate from the eastern side. This enables us to enjoy as many sightings as possible without the presence of other safari companies. We do understand we need to create unique safari experiences from Chobe Game Lodge and we are working at introducing new and improved activities by heading to less explored parts of the beautiful Chobe National Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
120 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

If you want to see game in Botswana, staying at the Chobe Game Lodge is the place to do it. We spent four luxurious days there and though at first we expected to be bored with the two game drives and the river cruise each day, we can honestly say that each day was unique. From lions to elephants, buffalo to hippos, we were never disappointed. Our guide, Letty was excellent and she had a wonderful knack for spotting the wildlife.

As an all inclusive resort, the food and drinks were delicious and abundant. We had a beautiful viewof the Chobe River from our room which was spacious. We especially enjoyed coming back from a drive and cooling off in the air conditioned room. Service was very good and it's nice having your laundry done each day. Our only complaint was having to pay for the internet. For the price you pay to stay here, it should be included.

We would highly recommend staying here at Chobe Game Lodge. Though the price may be high, the convenience of falling out of bed in the morning for a game drive can't be beat. And it's nice to be pampered once in a while!

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the main lodge. It's quieter and so peaceful sitting outside on the pati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobscribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level Contributor
180 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Those have been 4 really exciting days on the bank of the Chobe river-an outstanding
location in the Chobe National Park- outstanding in terms of the quality of the lodge,the extreme good service by everybody in that place ,outstanding the safari drives as well
as the river cruises- we watched a lot of lions, of course not 60.000, but hundreds of
elephants of all ages, thousends of antilopes, dozens of hippos and crocodiles, jackals,
trees full of vultures and many other impressive birds, eagles etc etc. The female guides
were competent and-by the way,whereas you are not allowed to get off the safaricar,f.ex.
to caress the next lion in a distance of 2 meters- after 3 hours there is a stop and you shall get some snacks with mineralwater,beer,wine or gin tonic-very enjoyable indeed.

Thde lodge´s kitchen is very good and it is an additional pleasure during your lunch or
dinner to watch some 10m away warthog, lizards and leguans. Peace like in paradise.
Rooms are ok, outdoor cocktails on the bank watching hippos as well.

We really enjoyed our stay and can recommend holidays in that place

Room Tip: Another tip (not rooms-you anyhow should have a room with a verandah): Malaria prevention is strong...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ratpackvienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesInChobe, Director of Sales at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your review. We are very glad you enjoyed your experience at Chobe Game Lodge! The weather is great right now and the game viewing has been fantastic recently. We hope to welcome you back again one day! All the best from all of us here at the lodge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chobe National Park
6.7 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
25.1 mi away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#2 of 20 in Chobe National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
69.8 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#1 of 20 in Chobe National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Chobe Marina Lodge
Chobe Marina Lodge
#1 of 6 in Kasane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#6 of 20 in Chobe National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
10.6 mi away
Tilodi Safari Lodge
Tilodi Safari Lodge
#12 of 20 in Chobe National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chobe Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chobe Game Lodge

Property: Chobe Game Lodge
Address: Chobe River, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Chobe National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chobe Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picturesquely situated 100 km west of the Victoria Falls, overlooking the Chobe River and the Caprivi floodplains, the iconic Chobe Game Lodge is the only permanent safari lodge within the Chobe National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chobe Game Hotel Chobe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing